We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean front suite does not quite mean ocean front suite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LeMeridien.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 35, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Bel Ombre
Dubai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ocean front suite does not quite mean ocean front suite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Deluxe ocean front suite doesn't not quite mean a suite with a view of the ocean. We spent 4 nights here with our 10 and 7 year old & were given a suite uphill that had a marginal view of the ocean horizon (photo attached in this review.) We highlighted this to the management and we're promised that they would look into it but nothing happened and our complaint was conveniently forgotten. This is the only exception to an otherwise stellar stay at the le meridien fisherman's cove.
The staff were always smiling , friendly and ready to help. The breakfast had an excellent spread. The lobby is spacious and has free wifi. The check in staff deserve special mention and managed to check us in a couple of hours early.
The pool and pool side have brilliant views and the pool is shallow enough for even toddlers to get in and have a ball. The beach adjacent to the hotel is clean and has soft white sand. Although the beach is not a private beach, it comes close to being the next best thing.
The room was clean large and well appointed. The bath had a shower and a tub. There is a large flat screen tv provided but has disappointingly few English channels. There is wifi available in the room but charged slightly less than 20usd a day.
The hotel is about 20 mins by car from Victoria and about 35 - 40 mins from the airport.

Seychelles lived upto it's image with hauntingly blue green waters, winding roads and hills with ever green rain forests. The best way to go about is by car and I recommend renting one. The market in Victoria charmingly colonial and small enough to explore by foot.

The hotel lobby has a rent a car service and a boat hire agency. We used them both and highly recommend them.
We took a day trip to the Therese island and snorkeling in the marine conservation park using Billy and, to us, this was one of the highlights of the trip. The waters and the marine life at the conservation park are awe inspiring and should not be missed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    137
    51
    28
    19
See reviews for
49
289
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed 7 glorious days in March 2013 staying in room 130 from 19 March. The warmth of all the staff was second to non and the food was superb. we went for our silver wedding having been there 25 years ago for our honeymoon and the hotel was even better than we remembered. we have been to many places in the world and this hotel and Mahe beats every other place easily, sheer paradise. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and even car hire was so easy, the cars are at the hotel ready and hardly any paperwork ! A truly amazing hotel in a spectacular setting in the most stunning scenery in the world for sure.We are going to go back every yaer from now on in March. David and Alison, Derbyshire, England

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct first, all rooms are great but superior rooms are actually their lowest gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridien S, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David R,

Your kind review awakens inspiration for our team and it was indeed a pleasure having you in our care and ensuring a unique discovery of the destination and Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago


I stayed in this Hotel for one week in February 2014 with my husband. It was the first part of our honeymoon. We chose this Hotel on a B&B basis because we both wanted to explore the island of Mahé rather than stay in an all inclusive resort. The Hotel has a lovely ocean view and an authentic infinity pool on the seafront. The staff were very polite and professional though I found ordering drinks or food quite slow. However the pace of life is different over here compared to the West. We stayed in a deluxe room with an ocean view. The rooms were spacious and open planned. It was lovely and intimate for honeymooners as the large bathtub had views of the ocean. The wooden floor could be quite slippy after a bath or shower! One of the managers on duty was Irish (like myself) and he was so helpful giving us a map of the island and recommending beaches, places to eat and walking trails on the island. The hotel has a lovely pool by the beach but has a limited amount of loungers. Many guests would get up in the morning and leave their towel on a lounger and not return for hours. I think the Hotel should address this problem as I was left without a lounger on more than one occasion but several were not being used but had towels over them. The breakfast was full of choice and had a great variety of tasty fresh fruits. We never had dinner here but had lunch twice and found the food satisfying and we enjoyed cocktails most nights overlooking the ocean. You can walk to Beau Vallon via the beach during the day but exploring Mahé by night is best done with a car. The capital Victoria is about a 15 minute drive away. The island is quite small so you could see and do a lot if you hired a car for a few days which I recommend you do as Beau Vallon beach is not the best this island has to offer. This hotel is full of charm, is in a great location and perfect for couples who want to relax but also explore.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridien S, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sibh83,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, it was wonderful to read of your inspiring experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon for yet another unique discovery.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looking for somewhere special for a landmark birthday for my wife. This place flagged up on a mailshot from voyage prive and we both were instantly taken by the appearance so having got tired of looking at other options booked it immediately. Felt slightly reticent afterwards as i hadn't done my usual research but i need not have worried.

The trip is a bit of an ordeal - about 24 hours all told with a change of planes in dubai but emirates were excellent. We had private transfers as part of our deal and were swiftly on our way. The only slight negative was we arrived early morning and our room was not ready which after being in the same clothes for 24 hours was a little frustrating but the reception staff were very polite and helpful and after breakfast we were taken to our room.

