We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzi Resort to your Saves list
Zanzi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kama, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon Package
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent last holiday in the wonderful Zanzi Resort. Place special in every way. You can see everywhere the attention to detail in the artistic appearance of the hotel. Villas are large, wonderful, surrounded by fabulous gardens. Chef is an artist. Clean and tidy and the service clearly sought to satisfy us. The only request I have would be to increase the size of the cups for tea. Please change these with larger size, because many people like in the morning larger cup of tea. I think that this place is great for couples who want to have more privacy or even newlywed. Keep up the good work and standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Many Thanks for the time you have taken to review the resort after your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback.

We have noted your comment regarding the size of the teacups and will certainly take this into consideration for the comfort of our future guestss

We hope that we will see you again on the island and of course at Zanzi Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
107
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Zanzi Resort and would definitely go back in a heartbeat. The place is amazing and we watched the most beautiful sunset from the resort's canoe.
We loved our private pool (even though the hydrotherapy jets didn't work properly) and the staff were really lovely and friendly and did try very hard. Although they lack the seamless service that you see at true 5 star places. Our biggest complaint is that the double beds are not really double beds - they are two single beds joined together and apparently there is only one villa in the whole resort that has a proper King bed. For honeymooners, this is obviously not ideal at all. The other thing we noticed is that the air conditioning didn't work too well so we were sweltering inside the villa.
We enjoyed the food - it was pretty decent and lovely having it served at our villa - very romantic. The breakfast we ate was also delicious! Love the hashbrowns.
I would say that the staff need to work on their service a little bit. For example, we were checking out and we really wanted to enjoy a swim in the pool before we went but when we got back to the room from breakfast, the pool was being cleaned. when we asked how long it would take, they said another 20 minutes. By the time he was finished, we basically had to check out. Also, the staff were a little forgetful of our food orders, but this wasn't a bit deal.
All in all, we did love our stay. We just think that there are a few things they could work on. we would definitely recommend it to others and Louise was very helpful and accommodating, and as I said, the staff were lovely. We left happy customers.

Room Tip: Don't choose villas 1, 2 or 3. They don't seem to have as good a view as the ocean, nor do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many Thanks for your review of our property. We welcome all feedback from our guests as this is how we can improve our standards and service levels

Our staff are from the local community and we provide training for them on an ongoing basis. They are most eager to assist and are extremely friendly with our guests. Perhaps we need to consider that this is not continental Europe and the pace here is a relaxed as one find's on an island off Africa.

Of our 7 villas 4 have King size beds and 3 have twin beds. Our Honeymoon suite has a King Bed, however this is usually booked well in advance for guests staying a number of days. Unfortunately at the time of this booking, this was not avaliable.

As these guests had only booked an overnight stay we feel that this was not sufficient time to enjoy all the beauty of the resort and its surrounds and hence the feedback. Villa's 1, 2 and 3 are ususaly reserved for families with children as they are seperate from the romantic honeymoon suites and those booked by couples for a number of days getaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived very late and were picked up by the driver from the resort. The last 3km to destination the road in jungle was extremely roof and dark so we were a bit scared. I have never been delivered to the 5 stars hotel such a bad way. When the big wooden doors were closed we had been met by a woman-manager that introduced us the resort and our villa. The villa was really nice with private pool and stairs just down to the ocean-this was the first and the last positive impression we felt during our 2 weeks staying at the resort. The ocean was not clear at this part of the island and also a lot of low tides prevent me from swimming. Next morning and all others we got eggs prepared in various ways for breakfast. According to the information from the hotel’s website the cuisine should be very flexible and depends on the gests request. I asked for some dairy product it was accepted but nothing had been done till our leaving. There was no safe box in the villa instead of this only its manual was placed on the shelf of the wardrobe. When I told to manager Luisa about that she said “Really?” and nothing happened till the end. Dinner was by the 3 curses set menu and quite often we take sup because no any other starters were offered. Cuisine was very ordinary. Once we met chef and asked him to prepare lobster for the dinner. He done but it was dry and not delicious. Despite we paid for HB most of the dinners we had in different restaurants of Stone Town. Stuff was very friendly but not well trained I would say a bit stupid. They usually forgot the order or confused with something. Once we had been waiting the lunch for 2 hours and finally were informed that there was no beef for hamburger at the kitchen supply. The cost of transfer to Stone Town and back is increadable-100 USD despite it is 15 km to drive. Taxi fare was 20 USD but it was not allowed to hire because Manager said they had special agreement with the transport company.
So if you like eggs do not care about cuisine, bear stuff mistakes, as you in 3 stars hotel and for all this ready to pay more than 500 USD per night –it is your resort

Room Tip: take villa 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We thank you for your review of our resort, all feedback is most welcome and it is in this manner that we can improve our offering for future guests.

