We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing place EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mchanga Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mchanga Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Mchanga Beach Resort to your Saves list
Between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Zanzibar
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Most relaxing place EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

It was absolutely perfect. From the setting and decor, which were heavenly yet simple and unobtrusive, to the owners, who were attentive but, again, unobtrusive... to the food- amazing!!!
I don't often write reviews so that really goes to show you just how wonderful I found the place.
I went there on my honeymoon and I couldn't have been happier. The huts don't have windows, just shutters, so you can hear the waves crashing nearby when the tide is in, and they lull you into a state of total calm and relaxation.
Early in the morning they'd leave a tray outside our room with some tea and biscuits.
We were there on a half-board basis so breakfast and dinner were included.
Breakfast was amazing, and you could choose from a bunch of things which were made to order just like all the rest of their dishes. You could choose from a variety of sweet and savory dishes ranging from local donut-type dumplings to spicy carrots!! Truly awesome.
Lunch wasn't included for us but one of the local waiters would come round and ask whether we wanted to order anything.
The same thing happened a couple of hours before dinner, and everything we tried was absolutely delicious, a real culinary delight.
You can lie around all day, no one shouts or makes too much noise- in fact, the few other people who were staying there (it only has about 8 rooms, I think) mostly just kept to themselves, read and had a few cocktails before dinner- same thing we did. Basically, if you want a place where music's blaring from the loudspeakers at all hours, this is not the place to go But if you're looking for an intimate holiday with your partner or family, it's just perfect.
This may seem irrelevant, but I really appreciated the fact that the place wasn't managed in a wasteful fashion. Just to give you an example, the pre-breakfast tray only had 2 (scrumptious) cookies on it, which is ideal since you're going to have breakfast later anyway and you're not there to gorge yourself. And the butter they brought with toast was just enough, and you could always ask for more. To me, that speaks to the owners' respect for their surroundings- Tanzania is, after all, a developing nation, and it would be utterly disrespectful to waste food there, of all places.
The beach is beautiful and white, though a little seaweedy- but that can't be helped.
The lounge chairs are massive and super comfy.
There's a nice little bar hut where you can have drinks.
There's a lovely spa with a view of the ocean.
The huts (rooms) are surrounded by white sand.
It's perfect :-) and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wonderful location, the white sand of the Zanzibar coast does not disappoint. The sand extends into the lodge to give the impression that you are staying on the beach. Lovely pool, surrounded by palm trees, a perfect spot to sit and luxuriate in your surroundings. Super hosts, extremely helpful, while the staff were friendly and a pleasure to have around. Quite the most relaxing three days imaginable. We all absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: Sea view is glorious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was there for 2 weeks with my wife to honeymoon. We had a sea-side-view lodge which was on one hand lovely furnished and gave as on the other hand a nice view through swinging palms to the sea. We also enjoyed starting our day with a cup of early morning tea (and cookie) in front of the lodge to proceed then -barefoot walking through the smooth sand which is all around the place- to the restaurant to have breakfast. Lunch and dinner were in a positive way very special to us because the food they served there tastes so different but very very good. We are so happy that we didn´t miss to snorkel to experience how beautiful the sea around Zanzbar is. All in all a very nice place to be with friendly stuff and with Gloria and Thomas two owners who also have a lot of different idears how to experience Zanzibar in different ways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Mchanga Beach Lodge is a wonderful place for relaxing. We came from safari and we felt like in paradise. Gloria and Thomas are very hospitable and helpful if you need further information about Sansibar. All rooms are lodges. We had a sea view lodge, with a beautiful view to the sea.
The rooms are equipped with love to detail. We had booked half board, which includes breakfast al a carte and three courses menu at the evening. The food was incredibly delicious and fresh! The staff was very friendly and courteous, which is not common anywhere in Africa. We could recommend the Mchanga Beach Lodge to 100%.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As I´ve been at Mchangabeachlodge 3 years ago I was very excited to show my husband this piece of paradise! White sand beach, healthy and delicious Swaheli Cuisine, lovely rooms and the most friendly service I remember - what else can you dream of in your holiday??
I enjoyed two very relaxing spa treatments. Perfect for the skin after a day on the beach! Where else on earth can you go for a walk on a white beach whitout meeting any other tourists? Incredible, romantic atmosphere!
At Mchanga Beach the traditional swaheli style fits perfectly with the comfort you wish in your holiday!Just to name one loving detail: the early morning tea served with delicious selfmade cardamon cookies!
Gloria and Thomas know a lot about Zanzibar and Africa and can give useful tips! So we saw the markets in Stonetown and went on a sailing trip with snorkling in the north of the island.

All in all we had a unforgettable, romantic and relaxing time! For sure not the last visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As a family we really enjoyed our 6 night stay at Mchanga Beach Lodge. Our rooms looked out onto the sea and it was heaven waking up to the sound of the palm trees and the sea. The staff were all excellent and made sure at all times we had what we needed. It is a great place to unwind, get peace and quiet and enjoy the sun. The food was good and it was nice being able to eat when you wanted. Gloria and Thomas were both very thoughtful and took the time to get to know each of their guests. Great place for families with older children.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Everything is going on the best possible and natural way for the client. Top service, top food, top quietness. Top staff, top owners.
The beautiful sand on the private beach as well as the pool are a good spot after days of safari.
Go there.
Bénédicte and François Rojas

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mchanga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mchanga Beach Resort

Address: Between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibu, Close your eyes, imagine silence interrupted only by the sea and the sound of coconut trees, white sandy beach and peace...welcome to Mchanga of Zanzibar. We are located 40 minutes from Stone Town on the north east of the island between the Matemwe and Pwani Mchangani villages where there is no presence of large hospitality establishments. Mchanga in swahili means sand, therefore our paths, the floor of our restaurant and bar is made with the same white sand of the beach....at your arrival you will be asked to remove your shoes and wear them again only at your departure. Our only purpouse is to make you feel comfortable and pamper you with the luxury of simplicity. Recharge your batteries by enjoying the tranquility of our location, the food of our restaurant, the selection of our cocktails and an extensive menu of treatments and massages. Every boungalow has been decorated with local patterns and motives made by locals; satellite tv, A/C, comfortable beds and all the amenities to make your stay even more enjoyable. We do provide a number of services such as private transportation from and to the airport, excursions to the various points of interest of the island...everything to make your stay hassle free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mchanga Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mchanga Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.