We also had a deluxe room upgrade and it was beautiful. Huge, spacious, clean and modern. a lovely split level open plan bathroom /sleeping and seating area with terrace out onto the lawn with a separate walk in wardrobe. All the rooms are single level in a beautifully managed garden and the hotel fits in well with its environment .
All beaches are public in Seychelles so the very comfortable rattan sunloungers were in the garden or around the decked area of a well maintained infinity pool.

the beach is lovely although disappears mostly at high tide and the area directly outside the hotal is a little rocky. The snorkling even from the beach was amazing with multitudes of fish and coral within 100 yards of the shore.

The backdrop is awesome also with steep forest clad mountains rising up behind the hotel often with a cloud cap to around 1000m.

we were half board - breakfast and dinner were both buffet. the dinner was of such excellent quality despite being buffet and the variety, with a different theme every night was such that we never tried the seperate a la carte restaurant. There was normally a small 2 or 3 piece local group palying during dinner all of which were of good quality.

We only ventured out on 1 trip to do a private guided hike on a mountain trail of which there are many. Our guide, Steve, was lovely - he used to work for the local dept of environment , and was hugely informative showing us all the varied flora and fauna including the famous minature frog about 2mm long! we would never have found it without his help. The trail was steep and it is very humid so it was fairly hard work but the views from the platform at the top were amazing and well worth it. At 50 euros each for half a day i thought it was also excellent value.

We both used the spa early on and the ladies were so lovely and skillful that my wife made 2 further visits during our stay.

Otherwise without exception all the staff were friendly, polite and exceptionally helpful, always with a ready smile. We genuinely have not experienced this quality elsewhere and the hotel was tranquil and relaxing - great for an older couple like ourselves as there were very few children to disturb the peace. Nothing against them you understand but i do like it quieter if possible!

We rarely return to a venue as we love to see new places but i may well make an exception here. Highly recommended. As a cautionary note there is a lot of further building along the beach with more commercial hotels. This did not disturb us but i fear the nature of this area may change in the near future.

Room Tip: If possible the deluxe room was well worth it but i think we got an exceptional deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridien S, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear drmhf,

We are delighted to have unlocked the destination and ensuring an unforgettable experience at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

Your kind comments have been shared with our team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for yet another unique discovery.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i had the great pleasure to spent my second honey moon at LE MERIDIEN FISHERMAN"S COVE.
It was a lovely 6 nights,very pleasant and very relaxing.Thanks to the management,thanks to the great and unique location.A great location of the swimming pool and very vast beach.Very professional personnel , smiling all the day,and very helpful, The rooms are beautiful with great exceptional view,with all the accommodation available.Great lady working in the restaurant at the breakfast ',icon of the island' - Mrs Bernadette;very professional,very pleasant ,working with simplicity and confidence pride...Mr Wael Rashed ;smooth and silent and intelligent,perfect manager.Wishing to be back at the same hotel,same room,seeing again the same harmony of staff.
The swimming pool is the master piece,you are in,but you feel you are in the sea?-you have to try it.

Room Tip: rooms next to the pool are very well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridien S, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear NOKALY1ST,

We are inspired reading of your delightful experience at our little corner of paradise, your kind words have been shared with our team. It was indeed a pleasure to have you in our care thus ensuring a memorable honeymoon.

We look forward to welcoming you back for yet another discovery.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is super friendly and the location is second to none. You are on the edge of a cove with a nice coral reef to snorkel and a three to five minute walk along the beach to a sandy portion of the beach that is great for swimming. The room had a fabulous view and the pool was really relaxing and refreshing. Only a couple of suggestions: even though the staff is super friendly, it takes a while for things to get done. We asked for some additional toiletries and it took over 2 hours. Also, there is a real limited supply of hot water. Some of our showers were rather cold. Also, the internet in the room goes in and out, so I could see business travelers getting frustrated with the internet timing out. These are all really minor on the big picture. This is a great place and would highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridien S, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Tyler A,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our unique location, at the tip of the picturesque Beau-Vallon Beach.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at the "Meridien Fisherman's Cove" during a recent work trip for 5 nights, and I must say this is a very nice hotel, clean rooms, attentive staff, amazing dinner buffet!
Great management that does make a difference!
Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridien S, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear georgi_kiwi,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, our passion is to ensure a unique experience for each guest and it is inspiring to share your journey with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove

Also Known As:
Le Meridien Fisherman`s Cove Hotel
Le Meridien Fisherman`s Cove Hotel Bel Ombre
Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Bel Ombre
Bel Ombre Le Meridien
Le Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove Seychelles/Mahe Island
Address: PO Box 35, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.