We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thieves” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Guest House

Pearl Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearl Guest House
Save
You added Pearl Guest House to your Saves list
Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 135 Zanzibar B&B and Inns
paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“thieves”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

all i can tell you is,everythings is bad about this place,bedings are terrible,breakfirst is a total jock
and general conditions are just bad...it seems like it is all fabricated from pictures to comment of
this travelers.and on top of everythings they are thieves,you leave the keys down stairs when you are going out and they take advantage of it to have a look into your room,and take some few things,when you try to explaine that to the boss of this place,she just basicaly accusing you of to
be a liar...houaaa what a nice people, thrust me STAYAWAY FROM THIS PLACE
the french man.

Room Tip: i went next to jumbo guest house and for 5 more usd it was all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richomnd Hill,On,Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I visited Zanzibar after long break and was suprise to see upgrades at PGH.The owners still maintain the staff who have been there for the last 20 years.They are real great guys and help and trust worthy.
The Rooms are clean,runnig hot and cold water and well done for the dollar value.
Right in the middle of Stonetown and close to the Water.

Room Tip: There are Self-Contained rooms at level 2 and 3 which have alot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My mother and I found the Pearl to be lovely during our visit to Zanzibar. The room was exceptionally clean and spacious, and although there were other guests in the rooms surrounding ours, you wouldn't know it. It was exceptionally quiet inside.

The rooms are very spacious with plenty of windows and natural sunlight. The bathrooms in both the rooms we stayed in were also quite large, and hot water was not a problem.

Most of the rooms have a shared balcony facing the street (walking traffic only) but the view is rather nice with foliage and the bustle of passerby. There are plenty of stairs, especially to reach the third-story rooms (rooms # 9 and above if I recall) but the hotel staff will assist in carrying luggage when needed.

**note: as Stone Town is a "walking city", the Pearl is only directly accessible via foot, bike or scooter. Cars/taxis will have to stop a short distance from the hotel, but the driver will help with luggage. Be prepared to tip for the effort! This is the case with many if not most Stone Town hotels.**

The provided breakfast is hit-or-miss... it is a continental fruit-and-toast breakfast that never started within 30 minutes of the appointed time any of the three days we were there... but if we waited too long to get there, the fruit would be covered in ants. It probably isn't any worse than what most of the hotels offer except for the ant problem.... but if you're willing to wait for breakfast or happen to catch the setup right in the early/late sweet spot, you'll be satisfied.

There is a nice little ice cream shop attached to the hotel and free wi-fi for guests if you ask for the password at the shop. The wi-fi is only accessible on the lower floor, not upstairs in the guest rooms.

Overall, the Pearl is rather comfortable and I will definitely stay here again during my next trip to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My friends and I visited Zanzibar from the Middle East, we put up at the PGH which is centrally located in Stone Town close proximity to most amenities. We noticed a lot of refurbishing done and more on the way to upgrade the hotel. The staff are pleasant and ready to assist. Water and electricity was not an issue at all. They had back-up generator to supplement power cuts which were rare. The rates are very reasonable compared to other hotels of the same standard in stone town.
We wish PGH and their staff good luck.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Excellent:
- Hotel
- Staff
- Price
- Location

For those of you traveling to Zanzibar, checking into this hotel is a must!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We had a lovely time and very safe with best buy for the money.Very friendly people in Zanzibar.The Hotel is walking distance to all tourist locates.
This journey made me look at how you can be comfortable with such little money.Also feel very safe and quiet and away from long traffic in our our parts of the world.I forgot driving when I was in Zanzibar.
Pearl Guest House is a place to stay and hang around balcony in the morning to see School going kids with their excitements.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

We have been to Zanzibar and stayed at Pearl Guest House,which is located at Stone Town.
The staff were extremely good and courtious.The G/House was clean and very safe and location was fantastic since all historical places and market places were within working distances.
The Guest House offers Breakfast in the morning.Bathing is no problem with plenty of hot and cold water.
Beaches can be reached by walking or even biking
There are self-contained rooms and few of them are air-conditioned.Worth considering the value for money.
I like the idea of being made ot feel at home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Guest House

Address: Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pearl Guest House Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.