We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming romantic place in the silence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzi Resort

Save Saved
You added Zanzi Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Zanzi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kama, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon Package
Ranked #2 of 143 hotels in Zanzibar
Annecy, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming romantic place in the silence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went to Zanziresort to rest a few days after an intensive working week in a nearby country. You will be welcome by Christian and Kat who will do everything to make your stay wonderful. You can ask them everything and they will make it (just be reasonable)... Then you will be awarded a villa : a peaceful place with your own swimming pool and private access to Indian Ocean. You will enjoy both... Even if you want to stay isolated from other, you can do it and nobody will disturb you in your private paradise. Hungry and/or thursty, just call and you will be delivered within next minutes. You want to work, no problem wireless access is everywhere in villa, restaurant. Even waiters and waitress are friendly : they will teach you Swahili language. I cannot say I am now fluent but I now know a few words.
But for sure, this is the perfect chic place for a wonderful romantic stay. Really hope to come back...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
76
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After a month of research of almost every resort there is on the island of Zanzibar, we finally decided to book Zanzi Resort. Final part of decision came from excellent guest reviews read on Trip Advisor. Thank you all for that, as we really had the time of our lives and Zanzi Resort totally lived to our expectations. It was not an easy task, since our trip there was not just a trip, but also our wedding - we wanted to get married in Africa, and did it in the resort. It was the first time Zanzi resort team organized a wedding and have to say they did a great job. From the moment we arrived we were pampered with great care by wonderful team of people working there. Christian - one of two managers and his personnel - Jamal, Yusuph, Emanuel and others were at our service 24/7. Apart from being totally charmed by beautiful garden, natural surroundings and villa itself above mentioned team of people really made a difference. Villas are comfortable, beautifully furnished in African style, but still with all advantages needed for luxury vacation. Villa garden and swimming pool are truly a bit of paradise lost. Everything is clean, secure and maintained on high level. We tried many local specialties - excellent, tasty cuisine. Rich breakfast was served to our villa every morning and we just could not get enough of freshly squeezed passion fruit juice. There are always small things to be improved, but all together it is a beautiful, unique Resort which we would recommend to all Zanzibar travelers looking for peace, luxury, romance and unique experience.

Room Tip: Out of all villas we choose villa nr.4 . Each villa has it's own charm, but this one is really s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent six nights at Zanzi resort following five days safari and one weeks stay at a five star resort on mainland Tanzania. We chose Zanzi after reading the trip advisor reviews, which sounded too good to be true. They were not!

If you are looking for relaxation, luxury accommodation and privacy in exotic surroundings with your own private beach and swimming pool, look no further. There are no set meal times here. You decide when and where you will eat, be it in the wonderful bar/ restaurant, in your villa or on the beach.

General managers Christian and Katherine made us feel very welcome from the moment of arrival until our departure. The staff are extremely well trained, service minded and happy to please. The resort functions very smoothly, like a well oiled machine.

The food at Zanzi resort was the best we experienced in Tanzania.

We highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for that little something special. We intend to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

the hotel itself is very well designed,very cooperative staff,the resort include 7 private villas with private swimming pool.
my problem was the creeping things which were a lot especially during night since the hotel is out of the city and located in the jungle beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal N, Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank You very much for your time and comment! We appreciate your opinion.
ZanziResort is situated on the west coast of the Island only in 14 km from Stone Town. It's one of the closest hotels to city center since it takes only 20 min drive from Resort to Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent the first week of our holiday diving in Mafia Island, then we came here to relax, and we did successfully! A truely immaculate place, nice grounds, lovely vilas, amazing private pool and beach area, a perfect paradise. The staff were all very helpful and did everything they could to make sure we had all we needed. The food was ace and we even had a meal served to us on the beach. You cannot not ask for much more, you want peace and quiet and luxury? Well you will find it all here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights in ZR after our safari in mainland Tanzania. We are a family of 5 with kids of 13, 11 and 8, and were given one villa (nber 5), on the sea, to accommodate all of us. This has been a perfect experience from the welcoming by both general managers (Katia, from Russia,and Christian, from Austria) and their trainee (Julia), The 3 of them being very present to please their customers. The villa is in perfect isolation, with private swimming pool and direct access to the sea. The resort is on the west coast, just north of StoneTown, so providing best possible views on sunset. The beach is certainly not as dreamy and sandy as on the north or east coast, but this more than compensated by the fact the the villa is on sea side, and you could directly jump in the water from the villa's garden, at high tide. Kids slept in the living room, where their beds were arranged during our dinner time, and removed every morning, making the entire villa fully available for all activities during the day. There is a very happy and efficient staff at Zanzibar resort, looking at each opportunity to please us, being charming with kids, while efficient in their service. Food was at European standards, with dinner menu with 2 choices for starter, main. If one of the options was not convenient for any reason, we could have the chef adapting for it with no issue. Katia was very helpful for organizing trips outside the resort, up to organizing free shuttle to the north coast, but also to Stone Town - 2 very nice attentions in the context of high luxury accommodations. In the resort itself, we borrowed kayaks to trip along the coast, and the resort provided all snorkeling materials. We did not try the massages at the resort, but they are provided by a professional Russian doctor, PHD in medicine and health massages.
We all left the resort with the sentiment of having spent 4 wonderful days in an exceptional little luxury resort. Well done to the ZR management team and staff! Asante sana!

Room Tip: Some villa's, including ours (5) are with direct access to the beach - to be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Zanzi Resort with our two young children for 12 nights and we just loved every moment there! The villas are gorgeous and beautifullly decorated, each with its own private swimmingpool, access to private beach, exotic garden and a stunning unspoiled sea view. The staff was so wonderfull and helpfull and they all went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable in every way imaginable. The dinners at the resort were sooo amazing, every single night a new, surprising and absolutely fantastic menu - DON'T plan on dieting here as the food is just too amazing to pass by!!! Service was always great and friendly, rooms clean and comfortable. Private beach dinners were absolutely fantastic, with the most gorgeous set up, flowers, candle lights, stars above and bush babies calling in the tree tops. Something to dream of when the dark, cold winter comes! Having been many wonderfull places on earth, this is without a doubt one place we want to come back to! A big thank you to Kat, Christian, Mr Marek, Yusuph, Abdul, Jah, Emanuel, Asha, Susan and our great driver Spiderman for making our visit to Zanzibar unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 143 hotels in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.