We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, attractive gem in heart of Stonetown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Guest House

Pearl Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearl Guest House
Save Saved
You added Pearl Guest House to your Saves list
Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 120 Zanzibar B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy, attractive gem in heart of Stonetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We loved our carved bed and delightfully arranged mosquito-netting in the high-ceilinged, spacious room with fan and air-conditioning and private bath and balcony. Salim made the stay extra special by providing excellent advice about where to eat, which spice tour to take and how to spend our days. He was so gracious that we felt like the Pearl was our home away from home and used it as a base when we traveled to the mainland and up to Nungwi Beach. Breakfasts were also delicious with pineapple, papaya, banana, chapatis, eggs, fresh juice and coffee. And on the days when we had to rise for an early morning ferry, Salim packed us bag lunches to take with. Couldn't have asked for better. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Is this a four star hotel, no but Mr. Salim more than makes up for it. Yes, I didn't have water pressure for my shower but I'd stay here again in a second. In fact, I would come back to Zanzibar just to stay here. Mr. Salim was just so helpful! He gave me a map, guidelines for my own touring, restaurant suggestions, hooked me up with a great Spice Tour, advice on the Zanzibar night market (such as which vendors use bottled water for ice) and advice on the day market. I loved it. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at this place with 4 other guests and for the money that we paid it was worth our while
good and spacious rooms clean and huge bathrooms with wow ac and a fan.Was very quite in the rooms no elev here was on the third floor if you say so.Salim was good very friendly helped us with cabs and all sightseeing arrangements.Good clean breakfast with African coffee And Tea.Yes I had jam beautiful. Rooms are still being renovated but it was great.It even had power
generator when the streets lights were gone due to power problems.Stonetown's best kept hotel
next to Chavda's good food but pricy hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Higher floors are much quieter and seemed larger and lots of warm water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

all i can tell you is,everythings is bad about this place,bedings are terrible,breakfirst is a total jock
and general conditions are just bad...it seems like it is all fabricated from pictures to comment of
this travelers.and on top of everythings they are thieves,you leave the keys down stairs when you are going out and they take advantage of it to have a look into your room,and take some few things,when you try to explaine that to the boss of this place,she just basicaly accusing you of to
be a liar...houaaa what a nice people, thrust me STAYAWAY FROM THIS PLACE
the french man.

Room Tip: i went next to jumbo guest house and for 5 more usd it was all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richomnd Hill,On,Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I visited Zanzibar after long break and was suprise to see upgrades at PGH.The owners still maintain the staff who have been there for the last 20 years.They are real great guys and help and trust worthy.
The Rooms are clean,runnig hot and cold water and well done for the dollar value.
Right in the middle of Stonetown and close to the Water.

Room Tip: There are Self-Contained rooms at level 2 and 3 which have alot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My mother and I found the Pearl to be lovely during our visit to Zanzibar. The room was exceptionally clean and spacious, and although there were other guests in the rooms surrounding ours, you wouldn't know it. It was exceptionally quiet inside.

The rooms are very spacious with plenty of windows and natural sunlight. The bathrooms in both the rooms we stayed in were also quite large, and hot water was not a problem.

Most of the rooms have a shared balcony facing the street (walking traffic only) but the view is rather nice with foliage and the bustle of passerby. There are plenty of stairs, especially to reach the third-story rooms (rooms # 9 and above if I recall) but the hotel staff will assist in carrying luggage when needed.

**note: as Stone Town is a "walking city", the Pearl is only directly accessible via foot, bike or scooter. Cars/taxis will have to stop a short distance from the hotel, but the driver will help with luggage. Be prepared to tip for the effort! This is the case with many if not most Stone Town hotels.**

The provided breakfast is hit-or-miss... it is a continental fruit-and-toast breakfast that never started within 30 minutes of the appointed time any of the three days we were there... but if we waited too long to get there, the fruit would be covered in ants. It probably isn't any worse than what most of the hotels offer except for the ant problem.... but if you're willing to wait for breakfast or happen to catch the setup right in the early/late sweet spot, you'll be satisfied.

There is a nice little ice cream shop attached to the hotel and free wi-fi for guests if you ask for the password at the shop. The wi-fi is only accessible on the lower floor, not upstairs in the guest rooms.

Overall, the Pearl is rather comfortable and I will definitely stay here again during my next trip to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My friends and I visited Zanzibar from the Middle East, we put up at the PGH which is centrally located in Stone Town close proximity to most amenities. We noticed a lot of refurbishing done and more on the way to upgrade the hotel. The staff are pleasant and ready to assist. Water and electricity was not an issue at all. They had back-up generator to supplement power cuts which were rare. The rates are very reasonable compared to other hotels of the same standard in stone town.
We wish PGH and their staff good luck.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Guest House

Address: Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Pearl Guest House Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.