We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cliff Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sea Cliff Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mangapwani, PO Box 1763, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 142 Hotels in Zanzibar
Mahe Seychelles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

What an awesome location !!! I was amazed by the friendliness of the staff - ever so helpful and always readily available. The breakfast and dinner spreads were just "extraordinaire". I enjoyed the horizon lit up at night time with hundreds of lights from the fishing boats - those same boats coming in early in the morning with their catch of fresh fish, octupus etc...
Congratulations to the Management and staff for making this trip such a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
We would like to thank you for your “magical” review about our Resort. I was delighted to read that my TEAM was there to look after you’re every need and that you enjoyed our buffets.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity again to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Abre Esterhuizen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    106
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
74
221
22
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent a week at resort and met amazing people, fellow travellers but most importantly the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff which include Danielle and Riaan in F&B Management, Sylvester the supervisor but most important the personal service we received from server's Aidan Kimalo and Josephine! Their special touches and attention to detail was the highlight of our trip! They truely deserve a raise and are true ambassadors to the Resort and Zanzibar!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about your amazing time at Sea Cliff Resort and Spa.

We constantly strive to meet and exceed GUEST expectations and we pride ourselves on the high levels of personalized service we offer.

I will ensure your comments are passed on to Aiden and Josephine as they will be delighted to hear that you valued their special touches.

Best Regards

Abre Esterhuizen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

What an experience! The sea view from the pool (whilst cocktail in hand) is breath-taking. The hotel staff was friendly, the room well equipped and the food was scrumptious. All in all, good value and an excellent holiday destination. Our holiday would not have been the same if it was not for our waiter Robert! He went above and beyond his normal duties and ensured that our every need was catered for. We were a little disappointed by the various excursions, and in future will stay only at the hotel as they have everything you could desire from an island holiday. Asante sana Robert!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the 1st floor have the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
I was happy to read that you had such a magical experience at our Resort and would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments about Robert are much appreciated and I will ensure this is passed onto him whilst we await the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

It is unfortunate that you found the excursions a bit disappointing; we will however pass this on to the tour operator handling these for their knowledge.

Best Regards

Abre Esterhuizen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, united kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

from the first moment till the very last we had a wonderful time, the hotel was wonderful, the grounds are spacious and wonderfully well kept and make everywhere feel special with flowers everywhere you walk, ALL the staff were very very attentive making you feel so special and welcome and nothing was too much trouble from getting pool towels before early morning trips out to getting an umbrella when a sudden shower arrived and always with a smile.
The food was fantastic, there was never a day (3 meals a day 14 days) when there was nothing to make your mouth water, the choice and quality was beyond expectation every day we looked forward to the days offerings and we were NEVER disappointed.
The hotel offers a free shuttle into Stone Town twice a day as long as you tell them in advance there's no problem hopping on which was great as we didn't want to spend all day in town the morning shuttle was just right.
We stayed in a Deluxe room which was amazing, the view from our patio was just out of a travel brochure and we spent early mornings drinking coffee and enjoying the view of the local fishing village till breakfast was ready, a perfect start to a perfect day (every day). The room was well equipped with refrigerator (water replaced every day) tea and coffee, T.V.( if you could drag yourself away from the view, ) the bathroom was very luxurious with separate large shower and a bath with a view! The double sinks were kitted out with everything you could need, body wash, shampoo,conditioner, moisturiser, toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, comb, soap shower cap, sewing kit and possibly more. The bed was wonderfully comfortable no mean feet as we both like different types of bed and neither of us had any problem sleeping.
I can honestly say the only complaint we had was that we had to come home! This was the best holiday we ever had and would go back again and again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
It was a pleasure reading your review about your recent time spent at Sea Cliff Resort and Spa and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I will without a doubt ensure that your feedback is passed on to the relevant Teams. Our Chef and his TEAM will be delighted that you enjoyed their culinary delights as well as our Housekeeping TEAM who took great care of your room every day.

We pride us on the high level of personalized service we offer to our GUESTS and we sincerely looking forward to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Sea Cliff Resort and Spa.

Best Regards

Abre Esterhuizen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

After a week long safari along the Serengeti, a large group of friends decided to enjoy the beaches of Zanzibar. However, our first location was under the standards of several of ladies in our company. They complained to the broker who then placed us in the Sea Cliff Resort.

Wow. The Sea Cliff Resort was truly fantastic. Beautiful pool right along the beach. You can take kayaks and other water craft out to neighboring islands filled with small critters. The view is tremendously beautiful.

