We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearl Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 111 Zanzibar B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My mother and I found the Pearl to be lovely during our visit to Zanzibar. The room was exceptionally clean and spacious, and although there were other guests in the rooms surrounding ours, you wouldn't know it. It was exceptionally quiet inside.

The rooms are very spacious with plenty of windows and natural sunlight. The bathrooms in both the rooms we stayed in were also quite large, and hot water was not a problem.

Most of the rooms have a shared balcony facing the street (walking traffic only) but the view is rather nice with foliage and the bustle of passerby. There are plenty of stairs, especially to reach the third-story rooms (rooms # 9 and above if I recall) but the hotel staff will assist in carrying luggage when needed.

**note: as Stone Town is a "walking city", the Pearl is only directly accessible via foot, bike or scooter. Cars/taxis will have to stop a short distance from the hotel, but the driver will help with luggage. Be prepared to tip for the effort! This is the case with many if not most Stone Town hotels.**

The provided breakfast is hit-or-miss... it is a continental fruit-and-toast breakfast that never started within 30 minutes of the appointed time any of the three days we were there... but if we waited too long to get there, the fruit would be covered in ants. It probably isn't any worse than what most of the hotels offer except for the ant problem.... but if you're willing to wait for breakfast or happen to catch the setup right in the early/late sweet spot, you'll be satisfied.

There is a nice little ice cream shop attached to the hotel and free wi-fi for guests if you ask for the password at the shop. The wi-fi is only accessible on the lower floor, not upstairs in the guest rooms.

Overall, the Pearl is rather comfortable and I will definitely stay here again during my next trip to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My friends and I visited Zanzibar from the Middle East, we put up at the PGH which is centrally located in Stone Town close proximity to most amenities. We noticed a lot of refurbishing done and more on the way to upgrade the hotel. The staff are pleasant and ready to assist. Water and electricity was not an issue at all. They had back-up generator to supplement power cuts which were rare. The rates are very reasonable compared to other hotels of the same standard in stone town.
We wish PGH and their staff good luck.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Excellent:
- Hotel
- Staff
- Price
- Location

For those of you traveling to Zanzibar, checking into this hotel is a must!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We had a lovely time and very safe with best buy for the money.Very friendly people in Zanzibar.The Hotel is walking distance to all tourist locates.
This journey made me look at how you can be comfortable with such little money.Also feel very safe and quiet and away from long traffic in our our parts of the world.I forgot driving when I was in Zanzibar.
Pearl Guest House is a place to stay and hang around balcony in the morning to see School going kids with their excitements.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

We have been to Zanzibar and stayed at Pearl Guest House,which is located at Stone Town.
The staff were extremely good and courtious.The G/House was clean and very safe and location was fantastic since all historical places and market places were within working distances.
The Guest House offers Breakfast in the morning.Bathing is no problem with plenty of hot and cold water.
Beaches can be reached by walking or even biking
There are self-contained rooms and few of them are air-conditioned.Worth considering the value for money.
I like the idea of being made ot feel at home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

We have just visited Zanzibar islands and Tanzania Game reserves. The lovely island of Zanzibar has lots to offer with great beaches and great hospitality.
We stayed at an affordable Pearl Guest House, run by Mr.Champsi who offered us a great rate and friendly services. The staff and hotel is well kept and good for the money.
When landing in Zanzibar, you may be offered several hotels by Taxi drivers but it remains your choice to decide though you may be told the particual hotel you are inquiring is full. I suggest that you call the hotel directly to confirm.
I recommend this B&B for those with limited budget as well as if you are interested in avoiding high beach hotel prices as the island can be covered to any location from the town by an max. of two hours drive.
Pearl Guest House also provided us with extra discount on extended stay and transport to the beaches in the East of the Zanzibar Island. The hotel website is ----

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pearl Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Guest House

Also Known As:
Pearl Guest House Hotel Zanzibar
Pearl Guest House Hotel
Address: Kiponda Street | Darajani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Guest House 3*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pearl Guest House to your Saves list