We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradize !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chumbe Island Coral Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Save
You added Chumbe Island Coral Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chumbe Island, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradize !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Amazing location, great friendly staff, cute bungalow & amazing food !
Do not miss the snorkeling and the forest walk tour !!!

My advise is to spend 2-3 nights there.. only one night being too short. ON the other hand i would not spend more than 3 days unless you are really wanting to rest, the island is small.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    23
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
246
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and loved it. The bungalows were well designed, and we were impressed by how it was planned to have as little impact on the environment as possible. The reef was beautiful, with lots of fish; we also saw a lobster and a couple of turtles. The staff were all keen to be helpful. We would have given 5 points, but for a few small problems. One was the flies; I'm not sure they could help that, i think we just hit a bad time. We also found the breakfasts a bit hit and miss; the fruit was always good, but the cooked bit was disappointing, sometimes cold, and sometimes just not good (the pancakes and French toast). We also thought it would be easy for them to service the rooms when the guests were not there, as they know exactly when the activities would be. Often the cleaner was there just when you needed to use the bathroom. These problems were very minor, and should not deter you from visiting this beautiful spot and supporting a great cause.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights wishing it were longer. The staff did everything they could to make you feel very special in this very special place.
They are doing a great job in their conservation work and were both interesting and very informative.
As we left Chumbe we had a feeling that we were very lucky to have experienced such a beautiful island.

Room Tip: We had room 1 with views of the sea and short walk to beach and main areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed on Chumbe for 7 nights this place is incredible.The coral reef was the most beautifull one i have seen so far so many colours and difference.We saw turtles,stingrays,reefshark and a lot off others who live there.
A lot off spots to relax on and near the beach with amazing views.
Food is buffet on regular times quality ok but after a week much the same.Staff do everything to make you feel good nothing is to much.
Bungalow nr 6+7 are the most private and a stroll away from the see.

Room Tip: Bungalow 6+7 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I don't think I have much to add to other reviews, other than to say that if you have any doubts over splurging on Chumbe island, it's well worth it. We stayed for 3 days but if your budget doesn't stretch I'd recommend staying for 1 or 2 nights as well. We were able to organise a late check out as well - this isn't guaranteed as it includes use of a room so depends on the island not being full. Wasn't cheap at usd140 either but this did include lunch and snorkelling (and hey, it's for a good cause!)

Food was excellent - particularly the seafood curries.
Snorkelling was excellent, although on the last day the wind got up and visibility was so poor. I felt really sorry for the couple who had taken a day trip to Chumbe that day!
Staff were excellent, very genuine people.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 but were moved to room 3 for our late check out. Room 3 is much smaller thathr o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The staff was excellent, very welcoming/friendly knowledgeable and helpful. The island is a lovely retreat, a great place to relax and unwind. The bedroom cabins really make you feel like you are Robinson Crusoe on a desert island. We had one with a view of the sea and it was idyllic. The rooms have two floors (the bed is on the upper floor) and while very eco friendly they are well designed for comfort with natural material. To me it felt like really being in touch with nature. The ground floor has the bathroom and a large lounge area. It is all very pretty.
We really enjoyed the food which was very tasty and served on the terrace during the day and on the beach in the evening. Beautiful settings! The coral patch where we snorkelled was in amazing conditions. The snorkeling is dependent on the tides and we managed to snorkle twice on the reef. Amazing views from the top of the old lighthouse.
It is great to see such resource being preserved and we felt privileged to be able to stay on the island and be able to support such an important conservation project. The forest walk was also nice though I recommend spraying some mosquito repellent on. The ranger gave us a lot of information and he was very passionate. It is great to see local people so proud and passionate about conserving the environment. Most of the money goes to support environmental education for local school children and conservation of the island. If you can stay overnight: it is really worth the experience and the feel good factor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending 5 nights on this magical island. We stayed in hut #7......it was the closest to the water and the most private. We really appreciated the eco design of the huts and the effort by all the staff in the protection and education of the reef. It is the healthiest reef we have seen in awhile! The head chef John and his assistant chef Juma provided us with amazing meals. The seafood dinners were fabulous....especially the last night private dinner! If you can, spend as many nights as you are able to. We loved it there and the staff felt like family as we said our goodbyes!

Room Tip: Pick 7 especially if you want to be close to the waters edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumbe Island Coral Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.