We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely an Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cliff Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sea Cliff Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   | Mangapwani, P.O. Box 1763, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Truely an Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I visited Sea Cliff twice. Ok I never stayed at the hotel, I was staying in Zanzibar and I took advantage of the daily entrance fee. You pay $20US and they deduct all your food and drinks from this balance. You can also spend more than the $20 and you just pay at the end of the day.

I enjoyed sitting by the infinity pools and walking around the beautiful grounds. This was a nice break from the rural community where I was staying.

They have a nice spa, restaurant and bar. Also they have two pools to enjoy. I know you can use the beach, but I only stayed on the resort grounds. It is also a great place to look at the Ocean and enjoy the beautiful views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review about your experience at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa.

Our entire team works very hard to ensure all our guests are well looked after and I will ensure that your compliments are shared with everyone.

We hope that your next visit will include our accommodation facilities.

Once again, thank you for your time.

KARIBU TENA!

Best Regards

Abre Esterhuizen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    122
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
81
246
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is just amazing.
The location of the hotel is very nice, very clean and the crew is extremely friendly.
I stayed in this hotel for 4 days and did not find a single glitch.
The activities in the hotel are quite rich and the food is just excellent.

The only thing that is not really top is the beach.
If you are willing to swim, you need to go to another beach because of the low tide.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at Sea Cliff Resort and Spa. It is great to know that you had such an enjoyable time and that you’ve enjoyed the facilities on offer.

Our Location is ideal for exploring the rest of the island, unfortunately, the West Coast is known to be affected by the tides which sometimes does not allow for ideal swimming conditions. We are pleased to hear that you experienced some of the other beaches the island is known for.

We hope to welcome you back to Sea Cliff Resort & Spa.

KARIBU TENA!

Best Regards

Abre Esterhuizen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 night after Kilimanjaro climb and Safari.
"+":
plenty of space - no problem with place either on the beach/pool or during meal time
good service - with mosquito sprinkling at nights
variety of regular sports – tennis, table tennis, squash, bikes, american pool – all free
and water sports – catamaran, kayak, pedal and motor (paid) sports

"-":
during low tide swimming only in the pool
No Serengeti beer


Note for visitors:
water sports (especially Catamaran) should be booked a day before (fill-ip quickly)
Shuttle to town is free but only ONCE during a week
front seats on the deck (for picture taking) at the are occupied 30-40 minutes before sunset
for acrobats night seat closer to the scene – they are amazing
sea view rooms are not necessary – sunset from the deck is better

Notes for Manager:
if you add another person at the deck for 30 minutes before sunset bar sales could rise – I saw some people leaving before being served an order
the guard at the beach could be more active by keeping “Captain Hassan&Co” off the property – less troubles for clients and excursion/gifts sale at the hotel would rise

PS:
Special thanks to Maggie – reservation manager. Even with close to full occupancy she found an alternative room so that we enjoyed the late checkout

Room Tip: We stayed for 3 night after Kilimanjaro climb and Safari. "+": plenty of space - no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at Sea Cliff Resort and Spa. It is great to know that you have such an enjoyable time and that you’ve enjoyed the facilities on offer.

We are always glad to receive feedback from our guests and although there were some 'cons' to your review, it sounds like overall a good time was had. Your points have been taken into consideration with regards to beach security and an extra hand at our jetty bar.

Once again, thank you for your valuable review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Abre Esterhuizen
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went on holiday with the wife-beautiful setting - warm sea- excellent hotel amenities - top class spa.

Buffet breakfast and dinner good -

Ask for a sea facing room and take the fully inclusive package - worth every cent- love Zanzibar

Room Tip: Always take the sea facing room and pay the extra for an all inclusive package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, Front Office Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
It was wonderful to have you with us and I hope to welcome you both back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future.

Stay warm during the JHB winter.

Karibu Sana !

Kerry Stokes
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent 7 days at Sea Cliff Resort for our honeymoon in May 2013 - what a marvellous experience! The resort itself was quiet when we were there (low season) but the staff were efficient and very friendly. A special thanks to Boniface and Amran for teaching us some Swahili and generally providing out of this world service!

Our room was beautiful, especially since we were upgraded to a sea-facing suite. The available facilities are very good, and the two swimming pools provide ample space for swimming and lounging. The jetty bar is a must for sundowners and swimming. The evening entertainment was great fun - most of the acts went to a lot of trouble to involve the audience in their acts!

The honeymoon extras arranged through our travel agent were amazing. The seafood dinner (comprising some monster-sized lobsters, prawns, calamari and fish) was delicious, the couples massage was one of the best I've had, and the coffee table book we received is informative and beautiful to display at home.

The only downside was the service in the restaurant. On buffet nights it was fine, but on a la carte nights we sometimes had issues finding a waiter to take our order. If you come from a country with a bad dollar exchange rate I would definitely recommend taking the all-inclusive option, as drinks and snacks are not cheap.

