We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Tropical Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngalawa Beach Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ngalawa Beach Village to your Saves list
Ngalawa Beach Village
Chwaka Bay (East Coast) | P.O. Box 3557, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 125 Zanzibar B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Relaxing Tropical Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We recently spent a wonderfully happy and relaxed seven night holiday at Ngalawa Beach Village in Zanzibar. This is a small, elegant boutique hotel that was designed, built and is personally managed by delightful hosts Joanne and Sadru Taja. Their hospitality and commitment to excellence is outstanding. Together with their helpful and cheerful staff, they ensure that their guests’ every need is personally catered for.

On the scheduled day of our departure to Zanzibar, an unfortunate passport mishap resulted in our being delayed by four days. Following a hurried long-distance phone call from our tour operator, Sadru graciously rescheduled our booking at short notice so as to ensure that our holiday would not be spoiled, and that we would meet our ongoing schedule.

Joanne is a qualified chef, and she personally supervises the catering staff. Fresh ingredients are sourced from local suppliers and the meals are all expertly cooked and attractively and tastefully presented. Lunches are three course affairs, while dinners comprise four courses. After meals, one can relax in Lily’s Bar and enjoy the cooling breezes which drift in across the bay. At high tide the waves lap underneath the bar. Joanne and Sadru take their meals with the guests in the hotel dining-room and ensure their guests’ comfort and wellbeing.

The reception is always open, and Sadru will gladly help guests to plan sight-seeing excursions.

There are 18 rooms, all of which are well-appointed, spacious and comfortable, and equipped with air-conditioners and fans. The gardens centre round a large circular swimming pool. The gardens have shady trees and comfortable loungers. During dinner in the evenings, the attentive staff turn down the beds and adorn the rooms with petals from fragrant tropical flowers. A very nice touch!

Thank you to Joanne, Sadru and the whole staff for a great holiday.

We would certainly visit Ngalawa Beach Village again. It would be like going back home!

Noel and Pam, South Africa

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    11
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
58
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
at sea
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Ok, lets settle the beach question right away...if you are looking for a broad white beach with breakers rolling in and surfing galore, then this is not your destination. But...there IS a beach and yes its white and nice sand for walking or laying on. When the tide is out...its a long way out....but when the tide is in...you can swim in clean water a few metres off the beach.....IF however, you are looking for good food, a sense of peaceful relaxation and very comfortable accomodation then NGALAWA is a good choice. It is not a long ride from Stonetown and other destinations on this island. The owners take a very "up front" role in running the resort and insist on only the highest levels of standard, so that you as a clent can relax and enjoy the huge pool, the well kept property. the over the water bar and lounge area is great for anyone that is looking for a quiet spot to enjoy a drink and read or play a local game and enjoy the view out over Chakwa bay. If you are going to compare, then be fair and compare with other higher end resorts. this is a small Boutique resort, where you are a person and not a statistic. Go and enjoy all that joanne and Sadru have to offer. You will only be disappointed if you do not take advantage of what this resort has to offer.

Room Tip: choose a room closer to the beach to enjoy the prevailing breeze on your balcony, but keep your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Greetings from Ngalawa!
It was such a pleasure to,have you as our guests , We are as always so,proud of our small piece of chosen paradise !
We look forward to perhaps having the joy of serving you again in the future !

All the best

The entire staff of Ngalawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am torn in my review as certain aspects of our stay were very good, others not so. This is a small & friendly resort however, there is no denying the lack of beach is dissappointing. The gardens are well kept & the food was very good save the odd dish, but that really is down to personal taste, the staff worked hard, however i do agree there was a slight language barrier with some staff, however, perhaps the answer is to learn more swahili before tyravelling.

So whilst inside the resort there wasn't a great deal to be unhappy with, although I do think the bar prices were very high and i feel would explain the lack of guests using the hotel bar, we were often the only guests there during our stay, there wasn't much of an atmosphere during the evening.

