We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris & Nicolette - Honeymoon Couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cliff Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sea Cliff Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mangapwani, PO Box 1763, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chris & Nicolette - Honeymoon Couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Probably the best resort on the island. These guys run a tight ship. Cuisine is out of this world! Fresh fruits take some time to get used to. The pools and great view make up for the lack of beach. Staff are friendly and gives the whole experience that personal touch.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    107
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
74
221
22
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wow...where do I begin! From the moment we have set foot at the Hotel we have been treated like royalty. We had delicious welcoming-cocktails and from there we went to our room and all the fun begun.

We had the friendliest waiter, Captain Robert, who made sure all our needs are met and treated us with the greatest respect as well as Riaan, who made sure we were in good hands and were well looked after!

The service was just excellent as well as the buffet and our bedroom...and don't forget the cocktails :-)

If you are interested in going on some of the day-tours, go speak to Riaan and he will assist you. We would recommend the Blue Safari tour as this is so much fun being in the sun with the bluest water and snorkelling gear. This is really a must for anybody!!

We also went to the spa to relax even more which is also a great treat!

We would recommend this hotel to anybody...especially for Honeymooners...you are so well treated and also feel so special all the time!!!!! I think the best time to go is September-October as the resort is not so busy. If you have a bit of extra money, go for the full-board (all inclusive) option as this includes 3 meals per day and also all your drinks (coffee, cocktails and local alcoholic beverages).

We would love to go back oneday as we had the time of our lives and we can not thank the staff and management enough for the making our honeymoon so special!!! Akuna Matata!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Excellent hotel to go to with your family. We were pleasantly met with refreshments in the lounge overlooking the beautiful ocean. What a way to start off your holiday. The management and staff really go the extra mile. The hotel is very well laid out. They have excellent facilities to enjoy for young and old. Riaan and the staff (too many to mention) took every opportunity to meet every need and make our holiday as memorable and pleasant as possible. You are treated on a personal level and always felt comfortable and relaxed. The trips they arranged were really great. James (the tour operator they recommended) is really very good. Better than going with bigger tour operators that are too crowded. On one of the trips my daughter got stung by a Blue bottle Jelly and James went out of his way to treat and calm her. He literally carried her the whole day. Rafiki (meaning friend) as James called her will always have a very fond memory of our vacation because of him. The food was out of this world! Entertainment in the evenings was great! I have to say one of the best hotels we have ever visited! We stayed there for 3 weeks and were very sad when the last day arrived. I hope to visit again in the future and meet up with all the friends we made. Thank you from the Grobler family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were there for our 7th Wedding Annivessary. What a beauuuutiful place, breathtaking. It is made to make you feel sooo relaxed and at peace. The magnificent views, our room was picture perfect a deluxe room. We stayed 7days but we came back so refreshed. There's not much to do in Zanzibar but who cares... we enjoyed just lounging around the resort, da pool and evening entertainment as well was good. Enjoyed having breakfast with such a lovely view and compliments to the chef for the Seafood Platters prepared for us on our anniversary... The staff was all helpful. Riaan (F&B Manager was with us almost during all our meals and made sure we were taken care of and still keeps in touch still today... Danielle my dearest friend stay in touch gal, she kept me alive when I was sick.(lol), Lucinda thank you for everything and that extra massage went a long way.. That Asian Sports manager forgot his name .. wonderful guy was prepared to play pool with my husband at all times. Silvesta our brother from another mother keep shining bro and we will keep in touch and send our love to your family. We got James to take us around to all the other hotels in the Island and was happy to see that Sea Cliff was the Best of them all. I am a Wedding Planner and I will recommend this place to all my couples. If it wasn't so far and expensive we will be there every 2nd month. Definately was a great value for our money... Cons: The food not so great but I am a fussy eater, the room cleaning staff didn't impress me at all. But overall what a Paradise!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The perfect place for a honeymoon. We stayed in a superior room, and everything was superior. From the champagne and fruit in the room, to the wonderfull buffet breakfast and dinners, the facilities (tennis, pool, kayaks, snorkel gear), and the pools at the hotel.
Riaan, Adam, Zeena was so helpfull, and treated us like royalties. All the staff was always eager to help, and if we needed anything they helped us immediately (like emergency lunch packs for a excursion to coconuts for a snack). They even helped us to get presents for everyone back home. They also helped organise all our trips, with James and the other James, and we went to Nungwi (sea turtles) and Kendwa beach, Safari Blue (Kwale island), Prison Island, Stone Town.
The hotel itself was outstanding, with the rooms being wonderfull, the sport facilities, the restuarants and the nice bar on the jetty in front of the hotel, and the swimming pools. The personnel at the spa was also very friendly.
Thank you to all for helping make this an unforgettable trip.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a beautiful hotel with excellent service.
We recently stayed at Sea Cliff for our honeymoon and it was a very special time. From the first day when we walked into the hotel we were welcomed by friendly staff who made every effort to make our time feel special. All the honeymoon inclusions (couples massage, upgrade to a deluxe room, sea food dinner etc.) really made our time at Sea Cliff something to remember and was great value for money. Special thanks to Riaan (food and beverage manager) and Neema (waitress) for making our stay memorable and ensured that we did not lack anything for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for 9 days on our honeymoon. The hotel is in an idillic location with 2 infinity pools and a jetty bar. Being located on the west coast means you get to see the sunset every day which is simply brilliant.
The room was very high quality and housekeeping would come round at about 7pm every day to close the mosquito nets and spray the room to keep the little bugs out! very good service.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Those that stood out for our stay were Abdalla (porter), Hamad (evening waitor), Mkombozi (bar/pool waitor) and Nsajigwa (breakfast/lunch waitor). They all went over and above their standard duties to make our stay extra special.
The food was also superb. Each night they had a different theme for the food and although the themes were sometimes repeated, the actual dishes were always different. Therefore every day of our trip we were able to eat something different!
The range of sports activities they had there was also excellent. We had a great time trying to play tennis, table tennis and pool. However they also had watersports, squash, table football and board games available.

Overall we were extremely happy with our stay at Sea Cliff...but there is some small room for improvement hence the 4/5 rating. These are as follows:

1) On our first day we went to the beach. The beach is much smaller than we expected but this in itself was not a major problem. However the local "beach boys" were a pain. As a result we did not go to the beach much at all. Instead we stayed by the pools in the hotel, although the pools are exceptional so this was not much of a problem. I don't know how they would do it, but if they could remove the hassle factor from the beach, i'm sure more people would go there.
2) The evening entertainment was very good but it always stopped at about 9:30-10pm. While I like the fact there wasn't loud music going late into the night, it would be nice to have a bit more energy around the place at night.

The pros of this place far far outweigh the cons and I would recommend it to anyone :-)

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Superior room which was excellent. However the Deluxe rooms are the biggest wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cliff Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Address: Mangapwani, PO Box 1763, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#25 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zanzibar
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Cliff Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driving into Sea Cliff Resort & Spa you know you have found something special. The 4 km road through a coconut plantation that leads to the hotel is a reminder of the Zanzibar of old. Peace and tranquility, no other hotels or busy roads just open space and palm trees.As you enter the courtyard filled with tropical flowers and palms the view of the ocean stands before you. With our traditional makuti roofs and Arabic towers lit by brass lights you know this is not a typical hotel. Its an hotel built with our location in mind. It is a unique combination of modern facilities mixed with the original exotic architecture of historical Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Cliff Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff Resort And Spa
Sea Cliff Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.