Zanzibar is a small tropical island filled with plantations and natural forest vegetation and it is exactly through a small part of this natural forest that our guests travel before they reach our private and secluded resort. It is certainly safe and the local village forms part of this drive to our resort

We certainly offer a high standard of cuisine and our chefs have international experience as well as showcasing the local cuisine. Our breakfasts offer a range of pastries from our pastry chef each day as well as freshly baked bread, Eggs are certainly part of the hot breakfast but by no means are the only item on offer. Platters of fresh fruit from the plantation as well as other salad items from our own gardens, cheeses and hot breakfast items are to be had from the menu.

Our service staff are local island folk and most helpful and offer a warm island welcome to all our guests. While there may sometimes be a little hesitancy when guests from foreign countries with heavy accents speak with them, they are by no means stupid ! Perhaps our guests need to embrace the local culture and relax sufficiently to enjoy the magic of the island.

Our chefs meet with the guests each day to equire regarding special requests or to plan a magical dinner in the privacy of their villa or on the beach with candles and lanterns and the sound of the sea as a backdrop. Unfortunately some guests do not wish to take part in these special moments and miss out on the natural beauty and rhythm of the island and the resort

We take our guests safety and comfort very seriously and therefore suggest the services of the islands most reputable excursion and transfer service. We are satisfied that they carry the necessary insurances to cover our guests in transit and that their drivers and guides are trained to a high level of service with many foreign languages to ensure the comfort of the guest. Obviously guests are free to make their own arrangements with local drivers, however they do not all carry our endorsement.

Again, we thank you for your feedback and have taken note of the operational issues that you have mentioned. They have all been addressed and we thank you for bringing them to our attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumbawa, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We just spend a week in Zanzi Resort and we had one of the best holidays ever. We travel a lot for business and stay in many good hotels and resorts, but the Zanzi is really affordable luxury. You get this five star feeling straight away when you get there and there is no mistake about this. The staff is friendly and everything is very beautiful. It is new resort but the owners really considered every detail and they make you feel so relaxed at every stage of your stay. Accommodation was lovely with a spacious room, beautiful view and prompt and efficient room service. You can let your imagination go wild, how you want to use the privet pool…. Great service in the restaurants also, great beach...
What else could I say! Everything is great. I wish all the luck and best wishes to my new friends the Zanzi.
Definitely will stay there again.
Recommend 100%
Janusz & Elizabeth Kania
Indonesia

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We had change to stay there only two nights... However this was time in paradise. Great Villa with private pool gave outmost relaxation on earth. Beautiful relaxing garden and beach gave its calming atmosphere. Both in restaurant and room service food was delicious and very friendly staff.
When you look for resort in Zanzibar, this should be your no1 selection! High value for money!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I went to Zanzi Resort with my wife for 10 days. We had such a relaxing time!
I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the view. Really great about the resort is the privacy we had, staying in our own villa felt so comfortable. We had our own pool and our own garden. Simply amazing! The staff was friendly as well, nothing to complain about. Conclusion: Great holiday

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal N, Director of Sales at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I consider Zanzi Resort as one of those places that are truly relaxing :))The Resort is located about 30 minutes from Stone Town. There are only 7 villas so it is not your usual crowded resort, which is just what I was looking for. We have experience a sense of peace and absolute privacy. Our Villa was of an excellent standard in its furnishings and luxurious comforts. We were right on the edge of the beautiful Indian Ocean - several steps and you are already in the water !!! :))) The tides are wonderful to experience and your private beach yields many forms of sea life, and the coral reef is only 80 meters away from the shore and provides some interesting snorkeling and swimming. The beach is private so you are not bothered by Beach Boys and can relax in privacy. The Hotel offers excursions all around the island, as well as being connected to a very reputable Scuba Diving Operation, with exceptional Dive Sites around the North and East of the island. Overall I would rate this hotel - and our stay - 5/5. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.