We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mchanga Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mchanga Beach Resort to your Saves list
Mchanga Beach Resort
Between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 143 Hotels in Zanzibar
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After our first trip to Mchanga Beach Lodge in 2009 we spent another holiday here
from Nov. 11 to Nov. 19, 2012. During both of our visits we enjoyed every day at this phantastic and clean place,
and their high standard of services has even been improved since our first visit.
Guests are now provided with free and fast internet access.
Moreover, we enjoyed a relaxing professional massage at the newly built Spa.
Another highlight was and still is the delicious food they
are serving at the cosy restaurant, and the entire staff was always very friendly and helpful.
All of them seem to be well trained by the owners Gloria and Thomas who are also personally looking after their guests.
Our room was very clean and nicely decorated and it was a real pleasure to stay
at Mchanga Beach Lodge again. Many thanks to all staff members. We will not fail to recommend this lodge wherever possible.
It is our firm intention to visit this beautiful place a third time in due course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after a two week safari in Kenya and Tanzania. If you want quiet, pure relaxation, isolated beach, good food, excellent service, comfortable rooms with air conditioning then this is the place for you. Rooms 1 or 2 have the best ocean views but all are fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

What more could you want? Gracious and attentive hosts; white sand beach on the Indian Ocean; delectable food beautifully presented; well-appointed and serene bungalows; friendly staff who work hard to make your stay enjoyable in every way. Mchanga was the perfect ending to our family reunion post-safari. It is in a peaceful secure spot amidst fishing villages, seaside homes, and a more boisterous resort. If you want access to nightlife, go elsewhere. The genius and the charm of Mchanga is the chance to settle into a beautiful day, every day, without a responsibility or care or distraction in the world. P.S. The very gentle and attentive spa services definitely helped with that relaxation!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms ate wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night as we were enroute to another lodge, but we would have stayed longer. Perfect for a 'get away from it all' break. Yes it is remote & quite a distance from the other hotels, but that's what some people want. The service was friendly as were the owners. As vegetarians, we found the food to be fantastic, delicately spiced and unlike other beach lodges - they offered a vegetarian starter & a main course.

Room Tip: Lodge number 2 has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had 5 nights here, parents with 2 teenage daughters. A quiet and small development to get away from it all and relax completely. Beautiful scenery - palm trees, bougainvillea around the traditional palm thatched lodges, all very restful with great attention to detail. Very friendly staff and food pretty good too. Beach right in front is sandy and swimming is good. On half board, you will find that the bar bill for daytime food will be a bit steep, in dollars and western prices.

Room Tip: Some rooms are set back from the sea view a little but all the settings are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent the first few day of our honeymoon here and it was excellent. The food and staff were really good. Sand like powder and a very relaxed feel. It has everything you need without being over the top. I would recommend Mchanga Beach Lodge to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the left hand side if you are facing the water. It was spacious and cheaper than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

From 23 until 31 mrt we stayed in Mchanga.
It was very very nice! Thomas and Gloria the owners give you the feeling that you stay with friends. Every evening they came to ask how your day was.
The staff was very frendly and tried to give us a heavently feeling.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mchanga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mchanga Beach Resort

Address: Between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibu, Close your eyes, imagine silence interrupted only by the sea and the sound of coconut trees, white sandy beach and peace...welcome to Mchanga of Zanzibar. We are located 40 minutes from Stone Town on the north east of the island between the Matemwe and Pwani Mchangani villages where there is no presence of large hospitality establishments. Mchanga in swahili means sand, therefore our paths, the floor of our restaurant and bar is made with the same white sand of the beach....at your arrival you will be asked to remove your shoes and wear them again only at your departure. Our only purpouse is to make you feel comfortable and pamper you with the luxury of simplicity. Recharge your batteries by enjoying the tranquility of our location, the food of our restaurant, the selection of our cocktails and an extensive menu of treatments and massages. Every boungalow has been decorated with local patterns and motives made by locals; satellite tv, A/C, comfortable beds and all the amenities to make your stay even more enjoyable. We do provide a number of services such as private transportation from and to the airport, excursions to the various points of interest of the island...everything to make your stay hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mchanga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mchanga Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mchanga Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.