We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“It's your best choice in Hargeisa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Hargeisa

Ambassador Hotel Hargeisa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hargeysa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambassador Hotel Hargeisa
Airport Road | Hargeisa, Republic of Somaliland, Hargeysa, Somalia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hargeysa
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's your best choice in Hargeisa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel choices in Hargeisa are limited to the Ambassador and the Maan Soor. The Maan Soor is better located closer to the city center and is the choice of most Africans travelling to Somaliland. The Ambassador is next to the Hargeisa airport, which is under repair at the time of writing. When it reopens, this is a convenient location for those who are coming in and out. The security situation is delicate and the Ambassador has several measures to protect its guests.

Internet is quite good and the restaurant is decent with many choices and good prices.

If you have many meetings in the city center, this hotel is the furthest away so give yourself at least 20 minutes to get there.

The location is quiet with a nice view of the city.

The staff are friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that sometimes housekeeping forget to knock before entering your room.

The fitness center is in terrible condition with most equipment not functioning and there is no pool.

The rooms are clean but if you are here for any length of time, get a suite which are just slightly more expensive but larger. Rooms don't have a/c on fans.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
2
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was the first time i went to Somaliland i was very sceptical about going, however i enjoyed my stay very much that i actually have booked another holiday to go back in June.

Somaliland has grew very much as a country from the civil war they had with Somali 22 years ago, they have brought themselves up from nothing and have become unimaginable.

They might not be recongised but that is something that i believe will happen soon, there is so much to see and do in Somaliland. The local people are very friendly and always welcoming which is always wonderful and makes your experience and stay that much better.

The people of Somaliland welcomed me and made me feel at home, Somaliland is a very safe counrty and i saw no trouble walking around their city centre alone or with friends.

There are many people in Somaliland who have come from different countries, even Somalilanders who were born and raised in different places in the world who go back to their motherland. I've seen some that have even moved there who have started their own buisnesses.

I enjoyed my stay at Ambassador Hotel, and will be returning in the next couple of months.

I hope you all vist Somaliland one day and fall in love with it as i have.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm using this hotel regularly for a project I'm working on and all in all, very comfortable. I wouldn't say 5 star (as the website suggests) but the rooms are clean (private bathroom and shower - no shower curtain), TV with about 15 channels, reasonably decent and reliable wifi (although worth paying $70 USD for a backup Somtel dongle), plenty (UK) plug sockets and a clean and comfortable bed. Breakfast is basic but the restaurant in the garden serves a decent array of veg and meat dishes, and very nice milkshakes! It is very close to the airport, which is currently closed until the end of March (except to light aircraft), which means it does take a good 5-10 minutes to get into the town centre. The location helps add to the security of the location, with good views over the city. Gym isn't up to much but they have one, and staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: You can get a second wifi connection for your room (for a second device) by asking at receiption, ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This is the recommended hotel, close to the airport (although restricted to small planes during refurbishment) and view over the town. NGO area outside as the hotel owns many villas nearby. Secure here and restaurant is in the garden with variety of food, and non-alcoholic drinks. Internet works fine. Get a local SIM card, and don't expect SMS messages to be sent. Good sized rooms and shower ok but no curtain so water all over the floor! Friendly staff, and excellent value for about $70 per night.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two times in this hotel and it is realy a good hotel. Ofcourse do not expect a Dubai hotel (if you would like that), but it has a great garden with with tables to sit and have a drink or to eat lunch or diner. Also very attentive staff. Clean spacious rooms.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

the ambassador hotel is the best hotel in horn africa becouse of every thing is amazing Because you get friendly staff high quality and sweet food rooms are so clean you feel happy you can able to see all the city its also so safety in secure you get best internet with high speed really I can’t forget that day you feel you welcome and the people are good
I can say if you went to visit in hargeisa the best place is ambbasadoor hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city, new york
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a perfectly good hotel. Hargeisa in not in Somalia as indicated above, but rather in Somaliland, which is a functioning (though not recognized) country. There are no problems as regards safety. A two-day trip to Somaliland to see the caves as Las Geel with neolithic paintings is well worthwhile. At the moment, Somaliland is accessible from Ethiopia by land only via Jijiga, and by air and land from Djiboutie, and by air from Kenya and Dubai.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel Hargeisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Hargeisa

Address: Airport Road | Hargeisa, Republic of Somaliland, Hargeysa, Somalia
Location: Somalia > Somaliland > Hargeysa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hargeysa
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Hargeisa Somalia/Hargeysa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Hargeisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel Hargeisa to your Saves list