We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ! A definate 10 out of 10 !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzi Resort to your Saves list
Zanzi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kama, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon Package
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great ! A definate 10 out of 10 !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Lovely place to stay, would recommend it to all the world. Nice staff, always friendly and happy. good food all the time. Take trips in the day and come back to relax. Villa was beautiful, clean and just simply marvellous. Sits on the Indian ocean, just very special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
107
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful secluded hotel. Having our own swimming pool was a first and the beautiful gardens were well maintained. Cleanliness was of a very high standard. The quality of food and friendliness of the staff was also very good. Would recommend this hotel to couples.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Location, location, location. Private, romantic villa with own pool and private access to the warm Indian Ocean complimented by excellent food from the young chef and even a secret 'privacy' stone - painted red on one side which will halt any approach to your villa by resort staff - ensuring complete privacy. Turn the stone green side up and service resumes as normal. Outdoor medieval gym and yoga area ensures that you will be able to work off those extra calories as will the special swimming jet in your pool. Delightfully decorated this resort is a must-visit if you're visiting Zanzibar

Room Tip: Each villa is entirely private and ensconced in a lush garden. Hard to choose which is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Zanzi-Resort is a piece of heaven on earh. Relaxing, peaceful, luxury. The villas are cozy, beautiful furnished, lovely painted and absolutely private.
The food served is so delicious and I do love the suaheli breakfast!
The whole staff is professional trained, courteous and simply adorable. The Zanzi-Resort and the whole team leaves nothing to be desired.
I have had a fabulous, extraordinary time with you all and I hope to see you again very soon.
Asante sana for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Zanzi Resort is the perfect place to stay. The villas are beautiful, the service is amazing and they will do anything possible tom make your visit a once in a lifetime experience. We loved going to other parts of the island to scuba or snorkel and then come home to perfection.
Zanzi is perfect for couples although we were with our two kids, 10 and 12, who loved the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Secluded and private resort 30 minutes from Stone Town and Zanzibar airport. 7 private bungalows, great personalized service, friendly staff and superb cuisine. Stayed with wife in house 4 for 8 days just before rainy season March 27-April 4. Good alternative to staying at a large resort, price is reasonable for what you get, including your own personal plunge pool and personal access to the beach. Did not turn the TV on once while we were there. Each bungalow has wi-fi access, which reaches outside to your pool area and beyond. We were able to Skype with family and share the beauty of Zanzibar. Only thing that is lacking is a fancy gym to work out. Not sure you really need it - there are other alternatives. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at the resort.

Room Tip: House 4 was perfect and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sir!
We are delighted to receive your excellent review! Our team is very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service they provided.
We are sorry to hear that you were missing fancy gym at our Resort. Though we do have a Gym. It's not that fancy, but very special. It has diverse traditional equipment for different types of work out. Our onsite personal coach will be happy to assist and accommodate any kind of requests providing tailor made personal or group trainings.
We hope to see you next time and arrange personalized classes for you.
Thank you very much once again, we appreciate your time and effort you spend to give us your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful place, quiet, relaxing and with a good service, this is the place. Our stay at Zanzi Resort was wonderful. The villas are spacious, very well decorated and surrounded by a beautiful garden. Food is delicious. If you want privacy you can relax in your private swimming pool or private beach!
Staff is amazing. Nice people, who can help you in what you need without be annoying. Special thanks to Serengeti! Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.