We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Chumbe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chumbe Island Coral Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Save
You added Chumbe Island Coral Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chumbe Island, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Chumbe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We loved out stay on Chumbe. The island is lovely, the snorkeling wonderful, the water gorgeous and warm, the little huts are quaint and sweet and rustic in a very appealing way. I even thought the long drop toilet was fun! It's not luxury though - be prepared for some bug bites, the heat - as there is no air conditioning (it's an eco lodge, after all) and the cottages are open air. We found that we needed to spend the afternoons actually in the water to stay cool - but the evenings were gorgeous as it cooled down. It's a bit dream like, actually, which was lovely.
The staff are amazing! We felt looked after completely - and we got to know the staff quite well, as there are only 7 cottages on the island and so a limited number of people there. Always a big smile for us and always an inquiry as to how we were doing. Great energy from everyone which made us feel that it was a truly special place.
And the food - just amazing!!! It was loads of fun to eat on the balcony's off the main lodge or on the beach in the evening, in candlelight.
My only small thought that would have improved our comfort somewhat would be that nicer bedding - I know, I sound like a princess but hear me out!! - would have improved our sleep. Being hot and sticky is much easier when you have nice slippery cool sheets to rest on:)
And yes, everything has to be loaded on to the boat in the water - so try to arrange to leave excess baggage behind, if at all possible.
We would go back in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    23
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
241
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The island is magical: open air eco lodges, felt like Swiss Family Robinson; outstanding friendly staff; great chef and meals, beautiful corals and fish, what else can you ask for? There are only 7 lodges for 2 persons each, so you basically have the island all to yourself. The staff is just wonderful, anticipating your needs, in a most relaxed way. Be aware that you need to get into the boat in water, especially at low tide (and walk some distance into the ocean floor), so wear shorts and water shoes, and minimize any luggage.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wow, what a wonderful place. Finding a true ecotourism destination that's as spectacular as this was just a bonus. The food, service, snorkelling and accommodation all made for the most unique travel experience and not your typical island holiday. I truly felt as if I'd been transported away from the mass hotels and cocoons where you just get dumped on a beach. The night-time dinners on the beach were wonderful especially the night where we were serenaded and all the staff and, eventually guests were dancing around a fire under a full moon. Sounds too good to be true? Yep I know, you have to experience it. Truly wonderful if this is your type of getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed on that beautiful island Chumbe for 12 days in July 2013 and we all would say that this is one of the most wonderful experiences/holidays you can enjoy in your life!
By choosing this island you should know that Chumbe is not a typical holiday resort overcrowded with tourists and typical hotel rooms but an eco-island at its highest level without anything missing. On top of that you are supporting an ecological sustainable project which makes you not only a tourist but also a little but important part of that whole idea.
All in all it definitely is a luxury stay with most wonderful staff, delicious food and impressing nature!
Thank you so much for that unforgettable time Chumbe! See you soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went on a day trip and this is the most beautiful place i've ever seen. So tranquil and peaceful and nice views from everywhere. We were provided a room also for the day - wow! What a room. The sea view from the bedroom was amazin. The lunch was amazin with tables offering amazing views. Along the coast are hidden little beds with matresses where you can stay and relax and watch the views. This was the highlight of our 2 weeks on Zanzibar. The best tour and worth every penny! The coral was also amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our visit to Chumbe Island was one of the highlights of our trip to Zanzibar. The snorkelling excursion was well organized with knowledgable and helpful guides. The coral off this island is the best we've ever seen. The lunch served consisted of tasty local fare - and the day bungalow was a nice touch. I would highly recommend you spend a day at Chumbe Island. (The $95 was well worth it and knowing your money goes to environmental education makes it even more worthwhile)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I only went on a day trip with a friend from our hotel in Zanzibar, the boat trip to the island was approx 45 mins, in low tide you have to wear supplied sandals to get to the boat and please be careful as it is very slippery, however, seeing beautiful, coloured starfish, crabs, and other such sea creatures was spectacular. Once we got to the island we were given our own lodge, we were so spoilt there was only 2 other guests on the island, so it felt like we had the whole island to ourselves, we went on the 4th December, it was baking hot, gorgeous day. This is what it felt like to have your own island - just idyllic. Went snorkelling, in the most amazing clear sea and the coral and the marine life were just fantastic, our guide was super helpful. We saw stingrays, an abundance of colourful fish, and the coral was beautiful and so well kept. After that we had lunch which was lovely, which we had whilst watching the most amazing landscape of the beach and the ocean. We were then given a tour to the top of the lighthouse, definitely worked out your legs, and then you get this amazing 360 degrees view of the whole island - simply breath taking. It was a bit expensive, however, I didn't feel too bad once we had heard that a lot of the money goes towards the upkeep and education to the local community of the importance of keeping this amazing eco park maintained. The staff Hussan, Ali and Jay could not be more helpful, a joy to be around and unbelievably friendly. I was gutted to leave and wish I had spent a night at least or a few nights there to really take the beauty in and I know it was super special as there was only 4 of us on the island, but how amazing even if it was totally booked, (14 people, if it's booked up totally). How lucky were we to have the island practically to ourselves. I have never wrote a review on trip advisor before, but feel so strongly that I just had to tell everyone that this is a MUST SEE PLACE. It is a bit of paradise on this earth. So far my highlight of Zanzibar, and I'm staying in a pretty awesome place, so for me to say this, it is truly a massive compliment - BOOK IT NOW! Went with a lovely friend - but a great honeymoon destination, and even if you are a solo traveller you will totally love it - pure peace and tranquillity on earth.

Room Tip: There are only 7 Eco lodges, all are the same, however, if you stay in lodge number 7 which is at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumbe Island Coral Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.