We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're better off elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Game Fish Lodge

Save Saved
You added Game Fish Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Game Fish Lodge
Nungwi North, 0000, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“You're better off elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I had read the glowing reviews of Game Fish Lodge here on Trip Advisor and was looking forward to a comfortable, quiet, and intimate place that my wife and I would enjoy. We ending up being rather disappointed, however.

Upon arrival at the lodge, the first thing we noticed that the beach in front of the lodge was unswimmable due to the vast amount of seaweed around. The photos we had seen on Facebook as well as here on Trip Advisor were misleading, having shown clear, blue waters. Accordingly, we had to take taxis to nearby Kendwa beach in order to enjoy pristine blue waters which are swimmable at all times. While Kendwa is only 3 kms. away, taxis in Zanzibar really overcharge as compared to other parts of Tanzania. You're lucky if you can get a taxi to bring you from Game Fish Lodge to Kendwa for only TSH 10,000 (around USD 6). Others charge at least TSH 15,000. Colin, the owner of the lodge along with his wife Lesley, does bring guests to nearby beaches for free when he is not otherwise out on game fishing trips.

Other reviews here speak glowingly of Colin and Lesley. While we agree that they are a very nice couple, others may prefer a less intrusive atmosphere where guests enjoy a certain sense of anonymity. Game Fish Lodge is literally a mom-and-pop operation, where Colin does everything from bringing guests to and from the airport and Stone Town, cooking meals, fetching water from town to fill the lodge's water tank, and organizing game fishing tours, and Lesley is the one who prepares breakfast and carries out other chores. As there are only 4 rooms at the lodge, the couple tries to create an atmosphere of one big happy family where everyone has dinner and drinks together. Couples, however, may prefer more privacy and having dinner on their own, where they are not forced to mingle and make small talk with strangers. Moreover, as the couple has only one vehicle, Colin will often carry out errands while taking guests to and from the airport or Stone Town, which the guests paid for ($50 from Stone Town to the lodge; $60 from the airport to the lodge).

Moreover, as the couple does pretty much everything themselves, guests may be placed in a situation where requesting for service is almost like asking a favor, as guests are treated more like guests in a home rather than occupants of a hotel. One becomes almost ashamed to request for service you should be entitled to for what you pay. We observed the other guests were even helping out in the kitchen, when in our opinion, we were paying for the service ($132 per room per night) and therefore expected to be served. The situation would be different if I were staying at a friend's or relative's house for free.

The dinner, while tasty, is overpriced at $15. The photos on Facebook and Trip Advisor of full platters of lobster, crabs, and fish are misleading, as the dinner we had consisting of only fish, vegetable pasta and 2 types of potatoes. While dinner is said to be dependent on the catch of the day, you're far better off eating at some of the restaurants along the Kendwa beachfront (avoid Cello's at all costs; We heartily recommend the White Sands Hotel restaurant). A platter of 3 huge tiger prawns with rice or chips at White Sands cost only around TSH 12,000.

The lodge also ran out of water during our stay, and therefore we had to wait for Colin to fetch water from town before we could take showers. Colin explained that the water supply is incredibly scarce on Zanzibar, so I don't know what the situation is with other hotels on the island. We also didn't have any electricity throughout most of our stay, and the generator was only turned on for a few hours at night. The rooms have no air-conditioning, and at $132 per room per night, you should be able to get an air-conditioned room elsewhere. Zanzibar is hot all-year round, so if you don't have a fan or air-conditioning as you sleep, especially with the mosquito net down around your bed, it can get very uncomfortable.

The breakfast is hearty. There are crepes with fruits and honey, sausage, and eggs. As Colin tells the guests that they can have breakfast at any time, and Lesley cooks each and every breakfast herself, it will take some time before your breakfast is served.

