We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome project” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Butterfly Centre

Zanzibar Butterfly Centre
Pete Village | Jozani, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 attractions in Zanzibar
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awsome project”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Zanzibar Butterfly Centre is a unique project which promotes sustainable use of natural resources while providing extra income for local farmers. Butterflies raised by farmers are exhibited and exported.

The Centre is a popular Zanzibar tourist attraction featuring a live display of Tanzanian butterflies. Revenue generated by tourist admissions provides funds for local projects in the form of alternative livelihoods, conservation and poverty alleviation. Go and visit their farm not only will you learn about kipepeo (Butterfly) but you will also help the community!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I didn't realize how much I didn't know about butterflies. Very interesting info session, and a lovely, though small-ish, enclosure. Nominal fee to support the work here - Definitely worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice ....but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

nice place to visit it shows you the butterflise life stages and there are butterflies of different colours

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice place to see Butterfly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

the did a good job with this place, i like how the teach and simplify the process of how the butterfly come to life !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

stopped by the Zanzibar Butterfly Center on our way back from Josani Forest Tour which is just a couple of kilometers away. After a 3 minute informative -and really interesting- session about the stages of the butterfly's life etc we were taken to the butterfly canopy where we could just look around and see them in their natural environment until they were shipped to South Africa - which as we have been told takes place every Monday.
It is a private sponsored Center yet I believe it could have been more appealing with the addition of a video presentation and a better variety in the really poor shopping section.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar Butterfly Centre also viewed

 
Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to Zanzibar Butterfly Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Butterfly Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Butterfly Centre to your Saves list