We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good cause” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chumbe Island Coral Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Save Saved
You added Chumbe Island Coral Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chumbe Island, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 142 hotels in Zanzibar
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A really good cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arriving at this little island in a small wooden boat over the turquoise water was simply fantastic. On reaching the island we were taken a back by the beauty and pristine environment that with the money that we had spent, we were partaking in upkeeping and preserving. The huts were amazing. They call it simple luxury, and that is what it is. The compost toilet was somewhat a novelty and we were always on the look out for a green snake (not dangerous!!) which were warned might pay is a visit (but never did!). No doors or windows made us feel close to nature and was wonderful falling asleep to the sounds of the island. Views were supherb - even from bed and the swinging hammock on the terrace below. The snorkling here is the best ive seen and in contrast to other areas around Zanzibar had a bucket load of fish, weird and wonderful things. If i was a fish or any native species id definintely choose Chumbe!
Food was prepared as a 5 star restaurant. John the head chef worked hard to produce some really tasty dishes. Completely fresh and every meal different. We also did the reef walk, the place is so unspoilt that you wish that all beaches were kept this well. The wildlife obviously felt the way we did about the island, there are so many crabs that the entire sand beach looks to be moving if you look down! Incredible. I saw 2 reef sharks in the shallow water at the beach whild my boyfriend went out snorkelling, he saw some amazing fish, but he was gutted to have missed being close up and personal with a reef shark nibbling his toes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    20
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
68
198
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Chumbe Island is a fantastic project. We were happy to discover the life of the coral reef during our 3 night stay. We appriciate the ecological friendly way of living on the island and we gladly supports the educational programme on coral reef protection. We strongly recomend this kind of turisme.

Further, the food is fantastic and the chumbe team and the whole atmosphere is so friendly and welcoming. If paridise exist it must be somewhat like chumbe Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on this wonderful little island Eco resort. It is truly Eco so if you are looking for a luxury 5 star boutique hotel - this is not for you. For us this was magic...we stayed in bungalow number 7 which is at the end of the row and closest to the sea. From the swing outside we watched Reef sharks for an hour, dolphins (seasonal), many birds and the ubiquitous coconut crabs who are the true island residents. the bungalows follow good Eco practise with composting toilets , eco shampoo, soap etc. large bed with mosquito net upstairs and a swing bed and lounge area downstairs. There are no doors - but in rain the roof space has a flap which pulls up to prevent the bed getting wet. The snorkelling on the reef happens once or twice a day and the corals and fish are diverse and abundant. this is a real marine park with an active conservation programme including outreach to local schools and local communities disemminating education on marine biology and environment impact of man. It's quite pricey but a large part of the cost goes into the conservation programme so very worthwhile. The service is truly 5 star....the food was the best I had in Tanzania; fish, seafood, spices, soups and plenty of fresh fruit. the chef is a star. I cannot rate this place highly enough - go there and support this place. You wont regret it.

Room Tip: Bugalow 7 is nearest the sea and most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent the first 4 days of our honeymoon at Chumbe Island Coral Park. We were blown away by the unspoilt, natual beauty of the island and coraf reef. We love that the ethos of the island is focussed on ecologically sustainable principles, while at the same time not compromising on luxury. The snorkelling was superb, especially the sightings of turtle and a +-1m long lobster! The food was delicous but also healthy, and the staff were welcoming and knoweldgable. Thanks you to everyone for an incredible stay. We will certainly recommend Chumbe Island to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Chumbe Island Coral Park is a really perfect place to become a part of nature. Good service, perfect eco-thinking and a absolut friendly team. I felt allway comfortable. The food was various and well-tasting. So I recomend this Resort strongly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Deservedly, this is the number one place to visit in all of Zanzibar! I wish I had more than one night to enjoy the sea, the forest, nature, and all the wonderful staff that work there. If you want a place to relax, learn, and have other students learn through your support, then Chumbe Island is the place to be. I loved how wonderful the planning for events was, how well preserved everything is and how respectful of nature people are! Not to mention the food!

You will be blown away by the beauty and magic of nature there but my advise is " dont go for one night as its never enough"! Thank you for making my one night the first and best day of 2013! Special regards to Laki, Juma and Ali Matata :-) Keep up your great work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family (including our 10-year-old daughter and 13-year-old son) spent 3 night on Chumbe Island after a week of safari. What a wonderful experience! We loved everything about Chumbe: the incredibly friendly and kind staff, the unusual and comfortable accommodations, the crystal clear waters and amazing snorkeling, the delicious food, and the overall relaxed atmosphere.

The staff was attentive and accommodating and always made us feel at home. The guiding rangers were so knowledgeable, and we really enjoyed snorkeling twice a day, going on the forest walk, climbing the lighthouse at sunset, walking around the island at low tide, and searching for coconut crabs at night. They also taught us how to play bao! The kitchen staff went out of their way to make us happy and comfortable. Hans was especially fun and friendly. He taught us a different version of bao and led the New Year's dance celebrations. The food was fresh and delicious, with a wide variety of choices at every meal and many different spices and flavors.

Since there are so few guests on the island, every activity is always available and there is a constant feeling of calm and relaxation (unlike larger resorts where guests fight for the best beach chairs and activity slots). Our favorite spot was the big swinging bed on the beach where we spent many hours reading and relaxing in between dips in the crystal clear Indian Ocean waters.

The eco bungalows were so unusual and incredibly comfortable. They are open and airy but also private. We loved the unique design of each of our bungalows. The compost toilet took a little getting used to...

Best of all is the overall mission of Chumbe: the preservation of the reef, the employment of so many locals, and the education of local schoolchildren.

We cannot recommend Chumbe highly enough! It is true paradise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumbe Island Coral Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.