Also we were all quite suprise by our bills upon departure, not least the bar bills, but also the excursion costs, we had not been advised of the additional taxi fees which at $140 dollors a day really adds up on top of the cost of excursions. (we also had to pay additional entry at the turtle sanctury ) - although it was well worth it I think guest should be advised of additional costs. (also as a side, i dont think the locals at the village fish market are appreciative of guests visiting and were actually quite hostile)

To summarise, for a short break (some guests only stayed 1 or 2 nights) as long as you didn't want to swim in the ocean, this is a great resort, quiet, small & intimate with great food. However if you are staying longer, I think the lack of beach ( of which there are far better at other locations) & not being able to swim in the ocean,eventually will dissapoint, coupled with the additional excursion costs & high bar prices, I think I would check other resorts before deciding to go back.

Room Tip: All seemed very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on sea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I visited Ngalawa Beach Village at the beginning of October 2012. We really spent a long time reviewing and looking where to stay and eventually chose Ngalawa, and we were not to be disappointed. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by Sadru and Joanne, the walk down the steps to the restaurant, gardens, pool and our beach villa was lovely. Added to the enjoyment were the goats and resident cats. The hotel is positively charming with the furniture sourced locally, it really has a wonderful African feel. The food was fantastic and they had a battle on their hands with me as I am allergic to fish, this was catered for and I never got bored with the food. There really was some stand out dishes! In the evening sipping cocktails at lillys bar, mudslide being a favourite of mine! We also had a good dance with the staff when a live band came to play. You can walk down the steps to the beach and both my husband and I swam in the sea. We also walked along to the village and were lucky to be shown around by a guide who lived in the village. A visit to Ngalawa is like visiting old friends, the staff are amazing, and so friendly.

Room Tip: Room 18!! Fantastic views when the sun rises! See picture
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We came to Ngalawa on our honeymoon with the hopes of enjoying 4 days on Zanzibar’s beautiful beaches. We were sadly disappointed. While we found the hotel to be charming at times, we believe that the hotel has several serious shortcomings - including the absence of a usable beach - that make it an inferior spot for couples looking either to (1) have a romantic beach getaway or (2) explore the culture and nature of the island. Overall, we would recommend staying at Ngalawa ONLY if you are looking to relax by the pool on a pretty property or are only staying a few nights (preferably in a group).

Here are what we would characterize as major concerns:

- there is NO USABLE BEACH. Ngalawa calls itself a "beach village" and the word "beach" frequents its website, but there is no usable beach here. *It is important to note that the east side of Zanzibar has a sizable tidal range, where the water will go out for about a quarter mile at low tide. This may appear to be generally inconvenient, but on the other beaches we visited, low tide created a beautiful canvas of white sand and aquamarine tidal pools where you can swim.

Conversely, low tide in Chwaka revealed a landscape of debris-filled black mud. Sharp fragments of shells, coral, and rocks made it impossible to explore the bay on foot at low tide. The water is also a brackish, brown color. In the few hours where swimming would be conceivable, swimming is made extremely unpleasant by the copious amounts of seaweed and the mud between your toes. Zanzibar has many other beautiful beaches that we personally experienced, but they are not here. We have uploaded photos of Ngalawa's beach.

- $140 taxi charge to go anywhere. While Ngalawa's website states that "excursions can be arranged," the reality is that it costs $140 flat fee round trip, regardless of where you are going or how long you are spending there. Perhaps the only advantage of the hotel's very remote location is that it is near the Jozani Forest. However, even a simple 30 min taxi ride there costs $140 roundtrip. Sadru, the owner, told us explicitly that no matter where you go in taxi, it is a $70 charge each way. Sadru attempted to justify the price by saying that we would essentially be hiring “his” driver for the day, and the driver would not be able to take on any jobs. This lack of flexibility in price is utterly unacceptable. For instance, our trip to Jozani took less than three hours – freeing up our driver to take other jobs. Management also refused to facilitate or negotiate any other taxis. After much negotiation with our travel agent, Sadru agreed to provide free transportation on two days that we were scuba diving. We greatly appreciated this, but still question the genuiness/appropriateness of the $140/day charge (see below).

