We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - Katherine and crew go out of there way to make your trip perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzi Resort to your Saves list
Zanzi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kama, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon Package
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel - Katherine and crew go out of there way to make your trip perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My fiancee and I had just gotten enaged before coming to the resort. We spent 5 nights there and both managers and the Staff went out of there way to make it perfect! We chose the HB option and had one dinner at the restaurant, one on the beach, one in the villa and one on our own private beach - all were excellent in terms of service, setup and quality of food.

Room Tip: check out Villas 4 or 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
108
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place is the perfect place for honeymooners, or just a romantic getaway, we came here in the last 2 days of our trip to relax and spend sometime together, and it was the right place
It consist of 7 detached villas ONLY, which helps to makes you feel isolated from others
This hotel gives you the feeling and get treated on one to one bases, the last night was a live singing and barbecue, perfect last night on the island

Pros:
- management and staff are super helpful
- rooms are always clean, even the night before our early checkout
- total privacy
- nice themes
- private swimming pool is cleaned and serviced regularly per each villa
- almost all your requests can be done
- the sunset from the beach is very romantic
- the beach is very isolated as the place is surrounded by military camps from both ides, which makes it super safe
- the land where the hotel here is full of trees and plants, and if you have good eyes, you can spot many types of birds, chameleons, etc
- you feel safe more than any part on the island (although everything here is safe)

Cons:
- very isolated, if you are after activities, this is not the place
- the beach is very small and the remaining is rocky
- the brochures of 3rd party tours are over priced compared to the market

Room Tip: All rooms are the same with total privacy, ask the management before you come, and they will help yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is unique. You have your own private pool and your private "piece" of beach, I have never heard about any place like that. And if it was not enough to call this resort as unique and excellent, the staff is superb. The manager (Kate) is very nice, very professional and extremely committed to her guests satisfaction, the waiters also are very corteous and efficient (Abdul, Jah and Tamara) are the best waiters I ever had. Although it is a expensive place, it worths what it charges.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A beautiful small resort embedded in a wonderful garden not far away from Stone Town. Nice villas in african style with all amenities for a luxury stay with its own garden and private pool. Excellent food, no fixed time to eat, whenever you feel hungry you can eat in the main building or in your villa. The Managers Christian and Katja read every wish from your eyes, all staff are very friendly and helpful. They even teach you how to play the bao game :-). We had an excellent time and can highly recommend a stay in the Zanzi Resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My new wife and I had the privilege of experiencing the most exquisite four nights you can ever dream of. We happened to be on a honeymoon, however this place is perfect for those who aren't either. What it is perfect for is anybody who loves nature, intimacy, love, soul, care, thought, five star without the pretentiousness, excellent food and wines at your own timings, brilliant customer service, privacy, and not last but not least, a bucket of fun! If you are a person who does not like huge, big, sterile resorts - then Zanzi Resort is for you!!!!!!!!! Its the complete opposite to a usual resort, it is just simply bliss.

Katherine and Christian really know how to run the best hospitality in the world. Katherine is amazing with guest relations, making you feel right at home. Christian has the restaurant and beverages down pat. Unbelievable efforts by both.

During our stay, we did not once tire of eating breakfast in our own private villa on our own private beach and pool! I mean, how could you?! Outstanding service and food and serenity.

We usually get a little tired of eating at the same place day in and day out, but not here!!! The food and variation each lunch and dinner is fantastic. And they bend over backwards if you feel like a little something different. There is never an issue at Zanzi Resort, they cater to your needs.

Zanzi Resort is a brilliant way to wind down after a hectic lifestyle or having just had a wedding. We are not the type of people to lay around all day and sun tan, we find this quite boring usually but somehow Zanzi Resort and the people put your mind into a really intimate space that just lets you relax, read, tan, swim, kayak, bike, whatever you wish! It's heaven, and before you know it, it's night time again and time for drinks again at your own private villa watching the sun set, in complete privacy.

All of the staff are so open minded, speak excellent English (for those that really get bothered, we don't!), and always go beyond the call of duty. In no particular order, Jamal, Jah, Timari, Youseff and Abdul create magic every time you see them - you really are the best hosts in the world and we wish them luck in the future. Even the other staff which you generally don't have as much contact with are so beautiful and charming.

Needless to say, Zanzi resort is utterly clean and modern. It's above 5 class. It will not fail to impress you, words cannot describe how this place delivered us the most beautiful start to our Honeymoon.

Thanks again Zanzi crew... Jarrod and Cristina.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing from what we could see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went to Zanziresort to rest a few days after an intensive working week in a nearby country. You will be welcome by Christian and Kat who will do everything to make your stay wonderful. You can ask them everything and they will make it (just be reasonable)... Then you will be awarded a villa : a peaceful place with your own swimming pool and private access to Indian Ocean. You will enjoy both... Even if you want to stay isolated from other, you can do it and nobody will disturb you in your private paradise. Hungry and/or thursty, just call and you will be delivered within next minutes. You want to work, no problem wireless access is everywhere in villa, restaurant. Even waiters and waitress are friendly : they will teach you Swahili language. I cannot say I am now fluent but I now know a few words.
But for sure, this is the perfect chic place for a wonderful romantic stay. Really hope to come back...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After a month of research of almost every resort there is on the island of Zanzibar, we finally decided to book Zanzi Resort. Final part of decision came from excellent guest reviews read on Trip Advisor. Thank you all for that, as we really had the time of our lives and Zanzi Resort totally lived to our expectations. It was not an easy task, since our trip there was not just a trip, but also our wedding - we wanted to get married in Africa, and did it in the resort. It was the first time Zanzi resort team organized a wedding and have to say they did a great job. From the moment we arrived we were pampered with great care by wonderful team of people working there. Christian - one of two managers and his personnel - Jamal, Yusuph, Emanuel and others were at our service 24/7. Apart from being totally charmed by beautiful garden, natural surroundings and villa itself above mentioned team of people really made a difference. Villas are comfortable, beautifully furnished in African style, but still with all advantages needed for luxury vacation. Villa garden and swimming pool are truly a bit of paradise lost. Everything is clean, secure and maintained on high level. We tried many local specialties - excellent, tasty cuisine. Rich breakfast was served to our villa every morning and we just could not get enough of freshly squeezed passion fruit juice. There are always small things to be improved, but all together it is a beautiful, unique Resort which we would recommend to all Zanzibar travelers looking for peace, luxury, romance and unique experience.

Room Tip: Out of all villas we choose villa nr.4 . Each villa has it's own charm, but this one is really s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.