We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost your own private island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chumbe Island Coral Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Save Saved
You added Chumbe Island Coral Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chumbe Island, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 141 hotels in Zanzibar
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Almost your own private island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed on Chumbe for 7 nights this place is incredible.The coral reef was the most beautifull one i have seen so far so many colours and difference.We saw turtles,stingrays,reefshark and a lot off others who live there.
A lot off spots to relax on and near the beach with amazing views.
Food is buffet on regular times quality ok but after a week much the same.Staff do everything to make you feel good nothing is to much.
Bungalow nr 6+7 are the most private and a stroll away from the see.

Room Tip: Bungalow 6+7 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    20
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
68
201
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I don't think I have much to add to other reviews, other than to say that if you have any doubts over splurging on Chumbe island, it's well worth it. We stayed for 3 days but if your budget doesn't stretch I'd recommend staying for 1 or 2 nights as well. We were able to organise a late check out as well - this isn't guaranteed as it includes use of a room so depends on the island not being full. Wasn't cheap at usd140 either but this did include lunch and snorkelling (and hey, it's for a good cause!)

Food was excellent - particularly the seafood curries.
Snorkelling was excellent, although on the last day the wind got up and visibility was so poor. I felt really sorry for the couple who had taken a day trip to Chumbe that day!
Staff were excellent, very genuine people.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 but were moved to room 3 for our late check out. Room 3 is much smaller thathr o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The staff was excellent, very welcoming/friendly knowledgeable and helpful. The island is a lovely retreat, a great place to relax and unwind. The bedroom cabins really make you feel like you are Robinson Crusoe on a desert island. We had one with a view of the sea and it was idyllic. The rooms have two floors (the bed is on the upper floor) and while very eco friendly they are well designed for comfort with natural material. To me it felt like really being in touch with nature. The ground floor has the bathroom and a large lounge area. It is all very pretty.
We really enjoyed the food which was very tasty and served on the terrace during the day and on the beach in the evening. Beautiful settings! The coral patch where we snorkelled was in amazing conditions. The snorkeling is dependent on the tides and we managed to snorkle twice on the reef. Amazing views from the top of the old lighthouse.
It is great to see such resource being preserved and we felt privileged to be able to stay on the island and be able to support such an important conservation project. The forest walk was also nice though I recommend spraying some mosquito repellent on. The ranger gave us a lot of information and he was very passionate. It is great to see local people so proud and passionate about conserving the environment. Most of the money goes to support environmental education for local school children and conservation of the island. If you can stay overnight: it is really worth the experience and the feel good factor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending 5 nights on this magical island. We stayed in hut #7......it was the closest to the water and the most private. We really appreciated the eco design of the huts and the effort by all the staff in the protection and education of the reef. It is the healthiest reef we have seen in awhile! The head chef John and his assistant chef Juma provided us with amazing meals. The seafood dinners were fabulous....especially the last night private dinner! If you can, spend as many nights as you are able to. We loved it there and the staff felt like family as we said our goodbyes!

Room Tip: Pick 7 especially if you want to be close to the waters edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was by far the highlight of our trip. The island is beautiful and the snorkeling on the reef was amazing. The staff were extremely helpful and informative. Accommodation and food was also great. Just wish we could have stayed longer! Very worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arriving at this little island in a small wooden boat over the turquoise water was simply fantastic. On reaching the island we were taken a back by the beauty and pristine environment that with the money that we had spent, we were partaking in upkeeping and preserving. The huts were amazing. They call it simple luxury, and that is what it is. The compost toilet was somewhat a novelty and we were always on the look out for a green snake (not dangerous!!) which were warned might pay is a visit (but never did!). No doors or windows made us feel close to nature and was wonderful falling asleep to the sounds of the island. Views were supherb - even from bed and the swinging hammock on the terrace below. The snorkling here is the best ive seen and in contrast to other areas around Zanzibar had a bucket load of fish, weird and wonderful things. If i was a fish or any native species id definintely choose Chumbe!
Food was prepared as a 5 star restaurant. John the head chef worked hard to produce some really tasty dishes. Completely fresh and every meal different. We also did the reef walk, the place is so unspoilt that you wish that all beaches were kept this well. The wildlife obviously felt the way we did about the island, there are so many crabs that the entire sand beach looks to be moving if you look down! Incredible. I saw 2 reef sharks in the shallow water at the beach whild my boyfriend went out snorkelling, he saw some amazing fish, but he was gutted to have missed being close up and personal with a reef shark nibbling his toes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Chumbe Island is a fantastic project. We were happy to discover the life of the coral reef during our 3 night stay. We appriciate the ecological friendly way of living on the island and we gladly supports the educational programme on coral reef protection. We strongly recomend this kind of turisme.

Further, the food is fantastic and the chumbe team and the whole atmosphere is so friendly and welcoming. If paridise exist it must be somewhat like chumbe Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumbe Island Coral Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.