We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent romantic destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cliff Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sea Cliff Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   | Mangapwani, P.O. Box 1763, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent romantic destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Its like a diamond in the rough while driving to it. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. They do everything they can to make as comfortable as possible. The food was amazing with a huge variety at dinner. Sunsets on the beach were wonderful. The cocktails do tend to be made with extra alcohol but was still very tasty. The facilities are well kept and also cater for people who wish to relax or the active. They were so sweet in wishing my girlfriend happy birthday by baking a cake and even arranging flowers and leaves saying "Happy Birthday" on the bed. Best chef in Zanzibar!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Jambo !

How lovely to read your review this morning. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and most especially the birthday celebrations. Have a wonderful festive season and we hope to see you again next year to celebrate another birthday or an even bigger celebration 'wink wink' ;)

Karibu sana
The TEAM - Sea Cliff Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    122
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
81
246
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

From the drive through zanzibar by sea cliff drivers to the hotel. Wowwww. Simply amazing. The welcome from the staff, management simply awesome. The food very very very nice, wide selection of well prepared meals, the sites you behold, the vars, the restsurant at the jetty. You cant go wrobg with this destination. The rooms, the spa and the very great worldclass treatments.

My family and i cannot hesitate to recommend Sea Cliff to those seeking the very best.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Jambo Family N !

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, Zanzibar. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday and are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations at the resort.

Enjoy the rest of the festive season and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day to Zanzibar and most especially to come and spend some time with us again.

Karibu sana
The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Excellent choice for honeymoon or getaway with friends. Very friendly staff and always available. The best cuisine and variety with awesome seafood and cocktails. Will definitely visit again in future.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms with Jacuzzi baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Zanzibar, honeymoons and romance is what it is all about!

Enjoy the festivities and we wish you a wonderful and prosperous New Year.

Asante sana
The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

December, 2013. We stayed here for 3 nights after a 11 day safari in Kenya and Tanzania. The safari was wonderful but busy so we wanted to relax. This certainly delivered. The hotel is right on the beach. The setting is amazing with wonderful sunsets. We were on half board so breakfast and dinner were included. The food was buffet so we could always find something we liked. It is a lovely resort. They offer horse riding on the beach for all levels of ability. My daughter and her boyfriend had a sunset ride and loved it.

Room Tip: We had a sea view spa suite which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Jambo!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The horses at the resort make for a most memorable experience, and we are so glad that you daughter was able to have that sunset ride - something really special.

Enjoy the festivities of this period and we wish you a wonderful and prosperous new year.

Asante sana
The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed on Sea Cliff a couple of months ago for the second time. Our last trip there was more than two years ago, shortly after it had first opened. The staff were pleasant, the grounds were spectacular and we enjoyed being able to use the kayaks and the tennis court. There were a couple of things that were not so great however.

This is certainly not a beach hotel although I don't think it's marketed that way. We cycled to the beach mid afternoon and found it completly empty. Eventually a security guard emerged and when we asked if there was any hotel staff there, he told us they had left around noon. There was a fridge containing drinks but it was locked and there were piles of scrap paper laying around on the shelf beside it leading us to believe that the beach was likely never used or even attended to. We promptly returned back to the main grounds of the hotel.

The food was also less than spectacular. My ceasar salad was swimming in dressing and the croutons were simply cut up pieces of soft bread. I ate a few bits and then called it a day. I also ordered a wrap with mango and chicken but there was so much sweet chili sauce on it, that it left the bread so soggy that it kept breaking apart. Needless to say, after a couple of attempted bites, I left it untouched. Since we were there on full board, it wasn't a huge loss but I would've been livid had a I had to pay the full price for the meals.

Overall, the hotel is gorgeous and we loved that there were a lot of extras to keep us busy if it was raining but the food was so disappointing this time around that we will probably not be returning.

Also, I rated the service as poor which I realize might seem a bit harsh but we often waited ages and ages for our food, our drinks, etc. even when it was just two bottles of beer. While the staff certainly tries their best, they are not the most prompt when I compare it to hotels worldwide.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Jambo !

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our resort. It is certainly not great to read that you had such a difficult time with us, and that the standards set were not matched or addressed at this time, as this is certainly not what the Sea Cliff Resort & Spa experience is all about. We would have been only to happy to correct and investigate the service issues on site, however, we have taken all points mentioned seriously and will address them with our TEAM.

If you do decide to visit Zanzibar in the future, we would be delighted to offer you a return stay, even for a short while in between your travels.

Karibu sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Welcomed by watermelon punch drink, warm smiling faces, on boarding had a Wow factor in it. Sea cliff has a great sea facing room, sporting facilities, traditional heena drawing, SPA services that one must experience and delicious food. I loved the infinity pool facing the sea, cant get the view out of my mind! I would like to express my debt of gratitude to Maggi who is very humble and helpful and most importantly got back to me promptly on all the information asked. Asante sana Maggi and team for making our stay memorable. I cant wait to come back! Highly recommendable place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Jambo !

What more can we way but Karibu sana !

We look forward to welcoming you back to our bit of paradise. Thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

Until another time,
The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Amazing venue, friendly service, good food...... Great weather...Definitely recommendable. Awesome honeymoon destination. Very clean. No real beach, but that is fine, there is enough swimming pools. Everything is just perfect.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Jambo Cobus

What a fabulous review ! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to satisfy your needs and requirements for your special holiday. Thank you for taking the time to write down your experience.

We look forward to you visiting us again one of these days.

Karibu sana
The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cliff Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Address: | Mangapwani, P.O. Box 1763, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#29 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar
#35 Luxury Hotel in Zanzibar
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Cliff Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driving into Sea Cliff Resort & Spa you know you have found something special. The 4 km road through a coconut plantation that leads to the hotel is a reminder of the Zanzibar of old. Peace and tranquility, no other hotels or busy roads just open space and palm trees.As you enter the courtyard filled with tropical flowers and palms the view of the ocean stands before you. With our traditional makuti roofs and Arabic towers lit by brass lights you know this is not a typical hotel. Its an hotel built with our location in mind. It is a unique combination of modern facilities mixed with the original exotic architecture of historical Zanzibar. Situated on our property is the first and only world-class 9 hold 18 tee golf course in Zanzibar. We boast a full size driving range, practice greens, Pro-Shop with all our golfing needs and apparel, clubs to hire, carts and Club House on the beach. A golf pro is in attendance at all times. Sea Cliff Resort & Spa really is the place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Cliff Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff Resort And Spa
Sea Cliff Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.