- Poor service and deceptive management. On one scuba day, our pre-arranged Ngalawa taxi did not arrive to pick us up from our excursion. After waiting an hour, we took a taxi back at our own expense, and it cost $50. The hotel offered to reimburse us for this cost. However, Joanne, one of the owners, expressed shock that a half an hour taxi ride would cost $50. She said that it should cost $25-$30. When we later questioned Sadru, husband and co-owner, he became very agitated and said that Joanne didn't know what she was talking about. (As a side note, the dive center was at a hotel that tried to call Ngalawa management when our taxi did not arrive. Neither phone numbers listed on Ngalawa’s website were functional. When we spoke to Sadru about this issue, he replied “that’s why I gave you my cell number.” So if you do dare to venture from Ngalawa, make sure you have the cell #, because the taxi might not show up, and neither numbers publicly listed by Ngalawa will work.)

- Not all rooms are ocean view. Contrary to the website which states that "all rooms have stunning views and private porches" many rooms are ground level that face the swimming pool. We have uploaded photos of rooms and views.

- No reception service after about 9 p.m and at other times in the day. The power at the resort frequently cuts out, but a generator usually ensures that the outage is short. However, on one occasion, the electricity in our room short-circuited at about 10 p.m. I went to the reception to try to solve the issue, and nobody was there. It took about an hour to resolve, as many of the other staff that I tried to communicate with did not speak English. Also, one day from about 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. there was nobody in the reception area.

Other aspects of Ngalawa worth mentioning:

- We found the dining to be good, but perhaps not as satisfying as other reviewers on this website. Breakfast was quite enjoyable, with many options. Some of the lunch and dinner dishes were tasty, but generally these meals were hit or miss and often repetitive. Although the kitchen took into account dietary restrictions, prospective guests should know that there is generally no choice in food whatsoever, as there is one set meal for each time of day.

- No flexibility in meal times. Lunch is served from 1-2:30 and dinner from 7-9. When Sadru forgot to send our taxi to pick us up, we missed lunch as a result. When we got back, the kitchen was closed and the chef had to be called from offsite. We were told that all food is frozen and the only thing available would be an omelette. This was only offered because of the hotel's fault in our missing a meal. However, generally, if you miss a meal, there is no reimbursement of that cost or the ability to order another meal.

- Close to rare colobus monkeys. Due to the proximity to the forest, red colobus monkeys and Sykes monkeys can often be seen wandering about the hotel grounds. We greatly enjoyed this.

- Hotel is very small. The hotel has only 18 rooms and a small swimming pool. The small size is likely an advantage of the resort at times, but a large group of loud guests can easily disrupt the relaxing ambience of the pool, bar, and restaurant. We experienced this problem during our stay.

- Value for money is poor. Our safari tour operator sent us to this hotel. In our estimation, we paid about $340 for a standard room (including whatever cut our agent was taking). When you include taxi rides that we were forced to take because we wanted to at least enjoy Zanzibar a little, that is about $400 per night for a hotel that does not have a beach. As a point of reference, when we tried to change hotels, Bluebay resort (where our scuba operator was located), with a beautiful beach and much superior location, quoted us $330, including two meals a day.

Overall, this is a hotel with no beach in a remote location such that you will likely have to pay $140 each time you want to leave. While there were some things that we enjoyed about the hotel, the magic of Zanzibar would best be experienced elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Greeting of the day..
We have read this review with grave concerns due to the emense inaccuracies .
Please allow me to address each by point ..

1# The beach.. the pictures you have taken are when the tide is coming in or going out…I see some of the pictures are taken from the hotel next door that is closed,therefore nobody cleans their beach unlike our staff that do ours.you seem to have missed the beautiful serenety of the beach when the local dhow boats are quietly sailing by,or the fishermen sailing right at the pontilla eager to show you their catch from the night fishing…and you seem to have missed when our guests at the time of your stay were enjoying swimming in the warm Indian ocean.
Many of our guest love swimming in the ocean ,and we do not have seaweed on this side ,but some sea grass and it comes and goes,but never hinders swimming,although I understand that the water is not blue lagoon blue on this side.It is still the same water ..Indian ocean?We do not have sea urchins or jelly fish ,so easy to enjoy!
We do not have black mud..we have very powder fine sand ,and when the tide is out it is a bit challenging..which is why guests enjoy thoroughly walking on the long beach.However it is rather fun to walk out and greet the local fisherman that are manually digging for the "perfect" worms to use as bait.
While we are in a beautiful fishing village and bay, the beach is wonderful for walking and seeing so many types of shells( a natural part of our eco system) hermit crabs,tidal pools,boat building,so many types of bird wild life, and the village is lovely as are the people and the culture,but it was your choice not to take advantage of that and experience what island life is really like in a remote African village.The people of that fishing village are truly amazing and ever so friendly.They would have loved to shared this with you!

