We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove to your Saves list
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 35, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great room with great views.

Lovely meal in the restaurant with great and very attentive service.

Nothing to much trouble for the staff in particular Maxime and Julia who were both exceptional.

Breakfast had a good selection.

The hotel is in a good location, the area has a few local restaurants within walking distance along the beach and a short taxi ride. We did find a very good value and quality buffet restaurant called the Casadani it was quite new so had no reviews. La Scalia is further away but has nice Italian food and a lovely hostess.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    158
    58
    27
    19
See reviews for
59
329
15
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Before our visit last week we had stayed at Fisherman’s Cove 35 years ago for our honeymoon, before Tripadvisor and I think before the internet. Our agents told the hotel the name of the room we had stayed in all those years ago and it was still standing (Bonito which is now 102) and the hotel kindly held it for us. We stayed for 5 days after a week in Praslin.

The entrance hall is still as it was but much else has changed usually for the better. The room was great, what they describe as Junior Suite Ocean View (nos. 101 to 111 I think) and centrally situated directly facing the sea. Some minor improvements might be - more space for clothes storage, more hangers and another lounger on the terrace (which all the similar rooms had). The bed mattress and pillows were top quality and the bathroom was great though perhaps too big.

Food wise we had booked half board and the buffet breakfast was excellent. We generally had lunch at the cafe just by the pool and all the standard cafe dishes we well executed. The buffet dinners in Le Cardinal were adequate with the occasional top quality item. For us the best thing about the dinners was the singers and musicians who we thought were very professional. We missed the chance to dance at or after dinner which we used to do all those years ago in the old restaurant on the same spot.

For a snorkeller the coral reef straight outside the hotel is in surprisingly good condition with many colourful fish though you need to be careful with the tided. If you just want to swim off the beach and not use the large pool it is a 5 minute walk to a sandy section.

As the Emirates flight did not return till 23.55 we negotiated a late book out of our room till 21.00 at a reasonable rate though of course this may not always be possible if they are fully booked. We found the service level from all the staff we encountered a good deal higher than the Seychelles norm.

There was building work on sites adjacent to the hotel to the left and right which neither the hotel or our agent warned us about though they did not disturb us.

We thought it good value and hope to return again someday.

Room Tip: Junior Suite Ocean View (nos. 101 to 111 I think) are central and sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very beautiful property and nice luxurious rooms. the staff was very friendly and helpful and special thanks to Nigel the duty manager who really took care of all the guests very well. Only word of caution for people who are scared of lizards (like me) please do not try to eat in the verandah of your rooms...you may just have unwanted company which can kill your hunger!! But of course that is beyond the control of the hotel since Seychelles provides that kind of habitation but otherwise besides that freaky incident, I did have a great business trip thanks to the staff here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

That hotel is a gem and its personnel has an excellent attitude to make a holiday as pleasant as possible and to assist the client as much as it is possible. We had a BB and the breakfast is very rich. We had a la card lunches (some at the pool) and dinners and they were all excellent.
Since we liked so much that hotel, so after being there 5 days we returned to that hotel after being 10 days in neighboring islands, since we felt there "at home".
It shows that a lot of thinking was invested in the rooms layout (In our two rooms we could see the ocean from the bed or from the bath tab and from the other even from the rest room...).
We would like especially to highlight Julia, the front desk supervisor and Bernadett the waitress however all the staff was very friendly and effective.
On the low side - The hotel is located in Bel Ombre while the best beach is in the neighboring Beau Vallon so to swim or to enter the sea W/O putting any shoes one should go 5 - 10 minutes via the beach to Beau Vallon beach. However, if one prefers snorkeling so there are coral reefs and tropical fish and turtles around 30 meters in front of the hotel but having a good beach shoes is a must (otherwise one might step on an Urchin).

Room Tip: As we could see - All room are facing the ocean. We had on the first visit room 140 and on the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in here for 4 days, our travel agent booked this hotel for us because our usual hilton Preference was not available, what a fantastic choice. We were greeted with cold drinks as we waited to be checked in. Our room had a seaside view, imagine looking at the ocean as you sleep and first thing when you open your eyes in the morning. Our room was so beautiful, the bathroom gosh.....beautiful as well. Room service was not that great, we asked for our sheets to be change and it wasn't. Breakfast buffet was enjoyable, they have different dinner buffet theme evening night, 70 euros per head I think which is kinda expensive, what can one possible eat for 70 euros. 2 weeks after we left Seychelles, the hotel contacted us saying we were short charged on our dinners and we were owing them, obviously someone was not doing their job. Our overall experience was great, staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the side side villas, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed late September 2014 on my honeymoon for 9 days, arriving at the hotel a day late (thanks Emirates) we were not disappointed, staff that were genuinely friendly and the rooms were comfortable, clean with great views of the bay - WOW!

I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

The breakfasts were well organised and although a buffet it was relaxed with a good selection was available every morning.

We walked along the beach most evenings (after dark) to local eateries, take a torch, but felt safe at all times.

We hired a car for five days of our stay, driving is OK, but take your time the roads challenging! I would not drive after dark.

See the island there is a heavenly view around each corner - WOW!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at Le Meridien 5 times since 2003 and have to say that in passed 4-5 years with reinforcement of French management the hotel has improoved significantly. In fact, it's exemple of something really value for money spent.What's negative? First of all this a general trend of over-exploration of wonderful Beau Vallon Bay-Savoy and another huge monster neibouring Le Meridien will kill the wonder in close combat. The water already looses its marvelous the day through transparency, the coral garden at Le Meridien corner is getting more and poor regarding marine life. Of course, one may say, the exessive development can't destroy the overview to Silhouette Island and another small Beau Vallon - Anse Marie Laure - is in 1 km walking distance ... Still I feel truly sad about what has remained of Seychelles

Room Tip: If you do not care too much about savings, choose the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove

Address: PO Box 35, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Fisherman`s Cove Hotel Bel Ombre
Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Bel Ombre
Bel Ombre Le Meridien
Le Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.