We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome project” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Butterfly Centre

Zanzibar Butterfly Centre
Pete Village | Jozani, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awsome project”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Zanzibar Butterfly Centre is a unique project which promotes sustainable use of natural resources while providing extra income for local farmers. Butterflies raised by farmers are exhibited and exported.

The Centre is a popular Zanzibar tourist attraction featuring a live display of Tanzanian butterflies. Revenue generated by tourist admissions provides funds for local projects in the form of alternative livelihoods, conservation and poverty alleviation. Go and visit their farm not only will you learn about kipepeo (Butterfly) but you will also help the community!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    49
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I didn't realize how much I didn't know about butterflies. Very interesting info session, and a lovely, though small-ish, enclosure. Nominal fee to support the work here - Definitely worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice ....but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

nice place to visit it shows you the butterflise life stages and there are butterflies of different colours

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place to see Butterfly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

the did a good job with this place, i like how the teach and simplify the process of how the butterfly come to life !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

stopped by the Zanzibar Butterfly Center on our way back from Josani Forest Tour which is just a couple of kilometers away. After a 3 minute informative -and really interesting- session about the stages of the butterfly's life etc we were taken to the butterfly canopy where we could just look around and see them in their natural environment until they were shipped to South Africa - which as we have been told takes place every Monday.
It is a private sponsored Center yet I believe it could have been more appealing with the addition of a video presentation and a better variety in the really poor shopping section.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar Butterfly Centre also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Zanzibar Butterfly Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Butterfly Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.