We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzi Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzi Resort to your Saves list
Zanzi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kama, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAY 2015 Special Offer
Ranked #3 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Zanzi Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Zanzi Resort is the perfect place to stay. The villas are beautiful, the service is amazing and they will do anything possible tom make your visit a once in a lifetime experience. We loved going to other parts of the island to scuba or snorkel and then come home to perfection.
Zanzi is perfect for couples although we were with our two kids, 10 and 12, who loved the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
138
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Secluded and private resort 30 minutes from Stone Town and Zanzibar airport. 7 private bungalows, great personalized service, friendly staff and superb cuisine. Stayed with wife in house 4 for 8 days just before rainy season March 27-April 4. Good alternative to staying at a large resort, price is reasonable for what you get, including your own personal plunge pool and personal access to the beach. Did not turn the TV on once while we were there. Each bungalow has wi-fi access, which reaches outside to your pool area and beyond. We were able to Skype with family and share the beauty of Zanzibar. Only thing that is lacking is a fancy gym to work out. Not sure you really need it - there are other alternatives. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at the resort.

Room Tip: House 4 was perfect and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sir!
We are delighted to receive your excellent review! Our team is very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service they provided.
We are sorry to hear that you were missing fancy gym at our Resort. Though we do have a Gym. It's not that fancy, but very special. It has diverse traditional equipment for different types of work out. Our onsite personal coach will be happy to assist and accommodate any kind of requests providing tailor made personal or group trainings.
We hope to see you next time and arrange personalized classes for you.
Thank you very much once again, we appreciate your time and effort you spend to give us your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful place, quiet, relaxing and with a good service, this is the place. Our stay at Zanzi Resort was wonderful. The villas are spacious, very well decorated and surrounded by a beautiful garden. Food is delicious. If you want privacy you can relax in your private swimming pool or private beach!
Staff is amazing. Nice people, who can help you in what you need without be annoying. Special thanks to Serengeti! Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Its everything you want in a resort. Intimate, private and great service. Its small so the walk to the restaurant is only about 50 feet. Stayed here with my wife and we both enjoyed it. The decor is is lovely, well done. Nothing extravagant, just right.

Something to note is, if you are coming here for just for the beach then you may ant reconsider. Its rocky and not really ideal for swimming, but you can see crab and other things in the morning. Also, make sure you tell your cab driver the right name. We said Zanzi resort, but perhaps because of my accent he thought I said Azanzi, which is all the way on another side of the island oops!

After a nice safari this was a nice touch. With the exception of the food in stone ton, this place had the best food of the 3-4 resorts we stayed.

Room Tip: Most people say go for room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Sir!
Our team is delighted by your review, we are very happy that we managed to create wonderful memories about your stay with us. Our staff is well trained in order to make sure every single guest is happy and looked after. Hospitality is our passion and every happy guest we consider as our great achievement. Thank you so much for your comments about our beach facilities – that might be very useful for further guests. Yes, we are situated in the cliffs and our beach doesn’t have a lot of sand. But we have number of advantages. First of all the difference between tides are not so big as on the east cost of the Island, it’s around 40-50 m at the most, while on the east coast water is going out for almost 2 km. Even though our coastal area is a bit rocky there is always water to swim regardless the tide. During the low tide one can enjoy diverse marine life brought by the ocean. We are providing our guests with special reef shoos so that they safely can walk on the shallow reef without fear to hurt their feet. Another great advantage of our beach is that it is absolutely private. Literally no one can pass our coastal area, so our guests can enjoy ocean in unparalleled privacy. Being on the west coast gives us a privilege of stunning sunset every singly evening.
On behalf of the team of ZanziResort I would like to thank you once again for your beautiful comment. We will be looking very much forward for your next visit.
Till then take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I have just had 4 wonderful days in the Zanzi Resort, one of the best kept secrets on Zanzibar. Tucked away from the roads this oasis of privacy and top class accommodation is designed for the couple that wishes to get away from it all, plenty of peace, tranquility and romance. The staff are superb, from the reception on arrival, to those who organise events, to having your breakfast and dinner either in your room or in the charming restaurant. The food is excellent, fresh from their own produce and a joy to eat. One night we had a very romantic candlelit dinner on the beach with the ocean just a few metres away - it was truly spectacular. Each villa is very well appointed, the outside day bed, your own truly private plunge pool and access to a secluded beach area make it very special. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom beautifully appointed. The Resort organised for trips to nearby Stonetown and the Spice Farms with transport fully arranged. All of the staff were incredibly helpful, courteous and a delight to be with. We hope to get back soon as it was a splendid few days in every way. We would very much recommend this Resort to anyone who wishes the sort of holiday we just had!

Room Tip: We understand that each Villa is the same configuration, catering basically for couples only. Each h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Peter!
Thanks a million for your nice words! That was a great pleasure to host you at our Resort.
We appreciate your feedback and will try our best to keep the standards, quality and level of our service, food and overall appearance. Your satisfaction and positive feedback is the best motivation for whole team of ZanziResort. Thank You for that!
We will be waiting for your soonest return, till than take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Zanzi Resort turned out to be a 2 year old luxury resort with 7 luxury bungalows and a beautiful restaurant/bar. Either 1 or 2 bedroom bungalows, all of them with luxury: Bedrooms, marble bathrooms, dining and living room, with TV, satellite, DVD, stereo, a flower garden, private pool with sunbeds and shade beds, private access to private beach. Cool place!!!! A 3 dish dinner and huge breakfast was included in the price, and I stuffed myself with pepper steak from reel beef from and oxe, not goat like the last two weeks, and slept like a baby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Sir!
We appreciate your positive feedback! Whole team was happy reading your nice words. Though our hotel is still very young, our chefs have many years of diverse experience in different types of cuisine, and very happy to present to our guests their best performance.
On behalf of ZanziResort we would like to say thank you for your feedback. We will be waiting for your next visit, there are still so many things to try in our restaurant! Till then take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just recently my fiance and I stayed at Zanzi resort for 5 days it was just beautiful. The villas were gorgeous, lots of space very private, just a peaceful and romantic place to relax in. On the third night we had a meal down on the beach (very romantic) the perfect setting for my partner to propose to me which I of course my answer was yes. The staff sure did spoil us we felt very lucky to be there. The meals were extremely good and so was the service. I would stay again in a heartbeat.
Thank you to everyone working at Zanzi you were all so welcoming and made us feel very special. Thinking of you all (Marylou - thank you!)
Hannah and Noel Ngaha from New Zealand xxx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.