We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ambient surrounded by beautiful nature.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chumbe Island Coral Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chumbe Island Coral Park
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chumbe Island, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 142 hotels in Zanzibar
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Amazing ambient surrounded by beautiful nature.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A splendid open room harmonized in nature with beautiful sea view. Eco accommodation with very nice double floor room with funny shutter in bedroom!!!
The staff was really polite, helpful and always with a smile.
Excellent food lunch and diner. At dinner they had also nice topical music where you could also dance very very nice.
Very friendly and helpful Jacobs.
Do not miss the snorkeling around the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    19
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
196
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a short break between meetings and work schedules in Tanzania and chose Chumbe Island based on the reviews in TripAdvisor. After spending 3 nights there we fully support the outstanding reviews that it has received. It is in a wonderful location, the effort in designing the eco-accommodation is excellent and its staff outstanding. We were exceptionally lucky in that we found that we were the only overnight guests during our stay. Our daughter was immediately offered a bungalow of her own and we soon found ourselves surrounded by excellent service that made us both part of the 'Chumbe family' but with sufficient reserve to let us enjoy the Island as a family. If the opportunity arises we will not hesitate to return.

But I urge potential guests to read the reviews carefully - both the excellent and the few that are more critical. Chumbe is not a luxury resort. It can require some physical exertion to get there. It is a small island with a wonderful reef and a fascinating rainforest, but if you are looking for more than that then look elsewhere. The eco-accommodation is brilliantly designed to catch cooling breezes and comfortable (the beds must have been upgraded as ours were fresh, clean and very comfortable), but it is open to the weather. We did not find flies a problem - but then we are Australians! The snorkeling was great, but the Chumbe team do take their responsibility for protecting the reef seriously so expect to snorkel only when there is sufficient depth to protect the reef from errant flippers etc. The food was excellent - but then we effectively had a personal chef and dinner served by candle-light on our 'private beach'.

Three nights is probably the right stay - any shorter and we would have resented having to leave; any longer and we probably would not have left. Our daughter threatened to become an Island stowaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you like to be far away from the crowds then you really have to stay at Chumbe Island. The island is so peaceful with beautiful scenery and it’s natural unlike other massive crowded resorts. This is my second trip to Chumbe and I found it perfect. I stayed in April 2011 and made it again in this April and am glad that my self and my family were not disappointed. We stayed in different bungalows from last time and they were also clean and comfortable.
Chumbe staff must have been well trained as we received first class attention from them, from housekeeping to guiding rangers. The staffs are so helpful and gracious and the service at this place was out of the top draw. Again, I enjoyed snorkeling over the superb coral garden with the guidance of knowledgeable rangers
Concisely, Chumbe Island made a great impression to us during this second visit and we would love very much to go back again and stay with these wonderful people. Human touch and kindness is above all.
Asante sana the kithchen team led by Chef Hassan for feeding us well with varieties of fresh meals from day one!

Room Tip: I found bungalow number 1 and 2 have big space and have better view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver BC Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Aside from the very attentive service, fabulous location, deluxe eco accommodation, and great food, the snorkeling was excellent. The Chumbe Island marine preservation project, with its attendant school education onsite program and the joint cooperation, with the government and fishermen community, has ensured that the variety and quantity of coral is quite extraordinary. This is a great example of a collective effort to save the environment and still provide a hands on experience for nature lovers to enjoy, in a low impact manner. Thank you Chumbe, for making this possible !

Room Tip: The only recommendation I can make, is that late Feb is very hot at night for sleeping in an open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I fell in love, with Chumbe Island: the coral reefs and snorkeling, the sailing, the most excellent food, the bungalows for sure, and coconut crabs, but mostly the people and intimacy of the Chumbe Island experience. All our creature comforts were well met with the genius design of the bungalows with their solar panel for light and roofline to capture water for showers. So breezy and comfortable, and all entirely off the grid. How fabulous is that! My heart goes out to the staff, especially John the chef for creating the most delicately spiced foods of Zanzibar. We shall return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was my third visit to Chumbe Island and it never fails to inspire for the best in ecotourism! The lodging, the staff, the meals, the activities,
all five star! Their personal attention to our needs was constant. They went out of their way to accommodate our comfort and our need for an early departure. And Chaga was a superb forest walk guide. What a way to end our walking safari! Thanks to you all, Chumbe staffers! You deserve your five stars!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After 3 weeks of trekking and Safari in Rwanda and Tanzania, Chumbe was the perfect place to unwind and just totally relax. The island itself is a beautiful little piece of paradise, and the staff at the islands Eco-lodge were outstanding. From the minute we were picked up by the island shuttle boat, to the time we were dropped off back at Mbweni ruins hotel, we were treated like royalty by the island staff. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we were always happy and comfortable, checking with us regularly to see if we needed anything. They are all very knowledgeable about the island and its plants and animals, and are very quick to share that knowledge. Whether it’s a forest walk, an afternoon snorkel, or a morning reef walk, one of them will be there to guide you, and point out what the island has to offer.
The three hot meals a day, prepared by the lodges kitchen staff were excellent; a mixture of local and international cuisine. You would certainly never go hungry on Chumbe, in fact you’d more likely gain a few pounds.
The accommodations on the island are as amazing as the staff and food. The beautiful two-storey, “A- frame” style eco huts reminded us of something right out of Robinson Crusoe. Each morning we could gaze out the open loft of our hut, from our comfy queen size bed, to see the turquoise blue Indian Ocean, and palm trees swaying in the morning breeze. The huts truly are eco-friendly, complete with solar power, compost toilets, and filtered rain water showers. The lodge has done an outstanding job of making every aspect of the facility, and its activities eco-friendly, including providing education to the local population and promoting the importance of maintaining the areas fragile marine environment.
We would certainly recommend a stay on Chumbe to anyone interested in experiencing a once in a lifetime tropical Eco-adventure in Africa. Although we were lucky enough to spend 3 nights on the island, had we known what a beautiful place it was, and how great the staff at the Eco-Lodge were, we would have definitely planned an even longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumbe Island Coral Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chumbe Island Coral Park to your Saves list