The food at the resort is truly top notch for all meals. My only slight complaint is that the service may be a little too quick to pick up your plates and glasses so you'll have to get more food from the buffet, but that's not too big of a deal.

Lots of activities or simply hang by the pool / beach. The rooms are spotless with air conditioning, television, and WIRED internet (wireless did not reach our room).

Another complain is that due to the location on the island - other activities like scuba diving - require long trips and are at steeper prices than if you were staying at something in the north. Something to keep in mind if you are a diver.

All in all a great place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review about Sea Cliff Resort and Spa and would like to thank you for the positive comments received.

What was even more encouraging is the fact that even though you stayed with us in May 2011 you described your experience like it was yesterday which is great news for us.

I will ensure your comments are passed on to the Chef and his Team.

I did notice you comment about the dive centre’s and it might be of interest in future that there are dive centers across the island, the closes being Stone Town which is 30 minutes from our Resort l. This however all depends on the specific dive sites one intends exploring.

Best Regards

Abre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

what a beautiful well organised place, was there on honeymoon for 7 dys on an all inclusive package, it was the best and most efficient service i have experienced, everyone is willing to help, and everyone helps with a smile.

i highly recommend this place to anyone who needs pamper and a place to really really unwind, their facilities are really well looked after and of the best quality.

do yourself a favor and go there.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room, but the best room is the one above room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
It was an absolute pleasure reading your review and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We pride ourselves by continuously striving to provide friendly and efficient service and I am glad that had firsthand experience of this at the Sea Cliff Resort and Spa.

Keeping the facilities so well maintain could sometimes be a daunting task and I will ensure your positive comments are passed onto the TEAM members that are responsible as this will not just be of great encouragement but also a sign that their hard work is acknowledged by our GUESTS.

We do hope to welcome you back for some more pampering in the future.

Best Regards
Abre Esterhuizen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Decided to go a little out of ways to get a tiny break in my business schedule, and booked one night at the Sea Cliff.

While we had some difficulties at check in, they were instantly smoothed away by a member of the management team, Lucinda Nortje. She made us feel tremendously welcome and had resolved our issues in a matter of minutes.

All in all, this is one of the nicest hotels in Zanzibar - well kept, very clean, beautiful grounds, polite staff.

The only grip would be - there is no beach, but then the name suggests that :) Has 3 beautiful pools overlooking the Indian ocean, with a nice touch of having the loungers sit on sand, so it's almost as if you're on the beach.

I've actually gone down below the cliff, at low tide, to wade around a bit. Not impressed - the sea floor is all covered in seaweed and all manners of life forms, so it's better off to stay near the pool upstairs :)

A note to those who forget to pack things at home - the onsite store is ridiculously expensive - a pair of flip flops is $35 US!!! The excuse was - "but they're brand name". Well, I've never heard of that brand. Flip flops in town are $2, not $35. Sunscreen is another story - like the flip flops, but this time the "brand" is L'oreal. This is a low end brand, with cheap aftershaves and hair colour, not a premium one, to ask for so much money.

Generally speaking, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffManagement, General Manager at Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to post a review about your recent visit to Sea Cliff Resort and Spa.

Your comments were noted and I will ensure that its passed on the relevant people, especially Lucinda who assisted you on check in.

It’s encouraging to read your comments about our pools as these were carefully designed to compensate for the lack of direct beach access from the hotel, however it’s unfortunate that you were here for such short time in order for you to experience our private beach situated a mere 3 minute walk from the hotel.

I have noticed your comments about the onsite store which I will personally investigate and take up with the tenants who operates the store to ensure pricing is market related. Just as a matter of interest, the slops are in fact a popular brand name and their history dates back to a classical neighborhood south of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. These are very popular in Zanzibar because of their strong environmental and ethical influence that aims to preserve the natural beauty for generations to come which I believe in synonymous with the beauty of Zanzibar.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future and hopefully this time for a longer visit.

Best Regards

Abre Esterhuizen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cliff Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Address: Mangapwani, PO Box 1763, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#25 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zanzibar
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Cliff Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driving into Sea Cliff Resort & Spa you know you have found something special. The 4 km road through a coconut plantation that leads to the hotel is a reminder of the Zanzibar of old. Peace and tranquility, no other hotels or busy roads just open space and palm trees.As you enter the courtyard filled with tropical flowers and palms the view of the ocean stands before you. With our traditional makuti roofs and Arabic towers lit by brass lights you know this is not a typical hotel. Its an hotel built with our location in mind. It is a unique combination of modern facilities mixed with the original exotic architecture of historical Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Cliff Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff Resort And Spa
Sea Cliff Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.