2# taxi.. As I really tried hard to explaine to you, we do not set the prices..these taxi owners set the price for the same price whether you are 6 guests or 2..it is the going price for a safe, secure,clean taxi with A/C and a good driver that speaks English and has ALL permits to legally drive.He is yours for your trip.
It is impossible for a driver to take another job,as you suggested..given the distance and time restrains,and our guests quite like the fact that they are not rushed and are well taken care of and have greater flexibility of time.You wouldnt like to be kept waiting Im sure.
We certainly did not refuse to facilitate another taxi or driver, but honestly we don’t know of any who fall into the above category. You were welcome to do this on your own.

3# poor service and deceptive management?
When you went to the 5 star hotel of your choice for diving,the driver was then assigned to stay in a area to wait for you ,and return to the enterance of the resort to pick you up again, at the assigned time that you yourself estimated.Seeing as ALL hotels have assigned areas for drivers to wait, including their own,he waited..he returned at the assigned time only to find you had left .Not sure how the driver can be faulted here.
You finished your diving one hour early.I personally gave you my business card with my personal cell number to call if you had any problems.You left it in your room rather than take it with you.Now when you did not see the driver you had the hotel book you a taxi to bring you back to the resort.When you arrived back at 3:30pm ,our kitchen of course was closed,but the Executive chef was called and he very kindly offered you lunch ,and asked what you would prefer to eat.He was called from the staff house. You told him just an omlette is fine. I know my executive chef very well,his reputation is impeccable, and he would only go to the moon and back for our guests, and he made every attempt with you!As well high tea was at 4:30 on the pontilla. That consisted of pizza buns,cookies,popcorn,tea,coffee,and juice or soda and it changes daily.All this our Executive Chef kindly explained to you.
As for JoAnne.. not much shocks her. She has as well an impeccible reputation for going out of her way to help our guest any and every way possible. I believe she was speaking to your husband (you were in your room) and had a lovely conversation with him as he shared his diving experience with her with such zeel . She eagerly was willing to reimburse you your taxi fee..again..although the original driver was there waiting for you at your given departure time to come back.I would as well never disrespect JoAnne by saying to a guest "she doesnt know what she is talking about".Im not really sure where you are getting these alleged statements from.

4# All room have ocean view, of course if the tide is out no..perhaps that is what you meant.

5# In Africa and including Zanzibar there are frequent power cuts which our Government is rectifying from the mainland.However..we have a huge generator that is turned on after one minute.The evening of your complaint did in fact take a bit longer .but certainly only a few minutes.
The reception staff when I enquired,was walking the property ensure no alarm to the guests.it did not take an hr to resolve I assure you and I was here as well!The day in question when you claim that for 2 hrs there is nobody in reception..at my investigation..as I spend most of my days in the office IN reception this was unfounded.
All staff speak excellent English except staff you would not speak with, example, garden staff or Maasai warriors that we have for security. Even if you did speak to them, in all fairness English is not thier first language,and as most of us do,we speak fast and they can become confused.The Maasai Warrior"s we have for security at night can grasp what you are saying if you speak slowly and use fewer words to which I gave you a simple example..
.
6# dining.. our chefs and kitchen staff are our super heros! They are not only creative,but joyfully meet all dietary needs ,likes and dislikes.We are on a 14 day turn around and in no time are guests ever having the same dish twice.This means,28 different soups,28 different main courses,28 different desserts,14 second starters(dinner is 4 courses).Everything is made from natural fresh ingredients from this Island.Including fresh homemade bread twice a day, lovely fresh juice,homemade jams and yogurtstunning desserts and home made ice cream,fresh fish and seafood,beef,chicken and lamb.Our philosophy is,we want you to relax and not even have to think what you will have for dinner or lunch,and its working very well for us, and our valued guests really look forward to meals as they feel its like a wonderful suprise.However,if you were not happy voicing it at the time would have been of a great assistance to us,so we could meet your needs.
We are very flexible in all aspects of our resort.Meal times..Breakfast is 7:30 till 9:30,but we linger until 10: a.m.this allows our guest to have a bit of a ly in and not be rushed.Lunch..1 pm until 2:30..this means you can arrive at 2:30 and still enjoy your lunch..no one is ever turned away..even if they wander in at 3:30 as you found out yourself. Dinner..8 p.m. until 10 p.m. earlier if requested..never a problem, especially if people have wee ones, or medical issues, or just wish to have an early night.Our guests often love to linger over a drink after dinner and chat with other guests and plan the next day,join together in taxis to share costs.
Your comment in regards to our chefs statement that" everything is frozen" is unfounded.Our staff is so creative ..I have spoken with our entire kitchen staffone by one, and they are rather confused by this statement.Our exucutive Chef informed me that he only advised you that the chicken would take a bit of time but if you were willing to wait he would gladly prepare..you then asked for an omlette.He served it to you, along with a fresh fruit platter,bread basket and toast,and salad.