All in all our honeymoon was exactly what we wanted. Thanks to all involved - I would recommend the Sea Cliff Resort to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, Front Office Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

It was a pleasure to be a part of the start of your new lives together and we are so delighted you enjoyed your honeymoon. Congratulations once again. I will DEFINITELY pass on your praise to the rest of the team, in particular Boniface and Amran.

Our apologies for the poor service you experienced in the restaurant. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, your comments are taken seriously and help us to improve our shortcomings.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back, in the not too distant future.

Karibu Sana!

Kerry Stokes
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Well done to the staff and management of Sea Cliff. The resort and grounds are impeccably kept, the staff is exceptionally friendly and management is always attentive. We were on half board, which was more than enough for the whole day, but the light meals at the pool were just too inviting. We all loved the variety of food at every meal, especially the fact that you can actually make up your own meal for breakfast and supper by combining raw vegetables and meat/ chicken and have it cooked/ stir fried to your liking. Personal tip: the omelettes are stunning.

The sports equipment (catamarans/windsurfer/ canoes) are in great working order and the bicycles very good. Spoil yourself and go there.

Room Tip: No need to get a sea view room. Gardens are stunning and you spend most of your time on the jetty/ b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to receive your review and to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sea Cliff Resort and Spa.

It’s always good to hear when GUESTS find our resort to be of such high standard as we pride ourselves in delivering the best. It’s always encouraging to receive such positive feedback and my TEAM and I are very glad to know that you found our hotel of such comfort.

WE hope to welcome you back to our little spot of paradise in the near future.

Best Regards

Abre Esterhuizen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The property is breathtaking. The pools are awesome. The sunset deck is out of this world. This hotel is well suited for couples who want to get away on a romantic break or anyone seeking relaxation out of the hussle and bussle of thier daily routine. The hotel offers a shuttle 2 x a day to stone town which was great if you needed to feed the shopping urge.

We had our fist dinner on arrival which was a disaster because they served al a carte. There seemed to not be enough food or everyone and we got the bottom of the pot scraps that were left because we arrived around 8pm. After speaking to the Food and Bev manager this was soon rectified and the rest of the meals were superb and losts of variety. I found it quite strange that this hotel does not serve any of their local tropical fruits which we were fortunate enough to taste on our tour which was a refreshing change.

The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel offers many activities for those who need to keep busy. All the staff were very helpful, however did not keep up the service when it came to towels in the bathrooms. We have to put through a request daily.

The Safari blue snorkelling trip is a must. The reef we saw was amazing with lots of different corals and sea life. The lunch that was included on this tour with the exotic fruit tasting was tremendous and I can recommend this.

As we have stayed in other 5 star accommodation we found that there was a lack of detail at Sea Cliff and in order for them to improve it would be nice to have a guest feedback form which we did not recieve on departure. I also felt that they could have done a little more on the rooms drops with some nice homemade biscuits to go with the tea and coffee stations in the rooms.

The spa and horseriding in particular are extremely expensive for South Africans. Their spa does not even offer any specials if you are in a group or want multiple treatments done and I sure was not going to pay R1000.00 for a pedicure!

Great place to stay - just little things that need attention to make it a true 5 star experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well situated. But if you want the cherry on the cake go for the sea facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, Front Office Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at SEA CLIFF RESORT & SPA!

We really appreciate your comments as it is important for us to know what we were doing right, but more importantly what we were doing wrong so as that we can ensure the best standards at all times.

I am glad that your overall experience was a good one and that your time at SEA CLIFF RESORT & SPA enjoyable. We are grateful for your suggestions and are in the process of implementing some of them.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our resort in the not to distant future.

Karibu tena!

Kerry Stokes
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cliff Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Address: | Mangapwani, P.O. Box 1763, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#29 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar
#35 Luxury Hotel in Zanzibar
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Cliff Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driving into Sea Cliff Resort & Spa you know you have found something special. The 4 km road through a coconut plantation that leads to the hotel is a reminder of the Zanzibar of old. Peace and tranquility, no other hotels or busy roads just open space and palm trees.As you enter the courtyard filled with tropical flowers and palms the view of the ocean stands before you. With our traditional makuti roofs and Arabic towers lit by brass lights you know this is not a typical hotel. Its an hotel built with our location in mind. It is a unique combination of modern facilities mixed with the original exotic architecture of historical Zanzibar. Situated on our property is the first and only world-class 9 hold 18 tee golf course in Zanzibar. We boast a full size driving range, practice greens, Pro-Shop with all our golfing needs and apparel, clubs to hire, carts and Club House on the beach. A golf pro is in attendance at all times. Sea Cliff Resort & Spa really is the place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Cliff Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff Resort And Spa
Sea Cliff Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.