We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Bliss decade honeymoon"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cliff Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sea Cliff Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mangapwani, PO Box 1763, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Kitwe
1 review
“"Bliss decade honeymoon"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent 5 nights at sea cliff resort it was memorable. The staff are so friendly you feel welcome the moment you are making a booking(Yvonne)and until you leave the hotel. The staff always went an extra mile to serve us beyond our expectation.
It was our 11th Wedding anniversary but being at Sea cliff was just like our first honey moon. The food was scrumptious there was never a day not to make your mouth water. I even forgot about my weight watch.
The Gym has excellent equipment, the pools are lovely. Everything about this place was excellent.
We will be back to Sea Cliff for our family vacation.

Maureen and Saidi

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    107
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
74
221
22
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

this hotel is amazing me and my 11 year old stayed 9 nights mid oct the weather was great and the hotel and staff 1 st class the food was excellent and the sunsets stunning we had a lovely time my thanks to all the staff Riaan all the waitresses an mosses at the bar made us very wellcome

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Sea Cliff is a great resort in every way. The views are simply stunning. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, there service is way beyond excellent. I would like to point out Riaan, and some of the waitresses: Grace, Samera and Neema. The room was a reasonable size and we had a sea view or superior room with a balcony that felt very private and has a great sea view. For breakfast and dinner there was a good variety of food. They pay attention to detail at the resort, the decor is well throught out and they add small elements like bowls of flowers and relaxing musci. There is a lot to do at Seal cliff, gym, tennis, squash, table tennis and a whole lot more to keep you busy should you not want to lay out by the pool. You have to walk to get to the beach and you cannot swim at the beach if the tide is low. We prefered to stay by the pool because it has sand and it is beautiful with great views of the ocean. The resort is only 20 minutes from Stone Town which makes it a great location. It is also close to the airport and several other points of interest. I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We were a bit further away from the pool area which I would advise. We were in 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Seychelles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Seven nights at the Sea Cliff Resort & Spa and it was just amazing. It gets better all the time guys - keep it up !!! Thank you for making this trip such a memorable one. Thanks to ALL the membes of staff for the excellent team work. The unplanned Sunset Cruise was just out of this world. Lusinda, Danny ... thanks heaps for everything !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Large property with clean fresh room -5 star standard. Lovely food and friendly staff. Entertainment is limited on some days. Best sunset in Zanzibar. They have a personal pier and a lovely place to relax and watch the sunset

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view. Best room 412 and 512
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Sea Cliff Resort & Spa is an incredible resort....so much more than shown in their website. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the property is designed to follow the curve of the sea. It has the feel of a small boutique hotel but as one explores there is a new discovery at ever turn. The common areas have an Arabian flair with the restaurant having indoor as well as outdoor seating.

We are here for five nights with a tour group going on safari. A perfect place for R & R after a long flight and before a safari. I would recommend for families, couples, business meetings...anyone who enjoys a serene setting with plenty of amenities....nice play area for children with small climbing wall and trampoline, horses for riding, bicycles, racket ball or handball court, tennis courts, pool tables, two swimming pools, jacuzzi, state of the art work out area and a spa for massage and other treatments.

The rooms are beautiful, the food is delicious and plentiful and the staff is happy to serve you and very friendly. If you are looking for an exceptional beach resort in Zanzibar...look no further!

Room Tip: Very room 'must' have a beautiful view due to the design of the hotel. All have patios or ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a really great time, the hospitality the service from both staff and management was indescibable. My BFF had the time of her life it was her 40th birthday and every day was so so special, thanks to the staff. The rooms were lovely but outdoors was great, great dinning facilities great pier and infinity pool, lovely spar, bicycle rides, pool playing, evening entertainment and so much more, you will find yourself completely overwelmed by good service all the time. The service was just too too much we literally had to ask the guys to scale down it was over and obove what we anticipated. Go and have the time of your lives at the Sea Cliff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cliff Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Address: Mangapwani, PO Box 1763, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#25 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zanzibar
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Cliff Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driving into Sea Cliff Resort & Spa you know you have found something special. The 4 km road through a coconut plantation that leads to the hotel is a reminder of the Zanzibar of old. Peace and tranquility, no other hotels or busy roads just open space and palm trees.As you enter the courtyard filled with tropical flowers and palms the view of the ocean stands before you. With our traditional makuti roofs and Arabic towers lit by brass lights you know this is not a typical hotel. Its an hotel built with our location in mind. It is a unique combination of modern facilities mixed with the original exotic architecture of historical Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Cliff Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff Resort And Spa
Sea Cliff Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.