7# Boutique hotel.. We are boutique hotel yes, on large property..but very spacious. your room was a double room,beautifully appointed with very fine decor and amentities. Yet still ensuring our guest get the African feel..ie makuti roofs,locally made furniture and wardrobes using local wood.
Your compaint about guests at the pool (not a small pool by any means)enjoying their holiday,laughing and exzuding joy is a normal sound I believe when guests are happy.We were nearly full at the time of your stay,but as well so many guests go on day excursions, ,play volleyball,or lying on the beach beds on the beach,relaxing in the Pontilla reading or listening to music, that the hotel is very quiet during the day.In the evening most are in the pontilla for happy hour before dinner.
As for your calulations for resort prices, I cannot comment on what your travel agent quoted you or anyone else.
Please allow me to be very clear on your repetitivness in your choice word "forced" ..at NO time would any guest be forced in any way to do anything they did not feel was just. ...we pride ourselves in working very hard to ensure our guests have the best stay possible.
if you have conscously booked all inclusive ,and you chose to take an outside excursion we very often accomadate on the departure day..example if a guest is requesting late check out and requires lunch... For your future travel ,you may want to book 1/2 board,this may assist you
.
Overall your assesment of your vacation and our response has been forwarded to your travel agent..we hope you look back home with truly wonderful memories of our historical ,beautiful and gracious Island and its people
Sadru, JoAnne and our entire staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent 7 days at Ngalawa and were very happy with the resort, it is true that there is no swimming beach if you want that head to the northern end of the island where there are side by side mega resorts. We loved the food, the short walk to the local village, the goats, cats and monkeys. Sudru and JoAnne were friendly and relaxed hosts and nothing was too much trouble we also loved the regular visits from the Masaai.

All in all a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having just read the three recent reviews “A perfect retreat” “A total gem” and “fantastic stay” we have almost run out of things to say – we loved staying at the Ngalawa Beach Village. We can confirm that the accommodation and facilities are excellent – we particularly liked the swimming pool and the bar lounge area perched on stilts above the sea which lapped underneath at high tide; that the food is great, due to the imagination which goes into sourcing the best ingredients including local seafood and fruit but also providing a menu which never repeated itself over two weeks; and finally that the stars of the show were definitely Joanne (with her two nanny goats following her everywhere) and Sadru (charming and always helpful). They achieved the overall excellence of the place and your comfort by paying great attention to the welfare of the staff, who were made to feel part of the family. And this familial feeling was extended to the guests, without being overpowering. We were particularly impressed by the fact that all the staff were encouraged to join in to party with the guests on the party night when an excellent live band ‘Mama Africa’ was performing.
You can walk along the beach to a large, busy fishing village. Whether just for walking or to catch the bus or buy your phone card..Ngalawa is a most conveniently located East Coast hotel as it is less than an hour across from town and within easy reach by excellent roads to the other brilliant beaches on the East Coast. While transport is not cheap (other than the DalaDalas (local busses)), Joanne and Sadru are good at making arrangements as appropriate.
At the end of the day, the main issue is “Did you have a good time?” Yes, we had a lovely time, thanks Joanne and Sadru and all at Ngalawa Beach Village.

Room Tip: all seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngalawa Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngalawa Beach Village

Address: Chwaka Bay (East Coast) | P.O. Box 3557, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ngalawa Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngalawa Beach Village Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngalawa Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.