We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Butterfly Centre

Zanzibar Butterfly Centre
Pete Village | Jozani, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 37 attractions in Zanzibar
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Jarrahdale, W.A.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great little centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed our time here. The guide was very friendly and most informative. A big plus is how this involves the local community.

I would recommend this without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    43
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing project!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Zanzibar Butterfly Centre was one of my favorite stops on the island. It is so beautiful and serene, and our guide was extremely knowledgable. I had totally forgotten all that I learned about butterflies in elementary school, it was a great reminder! So interesting. A very worthwhile project and cause, the Centre helps out surrounding villagers and farmers and creates employment and support for them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely and worthwhile project”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Really interesting project - informative about the butterflies, but the real strength of this is the fact that it is such a worthwhile community project.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awsome project”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Zanzibar Butterfly Centre is a unique project which promotes sustainable use of natural resources while providing extra income for local farmers. Butterflies raised by farmers are exhibited and exported.

The Centre is a popular Zanzibar tourist attraction featuring a live display of Tanzanian butterflies. Revenue generated by tourist admissions provides funds for local projects in the form of alternative livelihoods, conservation and poverty alleviation. Go and visit their farm not only will you learn about kipepeo (Butterfly) but you will also help the community!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I didn't realize how much I didn't know about butterflies. Very interesting info session, and a lovely, though small-ish, enclosure. Nominal fee to support the work here - Definitely worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar Butterfly Centre also viewed

 
Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to Zanzibar Butterfly Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Butterfly Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.