We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, nice holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mchanga Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mchanga Beach Lodge
Save Saved
You added Mchanga Beach Lodge to your Saves list
between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 141 hotels in Zanzibar
München
1 review
“Beautiful place, nice holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was there for 2 weeks with my wife to honeymoon. We had a sea-side-view lodge which was on one hand lovely furnished and gave as on the other hand a nice view through swinging palms to the sea. We also enjoyed starting our day with a cup of early morning tea (and cookie) in front of the lodge to proceed then -barefoot walking through the smooth sand which is all around the place- to the restaurant to have breakfast. Lunch and dinner were in a positive way very special to us because the food they served there tastes so different but very very good. We are so happy that we didn´t miss to snorkel to experience how beautiful the sea around Zanzbar is. All in all a very nice place to be with friendly stuff and with Gloria and Thomas two owners who also have a lot of different idears how to experience Zanzibar in different ways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Mchanga Beach Lodge is a wonderful place for relaxing. We came from safari and we felt like in paradise. Gloria and Thomas are very hospitable and helpful if you need further information about Sansibar. All rooms are lodges. We had a sea view lodge, with a beautiful view to the sea.
The rooms are equipped with love to detail. We had booked half board, which includes breakfast al a carte and three courses menu at the evening. The food was incredibly delicious and fresh! The staff was very friendly and courteous, which is not common anywhere in Africa. We could recommend the Mchanga Beach Lodge to 100%.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As I´ve been at Mchangabeachlodge 3 years ago I was very excited to show my husband this piece of paradise! White sand beach, healthy and delicious Swaheli Cuisine, lovely rooms and the most friendly service I remember - what else can you dream of in your holiday??
I enjoyed two very relaxing spa treatments. Perfect for the skin after a day on the beach! Where else on earth can you go for a walk on a white beach whitout meeting any other tourists? Incredible, romantic atmosphere!
At Mchanga Beach the traditional swaheli style fits perfectly with the comfort you wish in your holiday!Just to name one loving detail: the early morning tea served with delicious selfmade cardamon cookies!
Gloria and Thomas know a lot about Zanzibar and Africa and can give useful tips! So we saw the markets in Stonetown and went on a sailing trip with snorkling in the north of the island.

All in all we had a unforgettable, romantic and relaxing time! For sure not the last visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As a family we really enjoyed our 6 night stay at Mchanga Beach Lodge. Our rooms looked out onto the sea and it was heaven waking up to the sound of the palm trees and the sea. The staff were all excellent and made sure at all times we had what we needed. It is a great place to unwind, get peace and quiet and enjoy the sun. The food was good and it was nice being able to eat when you wanted. Gloria and Thomas were both very thoughtful and took the time to get to know each of their guests. Great place for families with older children.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Everything is going on the best possible and natural way for the client. Top service, top food, top quietness. Top staff, top owners.
The beautiful sand on the private beach as well as the pool are a good spot after days of safari.
Go there.
Bénédicte and François Rojas

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A truely lovely place to stay set in gorgeous surroundings and a good location. The rooms are sufficient and very comfortable, although can get a little hot at night.
The grounds are lovely and in keeping with the setting.
The staff and owners a very nice, helpful and obliging.
Food was great, although not many options, and by the end of the stay I was desperate for anything but eggs for breakfast! Alcohol is a little pricey though....
The beach was stunning and pool lovely for when the tide was out, and there are other options for dinner / lunch by walking along the beach.
Recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are right at the front, so have unobscured views of the beach, a definitely plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We wanted a warm, relaxing beach holiday and we got one. Easily the best we have been on. The lodge is right on a beach of soft white coral sand, fringed by palm trees. The rooms combine simplicity with good taste and comfort. The sea is clean and warm to swim in at high tide and the swimming pool is right outside the rooms.

We spent most of our seven days swimming, reading, eating fabulous meals and wondering how we would be able to leave. One day we took a trip from a nearby dive centre out to the reef for snorkelling and watching dolphins - easily arranged from the lodge.

The site has been cleverly designed to give the feeling that it is miles from anywhere and the nearby village never intruded. In fact, it was an asset to be able to watch local fishermen and seaweed collectors at work out on the reef. Local people are friendly and there is absolutely no hassle.

Gloria and Thomas are perfect hosts and the staff are friendly and efficient. Great chef!

I thoroughly recommend this lodge and would love to go back.

Room Tip: We had a beach view room, which really did have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mchanga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mchanga Beach Lodge

Address: between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 141 hotels in Zanzibar
Also Known As:
Mchanga Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mchanga Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.