Thus, all in all, I would not recommend this hotel. It is expensive for what you get, especially considering that the beach in front of the lodge is not swimmable (it may be different at other times of the year). I would suggest that you just find a proper hotel or lodge along Kendwa Beach where you can just walk to and from the beachfront, and you have a choice of numerous restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We were looking for a more quite and private place near Nungwi , where we could visit the more touristic Nungwi, but also easily escape it, and where you do not feel like just another tourist in a hotel. Although, The Game Fish Lodge didn’t has a website and while reading the few comments on Tripadvisor, I got this haunch that this was the place to be. So, I booked 6 nights in July 2010 at the Game Fish Lodge. The owners Colin and Lesley picked us up at the airport to bring us to their lovely, peaceful place. While meeting them and arriving at their breathtaking place, with hammocks from which you can enjoy the sea, I knew my haunch that this was the best place to be on Zanzibar was right. This was the peace we were looking for.
Besides that the surrounding is heavenly, Colin and Lesley are really caring people and make you feel at home right away. They want you to enjoy life at their place and they are capable to give that feeling to you.
Each morning Colin and Lesley prepare you a delicious breakfast. Also the evening dinners are the best dinners you’ve ever had. Colin - who really is a master in cooking - makes whatever you like. Always fresh meat or fresh fish in the most delicious ways. It’s really wine & dine in the greatest ambiance.
The time we spent there was the most wonderful time we’ve had. Their lodge is very private with 4 nice clean rooms each with their own veranda overlooking the beautiful turquoise coloured sea. They bring you to different beaches for free to explore the island. They are great hosts and they really are very special people! You’re not treated like guests, they treat you like friends with their warm hospitality. We feel so lucky that we have found this special place with these special people that we have already booked again for December.
Make sure that when you go to Zanzibar, that you don’t miss this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

I tried several places in Zanzibar and the Game Fish Lodge turned out to be the best choice. The position perfectly combines the quiet atmosphere of the east coast and the wonderful beaches of the north coast, less subject to the tide compared to the east. If you like the party atmosphere or simply want to have drinks in the evening, the centre of Nungwi with many bars and restaurants can be reached easily walking along the beach (depending on the tide) or by taxi (approx 5 dollars).
The lodge has 4 rooms only, nice and cleaned: big double bed with mosquito net, TV, DVD player with plenty of dvds, fan.
What makes the place really great is that the owners make you feel like home. They gave us free rides to the best beaches nearby, cooked wonderful fish dinners for us and gave us a lot of good tips about things to do and places to see on the island. They specialise in game fishing, but can also arrange other tours with trustworthy local people (we got the day tour to Memba Island at discount) or help you in organising a safari.
We had to worry about nothing but choose the best hammock on the beach and enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

I first noticed the Game Fish Lodge when I saw its hammocks between the palm trees from a passing boat. The next day I walked up along the beach to see if I could get a room for a few days and was immediately well received by the South African couple that runs the place.

They did everything to make my stay a very special experience in every regard: Awesome breakfast and dinner, painless self-service for sodas and beer, free rides to other beaches and bars, inside information on locations and activities all over Zanzibar, plus an endless supply of DVDs for the one rainy day I had. Clean rooms, daily room service and fast Internet access as a matter of course. Two nice cats, lots of chickens and some ducks add to the entertainment -- and you get the best eggs on Zanzibar here.

Right from the beginning I felt I was staying with friends, not just hosts. I'll come back for a fishing tour for sure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Game Fish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Game Fish Lodge

Address: Nungwi North, 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 102 Specialty lodging in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Game Fish Lodge is located one hour’s drive from Stone Town towards the north-east peninsula of Zanzibar, along the scenic Nungwi Coast. The Lodge looks out onto a radiant expanse of shimmering Indian Ocean and down onto one of the finest and most unspoilt beaches. You are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while watching the Indian Ocean. The beach is fringed by a wide and thriving coral reef. The azure waters offer a paradise for both snorkeling, scuba diving and game fishing enthusiasts alike.Game Fish Lodge with its easygoing atmosphere will mellow you out in no time. It is a place to escape to and relax. The location of the Lodge allows you the seclusion of perfect tranquility yet close enough to enjoy the hustle and bustle of Nungwi Village. Beautiful sunrises are an everyday thrill for the early riser and moonlit nights, listening to the ocean, create an unforgettable experience.RoomsAll the rooms have their own patio with a wonderful view of the ocean and surrounding coconut trees where you can sit and enjoy the beauty of Zanzibar. The rooms are all en-suite, fully tiled with hot and cold water, television, DVD Player with a wide selection of DVD’s. The rooms have standing and ceiling fans. Mosquito nets ensure a peaceful night’s sleep, with the sound of the ocean rounding off a relaxing day in paradise. Laundry services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Game Fish Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Game Fish Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.