We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cliff Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sea Cliff Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   | Mangapwani, P.O. Box 1763, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Nolloth,South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Service excellence everywhere.Friendly staff.Friendly management.Magnificent establishment!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    122
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
81
246
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Sea Cliff was located in a great area. It was North of the island in a nice remote area, but not so far away from Stone Town that the taxi ride would be overly expensive. Hotel provided transportation to/from airport. Great staff that was willing to work with our needs during our stay. A definite must if staying in Zanzibar.

Beautiful scenery, had kayaks free of charge to take into the ocean, amazing buffet and quality food for a decent price. The entire staff was extremely nice and willing to do what ever (within limits) to ensure your stay at the Sea Cliff was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed at the Sea Cliff for about two weeks for a business meeting. The Staff went above and beyond to ensure that everything was taken care of for our guests. Anything that was asked of the staff was taken care of promtly. The conference rooms were by far the nicest and most up to date of all that I saw in Zanzibar.
The rooms, spa, pools, and extras were more than we could have ever asked for. And the Food service was amazing. All of my future business meetings in Zanzibar will be taking place in this hotel again!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Most amazing views, good food ad most of all loved the cocktails. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We booked a 7-nights holiday at Sea Cliff on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. We had a fantastic time. The hotel is fairly new and thus the facilities are in great condition. The rooms are fairly spacious, clean and very comfortable. The food was great and the staff was always friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. I especially enjoyed the lunch menu (a la carte), although it was not part of our package, we were always happy to spend extra on the lunch. The breakfast and dinner menu is a buffet, so that gets a bit boring after a few days, even though the resort has a different theme every night and try to introduce different dishes.
I would definately go back to Sea Cliff and will recommend it to friends and family. They don't have much of a beach because the hotel is situated on a cliff but they have a huge infinity pool and a smaller kiddies pool. You can still walk down the cliff to the sea during low tide though.

Room Tip: Not much difference between sea facing room and garden room. Not sure if it's worth paying extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I was born and raided in Zanzibar. I last visited the island in 2008 and stayed on the east coast of Zanzibar. That was a wonderful experience; Sea Cliff on the west coast was exceptional. Great staff, delicious food, clean rooms, sensuous environment, expansive infinity pools, state of the art gym, tennis courts, and on and on ... The best part - no one to bother you when you are on the beach. It is all yours. And of course, the jetty out into the ocean is where you want to be at sunset - sipping one of those fancy, colorful drinks.

I had the opportunity to visit the kitchen and the staff quarters. I was blown away with the amazing infrastructure. I guess you want to know what the kitchen looks like so you can see if the food is trustworthy; it is. I am not surprised the staff is so great - they are well taken care of.

When visiting Zanzibar - have a look at Sea Cliff. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar-es-salaam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had used the resort for an internal 2 day session for 45 people and we had no complaints.
They also attended to accommodating children as young as 2yrs.

Room Tip: The deluxe seaview top rooms have the perfect view! The spa is to die for after a long days' wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cliff Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Resort & Spa

Address: | Mangapwani, P.O. Box 1763, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar
#29 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zanzibar
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Cliff Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driving into Sea Cliff Resort & Spa you know you have found something special. The 4 km road through a coconut plantation that leads to the hotel is a reminder of the Zanzibar of old. Peace and tranquility, no other hotels or busy roads just open space and palm trees.As you enter the courtyard filled with tropical flowers and palms the view of the ocean stands before you. With our traditional makuti roofs and Arabic towers lit by brass lights you know this is not a typical hotel. Its an hotel built with our location in mind. It is a unique combination of modern facilities mixed with the original exotic architecture of historical Zanzibar. Situated on our property is the first and only world-class 9 hold 18 tee golf course in Zanzibar. We boast a full size driving range, practice greens, Pro-Shop with all our golfing needs and apparel, clubs to hire, carts and Club House on the beach. A golf pro is in attendance at all times. Sea Cliff Resort & Spa really is the place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Cliff Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff Hotel Zanzibar
Sea Cliff Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cliff Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.