We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Tropical Lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upendo

Upendo
Michamvi, Tanzania
+255 777 244 492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 169 Restaurants in Zanzibar
Cuisines: African, Asian, Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a bar , lounge & restaurant located on one of the most unique and beautiful spots in zanzibar. We serve all day every day an are known for good quality cuisine (international) cooked fresh to order. We take pride in our food & service as well as creating a special atmosphere. We have a wide selection of dishes to suit all pallets & budgets but we do not rush you! We have a main pool area and sun deck that are complimentary for those staying or dining with us. There is FREE wifi on site as well.We also offer accommodation in form of a luxury private villa & beach bands.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lazy Tropical Lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I go about twice monthly. Excellent view of the Rock, great place for a lazy day right on the beach, with soft cushions and shelter, overlooking castor sugar sand. Cool to trace music on Sundays, with a different specials menu every week. Great hospitality from Trish and Anna.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A wonderful dining experience awaits at this beautiful location. The atmosphere is just what is required for Sunday brunch, with helpful and friendly staff to compliment the great food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is beautiful and the food is superb. The music on a Wednesday evening is good as the have a DJ playing, Clint Lox, who is excellent. There is also a lovely pool for when the tide is out!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Highlight of the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Relaxed, chilled and funky. Totally love this place. Excellent value, fabulous menu and really cool atmosphere. Sunday brunch provides a DJ which is a nice touch but we preferred to wait til after 4pm when normal menu resumed as the choice was too limited on brunch menu. Even had proper toilet roll and Heinz ketchup!
Walked up from our hotel when the tide was out which was a nice 3k walk spotting crabs/shells etc.
Was seriously underwhelmed with the rock I would highly suggest visiting upendo's instead where the view of the rock far outweighs the actual experience itself.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great atmosphere andlovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stopped here for lunch whilst driving round the island, and have to say the service was incredibly slow, but then again is is that kind of place and you just chill out, enjoy the view and relax! When it arrived, the food was delicious, and you really can't beat the views and atmosphere. Amazing chocolate brownies!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upendo also viewed

Michamvi, Zanzibar
 

Been to Upendo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upendo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.