We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Breakaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifftop Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clifftop Lodge to your Saves list
Clifftop Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Welgevonden Game Reserve | East Gate Entrance, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Romantic Breakaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Situated at the top of a ravine overlooking a river, Clifftop is the perfect venue for a romantic breakaway. My husband and I spent two nights at Clifftop and absolutely loved it. The rooms are very private and set up for romance - with private decks, plunge pools and enormous baths. We didn't get to use the plunge pool but it looked fantastic. In the very cold weather, two of our game drives were quite flat but our second morning drive was amazing - the ranger's knowledge of the animals added even more value to the experience. Each night the staff set up private, romantic dining rooms for us - once in the wine cellar and once next to a roaring fire. All in all, very romantic, enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
82
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

To anyone who whishes to experience the ultimate Game Lodge Experience ,there is only one place to go to and that is the Cliftop Lodge in the Welgevonden Game Reserve. We spent 3 fantastic days in the company of exceptional staff , execellent food and experienced ultimate luxury . From the first reception on arrival to the amazing rooms ( we stayed in room 1) to the long very entertaining drives with our host "Mr Sivet Sebastian" who's passion for the environment and the animals in it rubs of on you instantaniously and lots of laughs. The time and effort the staff go to make each dinner time experience exceptional in a different venue each night was very unexpected but so appreciated our extra special thanks. To Ursulla , Sebastian and our butler that looked after us we Thank you for everything , we will definitally be back..for more

Room Tip: The signs on the high way are the new names for the areas for example" Modimole" once you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Ok so some people on here don't rate this get a life your in the jungle. Our stay was five of us and it was amazing from the moment we walked in to wine and hot face towels every time we came off the drive was a amazing...Urusla was fab every time we went and came back she was there along with Joseph and a number of others. Our rooms were beautiful and I was lucky enough on a few occasions to have an elephant out side my room. Where do I start with the game drive Sebastian was also amazing every drive we went on his eyes were like the cats he found everything knowledgeable
and also fun. Thank you so much everyone for an amazing time... Xxx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Thanks to Sue, Sebastian and team at Clifftop, wonderful staff, great venue, excellent food and very accommodating to guest special needs. The rooms are fantastic and well thought out, you can congregate in the comfortable lodge or chill in your room with equal comfort. Game viewing was excellent and our ranger, Sebastian was patient and diligent in finding the best game for us to view. A highly recommended experience.

Room Tip: All wonderful and discreet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I spent weekend of 27 - 29 at Clifftop. Gorgeous setting, tranquil environment. But definately not five start. Well received, friendly hostess Sue and butler. Room not well cleaned (grime on floor), heater/airconditioner not working (meant six knocks on the door from the same poeple trying to sort problem - neva solved (heater necessity in the bush middle of winter). Food very poor - breakfast served cold on both day we were there. Staff not trained on personal boundaries and tended to overshare and be over friendly. Slippers not provided as standard - had to request. Take own robe is you are larger than UK14 - its a small lodge and they could keep one or two extra robes that are size UK16 - spending a weekend away at 5* with half fitting robe did not meet standards of the place. Game drive was enjoyable - rather too long (left 715am and returned for breakfast at 11:20 am with a muffin in between). Our game ranger was new so depth of knowledge very limited. No big five experince during our stay.

Positives - we had dinner first night in the wine cellar - lovely setting but food did disappoint (no creativity and starter of seafood platter tasted more like tinned mussels), 2nd night we were offered dinner set up in our own room - nice touch to it. And well appreciated. Room had amazing views and own plunge pool.

Place has potential but not yet there. Review is based on having paid nearly 45% less on standard price (paid R6200 for two nights as couple). Could not justify the reduced price based on experience. Hope the management can look at ways to offer better food, more clean rooms with crisp white towels (towels looked and felt old).

Sue the hostess is friendly and helpful. Butler was equally lovely.

Room Tip: We were offered the honeymoon suite which was nicely decorated, private and well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWalker71, Director of Sales at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway would like to advise that we have addressed all the areas of concern raised in your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns with Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our aim was rest, rest and more rest - what an amazing break! We enjoyed our gorgeous modern room overlooking the gorge. The amazing game drives with Sebastian and exceptional service from Urusla and her professional team made us enjoy our stay more. We were so fortunate to have watched a pride or lions stalking a sounder of warthog - how lucky! Thanks for a great weekend away.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon suite" was a special experience - amazing privacy and the private dining ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Staying at Clifftop Lounge is like dream comes true for me and my family.This is most luxurious and best in class property in Welgevonden Game Reserve.
View from the Lodge is mind blowing, food is delicious.
They have great team of people and Jungle Safari. Best experience so far.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifftop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifftop Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve | East Gate Entrance, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clifftop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifftop Exclusive Safari Lodge is an exquisite bushveld hideaway, a unique resort, where service is understood and luxury is elegantly understated. The setting is breath taking and provides a beautiful African backdrop for a world of easy going elegance.All 8 suites have a private deck with plunge pool,thatched sala and indoor and outdoor lounges. The en-suite bathrooms have both indoor and outdoor showers, separate bath and bath consumables. The suites are non-smoking and have air conditioning, direct dial telephones, hairdryers, hotel stationery, mini bars, room safes, electric blankets and tea/coffee making facilities. Private Wine Cellar dinners are available by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in the 36000ha malaria-free Welgevonden Game Reserve in the Waterberg Mountains, offering the Big 5. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per night.Halaal, Kosher and any other special meal requirements are catered for by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clifftop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifftop Hotel Vaalwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifftop Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.