We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place not to be missed during spring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast National Park

West Coast National Park
West Coast National Park, South Africa
+27 22 772-2144/5
Website
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The West Coast National Park hosts vast concentrations of migratory birds, and is an ideal spot for appreciating the colorful flora endemic to the region. There are picnic sites, hiking trails, and opportunities to go mountain biking or whale watching.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place not to be missed during spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A beautiful park where the flowers bloom during spring, easily accessible via car and cam move around easily. Plenty of wildlife as well such as caracal, kudu, tortoise, snakes, spring box, zebra, mongoose and many more.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Make the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited over the weekend whilst the Post-berg section is still open (Aug and September). The floral carpet was spectacular and the Gemsbok, flamingos, ostrich and others added to the beauty. Definitely worth the drive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

About an hour and a half north of Cape Town and an easy drive on good roads, we heard that the flower display (August and Sept) was in full bloom - it was! Beautiful. Had lunch at the restaurant in the park - good food although try and avoid arriving just after a coach full of tourists! Plenty of birds for those who like them - especially raptors and flamingoes. Distant (100yd+) views of zebra, springbok, ostrich, Eland etc. Saw our first ever "wild" tortoises!!
Top tip 1 - tell them you are local when you drive up to pay and you only pay 50% of the international ticket rates (which at 96 Rand a person starts to get expensive with 4 in a car).
Top tip 2 - make sure you do this on a gloriously sunny day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's not a long trip from Cape Town.
We were very lucky to stay in the Park for a couple of nights. It is quite a small park but has lots of interesting features, which I have to admit we didn't entirely cover. The central feature is a calm lagoon and on the other side of the sand bar the crashing Atlantic. When we were there the mist rolled in in the morning.
The spring flowers were just coming out when we got there and they were lovely, I'd like to go back at their best sometime. Driving around we spotted quite a lot of wildlife (tortoises, ostrich, antelope, owl, flamingo, waders, lots of other birds) in the area, and the Postberg section was open with quite a lot more species of antelope around and it is particularly known for it's flowers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we were there it was Fathers Day and completely deserted. This added to our pleasure because we could meander bird spotting without annoying the less patient visitors who only seem to stop for the largest mammals and any predator. The West Coast Park is not for them anyway. With the Lagoon as it's centre piece, this is a bird watchers paradise. We spent all day and could have stayed longer. At our snails pace that was enough for us to get all the way round to the point at the recreational end of the lagoon and back again. Spend a full day, take your time (and a good quality Bird guide) and you will have a glorious day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Coast National Park also viewed

Overberg District, Western Cape
Langebaan, Western Cape
 

Been to West Coast National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coast National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.