We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation A-Hoy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mchanga Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mchanga Beach Resort to your Saves list
Mchanga Beach Resort
Between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 158 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation A-Hoy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A truely lovely place to stay set in gorgeous surroundings and a good location. The rooms are sufficient and very comfortable, although can get a little hot at night.
The grounds are lovely and in keeping with the setting.
The staff and owners a very nice, helpful and obliging.
Food was great, although not many options, and by the end of the stay I was desperate for anything but eggs for breakfast! Alcohol is a little pricey though....
The beach was stunning and pool lovely for when the tide was out, and there are other options for dinner / lunch by walking along the beach.
Recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are right at the front, so have unobscured views of the beach, a definitely plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barley81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We wanted a warm, relaxing beach holiday and we got one. Easily the best we have been on. The lodge is right on a beach of soft white coral sand, fringed by palm trees. The rooms combine simplicity with good taste and comfort. The sea is clean and warm to swim in at high tide and the swimming pool is right outside the rooms.

We spent most of our seven days swimming, reading, eating fabulous meals and wondering how we would be able to leave. One day we took a trip from a nearby dive centre out to the reef for snorkelling and watching dolphins - easily arranged from the lodge.

The site has been cleverly designed to give the feeling that it is miles from anywhere and the nearby village never intruded. In fact, it was an asset to be able to watch local fishermen and seaweed collectors at work out on the reef. Local people are friendly and there is absolutely no hassle.

Gloria and Thomas are perfect hosts and the staff are friendly and efficient. Great chef!

I thoroughly recommend this lodge and would love to go back.

Room Tip: We had a beach view room, which really did have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menelik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Mchanga Beach Lodge for a total of 15 days. It is a beautiful location with powder-soft white sand. On arrival it does feel like you have arrived at an exotic island! It was very enjoyable, the staff was very friendly and accommodating with all our various requests. A Special thanks to Kain, James, Rose and Jennifer! However there is a few areas for improvements. The beach strip gets quite dirty after high tide, with several clothing item washed out. The seaweed growth has rather taken over. The beach boys (vendors) becomes a real pain. I think for guests staying more than 7 days, the food gets very boring and repetitive. Not having any bacon or meat at breakfast was a killer! The liquor prices were exorbitant, as their wines come from South Africa but has a mark-up of more than 600%! As South Africans we felt this was daylight robbery. Their prices are most definitely set for their USA and Europe guests. Paying full board we sort of expected to have soft drinks as part of the package. The aircons are not efficients for the bigger rooms (room 1) and they should have an extractor fan in the shower / basin area, as this gets unbearably hot and humid. Also the twin-bedded rooms (10 & 11) have no shelve space and are situated right next to the aircons and staff quarters which makes it extremely noisy. My grown up children found it difficult to sleep with all the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have the best view. The older rooms (10 & 11) too noisy, but aircon works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueSouthAfrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After our first trip to Mchanga Beach Lodge in 2009 we spent another holiday here
from Nov. 11 to Nov. 19, 2012. During both of our visits we enjoyed every day at this phantastic and clean place,
and their high standard of services has even been improved since our first visit.
Guests are now provided with free and fast internet access.
Moreover, we enjoyed a relaxing professional massage at the newly built Spa.
Another highlight was and still is the delicious food they
are serving at the cosy restaurant, and the entire staff was always very friendly and helpful.
All of them seem to be well trained by the owners Gloria and Thomas who are also personally looking after their guests.
Our room was very clean and nicely decorated and it was a real pleasure to stay
at Mchanga Beach Lodge again. Many thanks to all staff members. We will not fail to recommend this lodge wherever possible.
It is our firm intention to visit this beautiful place a third time in due course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uwe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after a two week safari in Kenya and Tanzania. If you want quiet, pure relaxation, isolated beach, good food, excellent service, comfortable rooms with air conditioning then this is the place for you. Rooms 1 or 2 have the best ocean views but all are fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geosand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

What more could you want? Gracious and attentive hosts; white sand beach on the Indian Ocean; delectable food beautifully presented; well-appointed and serene bungalows; friendly staff who work hard to make your stay enjoyable in every way. Mchanga was the perfect ending to our family reunion post-safari. It is in a peaceful secure spot amidst fishing villages, seaside homes, and a more boisterous resort. If you want access to nightlife, go elsewhere. The genius and the charm of Mchanga is the chance to settle into a beautiful day, every day, without a responsibility or care or distraction in the world. P.S. The very gentle and attentive spa services definitely helped with that relaxation!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms ate wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyRod_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night as we were enroute to another lodge, but we would have stayed longer. Perfect for a 'get away from it all' break. Yes it is remote & quite a distance from the other hotels, but that's what some people want. The service was friendly as were the owners. As vegetarians, we found the food to be fantastic, delicately spiced and unlike other beach lodges - they offered a vegetarian starter & a main course.

Room Tip: Lodge number 2 has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanzaniatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zanzibar Island
0.0 mi away
Pemba Lodge Ltd.
Pemba Lodge Ltd.
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pongwe Bay Resort
Pongwe Bay Resort
#2 of 5 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 5 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mchanga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mchanga Beach Resort

Address: Between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibu, Close your eyes, imagine silence interrupted only by the sea and the sound of coconut trees, white sandy beach and peace...welcome to Mchanga of Zanzibar. We are located 40 minutes from Stone Town on the north east of the island between the Matemwe and Pwani Mchangani villages where there is no presence of large hospitality establishments. Mchanga in swahili means sand, therefore our paths, the floor of our restaurant and bar is made with the same white sand of the beach....at your arrival you will be asked to remove your shoes and wear them again only at your departure. Our only purpouse is to make you feel comfortable and pamper you with the luxury of simplicity. Recharge your batteries by enjoying the tranquility of our location, the food of our restaurant, the selection of our cocktails and an extensive menu of treatments and massages. Every boungalow has been decorated with local patterns and motives made by locals; satellite tv, A/C, comfortable beds and all the amenities to make your stay even more enjoyable. We do provide a number of services such as private transportation from and to the airport, excursions to the various points of interest of the island...everything to make your stay hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mchanga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mchanga Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing