We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we found paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chumbe Island Coral Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Save Saved
You added Chumbe Island Coral Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chumbe Island, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Zanzibar
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“we found paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We found paradise. Wonderful island and people who take care. Great hospitality and delicious food. A unique spirit on the island. We lost our hearts to the island and the people there when we were celebrating and dancing with them in the moonlight.
To chumbe we will come back some day.

Thank you so much

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    21
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
70
213
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I visited Chumbe Island Coral Park as an addition to my trip to Zanzibar and it was a truely wonderful experience. One of the Higlights of the trip (the other being the Serengetti) and definitely the highlight of the visit to Zanzibar. They do not use the term eco as a prefix - This is a true ecolodge. A water tank harvesting rain water from the roof makes the base of your bungalow. Composting toilets, and A solar panel on the roof provides electricity. The views around are so spectacular that you can spend the day happily just lying on the swing cot in the bunglow. Step out and go swimming. The snorkeling here is unrivalled and the food delicious. The staff friendly and warm. The guides who take you on the snorkelling trip or forest walk are knowledgable and make your experience special. Make sure that you climb up the old light house since the view from here is great. We were on the island when a marine education program was being conducted for university students. The classroom is inspiring and infact everything about Chumbe is inspiring. I just wish I had more than one night at Chumbe but at the same time am grateful that i got to see such a great place in my lifetime.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

When my wife and I were booking the post safari leg of our honeymoon to Zanzibar, we came across Chumbe Island Coral Park in the tripadvisor reviews and were intrigued. At first I was uncertain if it would be the right choice for us, as we were looking for a resort style hotel and wanted complete relaxation. With that said we booked one night at Chumbe, and the rest of our time at a resort in Bweju. I was very intrigued, by the sustainable island, open air bungalow, supporting the environment theme at Chumbe, but was nervous it was going to be too costly, and maybe a bit more "roughing it" than we were looking for. In retrospect our only mistake in booking our stay at Chumbe was not staying longer! It was truly magical, the staff was amazing, the food was the best we had in Africa, the bungalows were so cool!!Definitely book overnight if you can, a day trip will leave you wanting more, but is still worth it. Although pricey, Chumbe is well worth the money, especially supporting such an amazing project. I read in the guest book that some people become emotional when they leave the island, and I totally understand why. We quickly formed a special attachment to the unique island and it's gracious staff. It felt like home as soon as we stepped foot. If I could do it over again I would skip the resort and stay at Chumbe the entire time, bring books, and games with you, and be prepared for the most relaxing place one could imagine. Become one with nature, wake up to an ocean view and a sea breeze, and get lost in the mystery of the island. Cannot wait for our return one day! Thanks Chumbe for making our honeymoon so memorable! Chris + Michelle 7/7/13

Room Tip: All of the bungalows seemed nice, although we only saw the inside of ours. Email the staff with spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watamu
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Staying overnight was beyond our budget but the day trip was a great option. We were collected by taxi from the bus station and taken to the Mbweni Ruins Hotel where we had to wait about one hour for the boat to depart for Chumbe. It was low season so we didn't have to book far in advance. Day visitors are only accepted if the hotel rooms are not full as day visitors are given a room to be theirs for the day. The water was choppy so we got rather wet on the trip across. After a welcome juice drink and a brief talk we were shown to our rooms. The four of us who were day visitors changed our clothes immediately and returned to the reception area to go snorkeling. As experienced snorkelers, one a marine researcher, the guide allowed us to swim off and do our own thing, something we really appreciated. The protected area is small and fishing is allowed nearby (as required by the government) so while we found the coral delightful we were rather disappointed by the size and number of the fish. It is, however, the best snorkeling off Zanzibar. Prison Island and Bawe Island are cheaper options where we also found the coral to be delightful but the fish life disappointing. In short, Zanzibar reefs are suffering from over-fishing. The staff were great and the buffet lunch (part of the package) was appetizing and served overlooking the sea. An afternoon guided tour of the forest was offered before the return trip to Mbweni Ruins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you are visiting Zanzibar and care a little for the environment you have to go there.
Everything is sustainable which is quite impressive how luxurious you can stay by being sustainable. The bungalows are very cozy and clean, the mattress (for people with back problems) is hard but very good. Everything in the bungalow is done with so much attention/love to detail that it is a pleasure to see it. The food was also very good, and the staff and the information we got from them were also perfect. I had my best sleep ever with the raging sea right in front of the bungalow. We also did a snorkeling trip and saw the coconut crabs by night which was also quite impressive. The only thing I had my problems with was the earth toilet. But you get used to it. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have had 3 great days at Chumbe Island. Beautiful island and houses, a very nice staff, excellent food and a lot of great nature. The coral reef is amazing and the variety in fish and corals impressing. All in all a highly recommendable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a memorable place, beautiful island and just as beautiful staff. This is eco-tourism beautifully thought out, and an island where there are no real nasties to disturb... No snakes, monkeys, crocs, scorpions and even mosquitos are mercifully mostly absent. Coral reef snorkelling is one of the highlights if you are up to it, but walking round the entire island peering at starfish, molluscs, corals, sea urchins is just as good.

No locks on the lodges because there is no front door! But everything perfectly safe... And the constant sound of the waves, the birds (mainly doves) provide a gentle background to relaxing, taking in the sun and the sea.

We spent 4 nights there, and have so many great memories... John king the chef is a legend and his food was truly satisfying... Not western pizzas and cheese dishes which were offered in other zanzibar hotels, but rich nourishing fish stews etc.

Keep your ears and eyes open, tho... Only one side of the island is protected... The other sides reef is fished every day by a relentless wave of boats. The staff, too, are paid relatively well, but spend extended periods of time away fm their families. But staff are unusually close, just a warm group that is a credit to the whole organisation.

But... A little bit of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Aha that wd be telling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumbe Island Coral Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.