We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Private Paradise at Zanzi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzi Resort to your Saves list
Zanzi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kama, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 5 Stay 7 Nights
Ranked #2 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar
Dublin. ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Private Paradise at Zanzi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having thoroughly enjoyed a week at the Zanzi resort in March 2013, I would definitely recommend spending some time here if you are planning a visit to Zanzibar. It is located about 30 minutes from Stonetown, a good distance in that you are away from all the hustle and bustle of the main town but can easily visit should you want to. The drive to the resort is fascinating as you get to see some of the real Zanzibar.

Zanzi is perfect for those looking for complete relaxation and privacy. The villas are located only a short walk from the main restaurant/bar area but feel very secluded. We spent hours just lying out in our double outdoor bed reading and watching the ships sail by beside a private pool. Just sublime. We were lucky enough to stay in the honeymoon villa. The interior of our villa was fitted to a very high spec and kept immaculately clean by housekeeping. Louise ensured that the villa was allergy friendly too (non feather etc – as I am asthmatic so this is a very important consideration). All the villas are nonsmoking which is hard to find. Every day our bed was covered in gorgeous flower petal designs and they made a special effort for my birthday, which was wonderful. There was a working TV in our villa but we never used it (I noted someone else mentioned it in their review).

The staff at Zanzi couldn't be friendlier. You always feel very well looked after and any small issues that did crop up were swiftly dealt with by the resort manager Louise or her assistants. We found the staff in the restaurant fantastic - particular thanks to Jamal (and his game!), Asha and Immanuel as well as all the others who made our stay so very pleasant. The staff arranged a wonderful moonlit dinner on the beach on the night of my birthday, which I will always remember.

For us the only two aspects could possibly be improved on. Firstly, the cost of access to the main town (this may not be related to the hotel as there may be a monopoly on taxis etc on the island). Secondly it would be nice to have a little more choice on the dinner menus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
103
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jessheim, Akershus, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Zanzi Resort. It's truly the perfect place to relax and enjoy the amazing surroundings the resort provides. The villa, private pool, restaurant, food, waiters, cleanliness were above all expectations. Absolutely every single person who works there has been a pleasure to meet. They are all very friendly, helpful and wonderful people. Even fun too:-)

If you look for relaxation in a calm, beautiful and private environment - this is the place to go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal N, Director of Sales at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again.

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We could have asked nothing more of a holiday! It was amazing. The accommodation, resort gardens, the service, the food - 10/10. What makes it even more special is the individual attention of the excellent staff. Nothing is too much trouble. If you want the holiday of a lifetime, Zanzi Resort is the place to go! Private, peaceful, perfect.

Room Tip: Villa 4 - on the little headland, totally private, fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal N, Director of Sales at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again.

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is the best place I stayed at on Zanzibar (I stayed at the Mauru Mauru, the Hilton, and the Seacliff). Its gorgeous, food is great, and a really nice property. Its well managed also. The only downside was that the TV was not working, and the air-conditioning in the main part of the villa was not working, and the staff had to have an electrician come at night while I was at dinner. Well, when I cam back, he and five others were still there, and they reaked of sweat and really smelled the place up, and this was at like 9pm, so not a good ending to that day. Otherwise though, it was really a beautiful villa and you've got to expect a hiccup like that now and then. I highly suggest it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My partner and I had a really great stay at Zanzi resort. We were looking for somewhere to relax and this was simply perfect.
The staff were amazing; so friendly and helpful, they made us feel so welcome and like a part of their family.
The food was fabulous!
The villa was great; very modern, clean and comfortable and the private swimming pool was amazing!
We really had such a great stay and have already been recommending it to all of our friends.
Thank you Zanzi staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal N, Director of Sales at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again.

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We are impressed with the quality of the resort. Very quiet and relaxing place. Not too many villas which offer great privacy. It's moving the level of resorts in Zanzibar to a whole new level. Very professional and friendly staff. Katia, the hospitality manager is very friendly and professional and taking care of everything including the finest details. We highly recommend it and sure we will come again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was there with my husband on a honeymoon in February. The resort was simply amazing, very good food, qualified staff, unique seaside view and your own beach! I even had a chance to eat papaya tree directly from the tree in my garden:-) Simply awesome!!! HIghly recommanded!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Many Thanks for your review, it is most welcome !

I have very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken home some wonderful memories - even if they do included eating papaya trees - Karibu sana !

We hope to see you again soon

Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.