We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect private getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzi Resort to your Saves list
Zanzi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kama, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon Package
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect private getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I recently stayed here with my husband after a 2 day safari in the Arusha area. I can say that i was pleasantly surprised at how awesome the service and grounds were. It was not only beautiful private and serene. But all of the staff made sure you had a good time. I loved having a private pool and being able to swim whenever you want. This is definitely a romantic place to go and just get away from the world. They also accommodate to you so you can have all your meals in your villa if you dontw ant to go dine in the public dining area. there are only 7 villas so you get great service and attention paid to you. Would def love to come back again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
109
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Wonderful stay in March with my 8 yr old. The villas are spacious, private and very comfortable, we particularly liked being able to have meals in the villa. We really loved the private pool, and the access to the beach.
The restaurant was very friendly and the food was extremely good.
In fact we enjoyed it so much we returned for 2 days at the end or our holiday!
All the staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for you review and really nice words!
We are looking forward for your coming back, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have just spent 3 nights in this little paradise. Everything was delightful from the rooms to the staff. We liked our room so much (more like a small house with private pool) we just stayed by the pool or on the beach swimming (also private access to the sea!), reading and relaxing. Makes it very tough to go back to the real world!
The whole complex is beautifully appointed and all of the walls etc are hand painted by the local people. Then there is the wonderful gardens and grounds.

Total worth the price, you will not be disappointed by zanzi.

Room Tip: We had villa 4 - very private, perfect really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and review.
Our goal was to create a place where you can feel totally relaxed and just spend amazing time in beautiful surroundings.
We are hoping that you you will come back to ZanziResort, maybe even for longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Zanzi Resort for three nights November 17-20 , 2014.
The vilas are built to the highest standards.
The service level is perfect.
Food was excellent .
The staff was great , could not have been more accomodating .
Special thanks to Marek, MariLu and especially Serengeti.
We highly recommend the Zanzi Resort, it's paradise.
The fitness center is old school but a better workout out than conventional machines.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I spent three nights at Zanzi Resort and really fell in love with the place. The private pool was glorious. I was concerned that it would be too shallow, but it was about1.5 meters deep and kept in very good condition. The food was AMAZING! This was a bit of a problem because I didn't want to go somewhere else at night and risk missing a meal. Most importantly, the service was perfect. There was some confusion with my booking, primarily caused by the fact that I was traveling solo and did not look at my invoice to see that I was being charged a double occupancy rate. Mark and Marilou were very nice about this and bent over backwards to make sure my trip wasn't ruined. Abdou and the other Tanzanian staff were also very friendly and helpful. I also want to thank them very much for giving me some of their homemade jam to take home. It really transports me back to a time of pure bliss!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in Nov 13 and loved it. The villas are very spacious and clean. We were told by our tour operator that the beaches on the eastern shore of the island are nicer (which is likely true as it was a bit rocky here) but we did not see any resorts there that had large private pools and private access to the beach as Zanzi Resort did. We're definitely glad we stayed here! The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well-maintained. We also liked that there were kayaks, bikes and snorkeling equipment available and tried them all. The staff was very accommodating and arranged for us to have a private dinner on the beach one evening. We had most our meals at the resort and enjoyed them all. Thanks to Katherine and Christian for a quiet and relaxing time in Zanzibar! Also, we were flying out later in the evening and we were able to stay in our room until 5-6pm which was greatly appreciated before our long trip home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed 6 nights here in april of 2014. From the beginning, the Zanzi Resort staff was extremely accommodating. Our flight into Zanzibar was delayed by twelve hours, yet they were extremely flexible and still had a taxi waiting for us upon arrival at midnight. The property is beautiful beyond a doubt, and the daily staff is very friendly. All the meals were magnificent, and they accommodated my wife's dietary preferences with no issues.

There is no other resort on the island that will offer you the same level of privacy and service that you will find at Zanzi. While there are some interesting sites to see on the island, you will find it difficult to pull yourself away from the resort to see them.

Finally, the management team and the hotel staff are superb. Everybody was always ready to strike up a friendly conversation, and it really added to the experience of the trip.

Room Tip: Villa 4 was extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.