We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For nature lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chumbe Island Coral Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Save
You added Chumbe Island Coral Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chumbe Island, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar
Torna Hällestad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For nature lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our three days and nights at Chumbe were fantastic and the stay and what we experienced were beyond our expectations.The reef was really rich and diverse and we also spotted interesting animals and plants on land. Snorkeling guides were helpful, knowledgable and patient despite many unexperienced participants. Service and food were really good and the whole island had a truly relaxing atmosphere. We tell all our friends about it - a paradise! We wish all the best to the project and the dedicated staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    23
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
241
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had been looking forward to our trip to Chumbe for a very long time, and it didn't disappoint. There's a lot of 'greenwash' out there in terms of ecotourism, but Chumbe is the real deal. What you are paying for is not only a spectacularly beautiful location, with the wonderful coral rag forest and reef on your doorstep, but also the long-term sustainable management of that ecosystem, not just for you but for generations to come. Although many places do their best by using rainwater harvesting or solar water heating, few actually achieve such a low level of impact on the environment WITHOUT compromising comfort.

One of the things I loved about Chumbe is the educaton programme. Although we didn't get to see any school visits whilst we were there, the set-up was extremely impressive and I am sure that the local school students and any others who visit for educational purposes thoroughly enjoy their stay and leave with a lot to think about!

Alongside the environment, the other of Chumbe's greatests assets, is the staff team. We were so well looked after from the moment we arrived by knowledgeable, happy, friendly and professional staff who were great fun. From Rangers Chaga and Juma No.5 to hospitality team members Grace and Hassan 2, and everyone in between, we loved them all! The bandas are lovely and clean, food is wonderful and the atmosphere at dinner, by candlelight, truly magical.

All in all we can thoroughly recommend Chumbe - go there to enjoy the place for its own sake, but go there too to do something good for the future of this wonderul place.

Room Tip: All the bandas have great views and each is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

While not cheap, this was a great place for two nights R&R after three safaris on the mainland. The snorkelling was great, the food was excellent, and the accommodations were rustic yet charming.
Loved that constant breeze blowing over us. Some Britons who were there with us, and who had stayed on several resorts in Zanzibar in the past said Chumbe was the best they had been to.
I feel as if we lucked out!
I'm not sure I would recommend staying more than two days, unless you really like snorkelling, because there is not a lot to do on the island after you've done the cross-island walk and lighthouse climb.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The first word that springs to mind as the boat approaches Chumbe Island is "paradise". The beautiful clear water, lushness of the island coupled with the rustic but very comfortable bungalows takes the breath away. My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights and I can honestly say I never wanted to leave. Between snorkeling on the immaculate coral reef by day to dinner by firelight on the beach by night this was truly one of the most amazing experiences of my life and it was only improved buy the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. Chumbe Island really is a lil' piece of paradise, and I would gladly return knowing that the cost of experiencing it, is completely contributed to maintaining the beauty of this natural wonder.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived on Chumbe after a 45 minute boat ride from Mbweni Ruins. From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of by the friendly and accomodating staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in Kasa #6 at the far end of the beach and it was lovely to hear the waves crashing on the rocks right below our bed at night. The food was delicious and it was magical to dine under the stars by candlelight or at the tables with the great ocean views. The snorkeling was excellent, it was great to see such healthy corals and the many species of fish. Special mention must go to Juma 2 for the care he took in making sure we saw everything we could on the island.
PS Remember to close the hatch upstairs when it starts to rain!

Room Tip: #6 & #7 are the most private and closest to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had an amazing time at this eco-resort. We loved our Robinson Crusoe tree-house bungalow. The hammock and the open air upstairs bed were relaxing. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all the delicious and healthy meals especially the candle-light dinners.

The snorkeling was excellent and we saw so many colorful fish and a few stingrays. They have Marine Biology Identification Books and laminated fish cards to look up the names of the fish and other invertebrates.

Even though the cost is a bit pricey, 40 percent of the money goes to support their environmental education programs for school children and the community. This is a great idea and worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I got to spend a week on this island and felt like I had died and gone to heaven. The bungalows were spacious, and clean. Beds were good. The food was superb! The staff were very helpful. Snorkelling is not to be missed! If you get a chance to spend some time on Chumbe, do it! It's like no other place.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 are right on the water and very private. Room 3 is really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumbe Island Coral Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.