We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It should be called:Salim's Pearl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Guest House

Pearl Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zanzibar Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearl Guest House
Save
You added Pearl Guest House to your Saves list
Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 148 Zanzibar Island B&B and Inns
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“It should be called:Salim's Pearl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We reserved on the internet only one night at this hotel for two resons:quite close to the airport(at four o'clock in the morning it took the taxi less then ten minutes to get there) and second,very close to the center of Stone Town.We actually did not sleep overnight because of the early flight.We arrived at the hotel at about 1pm and were greeted by the manager Salim.A guy in his fifties originaly from Canada,he immediatly let us feel as if arriving to his personal house.Like a family.He invited us to a free tea and even free mineral water and even asked if we would like a complementary sandwich.We refused the last one.Than we set down and shortly we discoved his love for the 60s music.Now we realy had something in common sinse I am also in my 50s.
He provided us with a map and full explanation of what is going on in the city.In the end,since we told him that we are leaving very early,he offered to prepare a breakfast box for both of us:two mineral water botles,two sandwiches with cheese(our choice) two bananas.Very kind of him.
Now about the room:we asked a room on the ground floor not to waste time carring up and down the heavy luggage.The room was very big and modestly furnished.The bed was comfortable for the four hours we had time to sleep on it.The bathroom was not a "wow" but was ok.Because the salty air from the sea all metal handles seemed to be old and dirty but actually it is the rust whice gives this feeling.Everything was clean.This room is quite noisy since it is situated with windows overlooking into a private yard.
You have to walk from an adiacent street to the hotel,no cars can reach it.
Breakfast is served in the little patio in the center of the hotel.The hotel is fully renovated and originaly it is a 100 years old arab style building with two or three more floors.
Enjoy it!
*although on the internet is is listed as a hotel,here on Tripadvisor apears as a guest house.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing a quiet street or side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We loved our carved bed and delightfully arranged mosquito-netting in the high-ceilinged, spacious room with fan and air-conditioning and private bath and balcony. Salim made the stay extra special by providing excellent advice about where to eat, which spice tour to take and how to spend our days. He was so gracious that we felt like the Pearl was our home away from home and used it as a base when we traveled to the mainland and up to Nungwi Beach. Breakfasts were also delicious with pineapple, papaya, banana, chapatis, eggs, fresh juice and coffee. And on the days when we had to rise for an early morning ferry, Salim packed us bag lunches to take with. Couldn't have asked for better. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Is this a four star hotel, no but Mr. Salim more than makes up for it. Yes, I didn't have water pressure for my shower but I'd stay here again in a second. In fact, I would come back to Zanzibar just to stay here. Mr. Salim was just so helpful! He gave me a map, guidelines for my own touring, restaurant suggestions, hooked me up with a great Spice Tour, advice on the Zanzibar night market (such as which vendors use bottled water for ice) and advice on the day market. I loved it. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at this place with 4 other guests and for the money that we paid it was worth our while
good and spacious rooms clean and huge bathrooms with wow ac and a fan.Was very quite in the rooms no elev here was on the third floor if you say so.Salim was good very friendly helped us with cabs and all sightseeing arrangements.Good clean breakfast with African coffee And Tea.Yes I had jam beautiful. Rooms are still being renovated but it was great.It even had power
generator when the streets lights were gone due to power problems.Stonetown's best kept hotel
next to Chavda's good food but pricy hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Higher floors are much quieter and seemed larger and lots of warm water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

all i can tell you is,everythings is bad about this place,bedings are terrible,breakfirst is a total jock
and general conditions are just bad...it seems like it is all fabricated from pictures to comment of
this travelers.and on top of everythings they are thieves,you leave the keys down stairs when you are going out and they take advantage of it to have a look into your room,and take some few things,when you try to explaine that to the boss of this place,she just basicaly accusing you of to
be a liar...houaaa what a nice people, thrust me STAYAWAY FROM THIS PLACE
the french man.

Room Tip: i went next to jumbo guest house and for 5 more usd it was all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richomnd Hill,On,Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I visited Zanzibar after long break and was suprise to see upgrades at PGH.The owners still maintain the staff who have been there for the last 20 years.They are real great guys and help and trust worthy.
The Rooms are clean,runnig hot and cold water and well done for the dollar value.
Right in the middle of Stonetown and close to the Water.

Room Tip: There are Self-Contained rooms at level 2 and 3 which have alot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My mother and I found the Pearl to be lovely during our visit to Zanzibar. The room was exceptionally clean and spacious, and although there were other guests in the rooms surrounding ours, you wouldn't know it. It was exceptionally quiet inside.

The rooms are very spacious with plenty of windows and natural sunlight. The bathrooms in both the rooms we stayed in were also quite large, and hot water was not a problem.

Most of the rooms have a shared balcony facing the street (walking traffic only) but the view is rather nice with foliage and the bustle of passerby. There are plenty of stairs, especially to reach the third-story rooms (rooms # 9 and above if I recall) but the hotel staff will assist in carrying luggage when needed.

**note: as Stone Town is a "walking city", the Pearl is only directly accessible via foot, bike or scooter. Cars/taxis will have to stop a short distance from the hotel, but the driver will help with luggage. Be prepared to tip for the effort! This is the case with many if not most Stone Town hotels.**

The provided breakfast is hit-or-miss... it is a continental fruit-and-toast breakfast that never started within 30 minutes of the appointed time any of the three days we were there... but if we waited too long to get there, the fruit would be covered in ants. It probably isn't any worse than what most of the hotels offer except for the ant problem.... but if you're willing to wait for breakfast or happen to catch the setup right in the early/late sweet spot, you'll be satisfied.

There is a nice little ice cream shop attached to the hotel and free wi-fi for guests if you ask for the password at the shop. The wi-fi is only accessible on the lower floor, not upstairs in the guest rooms.

Overall, the Pearl is rather comfortable and I will definitely stay here again during my next trip to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
18.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
27.1 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 9 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Al-Minar
Al-Minar
#16 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
#5 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Guest House

Address: Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pearl Guest House Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.