We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upendo

Upendo
Michamvi, Tanzania
+255 777 244 492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 178 Restaurants in Zanzibar
Cuisines: African, Asian, Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a bar , lounge & restaurant located on one of the most unique and beautiful spots in zanzibar. We serve all day every day an are known for good quality cuisine (international) cooked fresh to order. We take pride in our food & service as well as creating a special atmosphere. We have a wide selection of dishes to suit all pallets & budgets but we do not rush you! We have a main pool area and sun deck that are complimentary for those staying or dining with us. There is FREE wifi on site as well.We also offer accommodation in form of a luxury private villa & beach bands.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Highlight of the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Relaxed, chilled and funky. Totally love this place. Excellent value, fabulous menu and really cool atmosphere. Sunday brunch provides a DJ which is a nice touch but we preferred to wait til after 4pm when normal menu resumed as the choice was too limited on brunch menu. Even had proper toilet roll and Heinz ketchup!
Walked up from our hotel when the tide was out which was a nice 3k walk spotting crabs/shells etc.
Was seriously underwhelmed with the rock I would highly suggest visiting upendo's instead where the view of the rock far outweighs the actual experience itself.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great atmosphere andlovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stopped here for lunch whilst driving round the island, and have to say the service was incredibly slow, but then again is is that kind of place and you just chill out, enjoy the view and relax! When it arrived, the food was delicious, and you really can't beat the views and atmosphere. Amazing chocolate brownies!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A great initiative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Upendo is a women's cooperative and they train women to tailor locally manufactured fabrics into beautiful affordable garments. We asked to have a look around and were shown the dressmaking school, the workshops and the shop outlet. The initiative is empowering women to be self sufficient and to provide for their families. Excellent work in a friendly, bright environment.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, HaMerkaz, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Didn't eat the food, enjoyed the place and the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

it's a really nice place to go and chill out, the beach has so many different kinds of shells to collect and look at, if you go up the beach (left) you can find fisherman coming up the beach with fish you can buy as fresh as can be. the pool is chill and cool, the passionfruit juice was ok but over priced.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cozy, Funky, Chill out..Upendo is really polyhedric.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I discovered Upendo on a week day and I enjoyed the chilling atmosphere, the good food and the nice pool overlooking the ocean. Then i went back on Sunday and I enjoyed socializing dipped in the funky vibe of the Brunch day with Dj set. So here i was, back again for the third time and Upendo was something different once again. The concept is very cool: there are rooms and a house to rent with the possibility of having private chef and learning the local cuisine. The location is beautiful and the food have not disappointed me once. Very nice selection of cocktails too. Only down side: if you are if you're hungry prepare yourself with a lots of patience 'cause the waiting time is quiet long. But still..in the main time you can enjoy the company of a perfect lady of the house and a couple of drinks. Perfect to spend the day and chill with friend, in couple, with family or as solo traveler.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upendo also viewed

 

Been to Upendo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upendo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.