We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Scenery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove to your Saves list
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 35, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is what I call ultimate relaxation. Lying at the pool deck of this hotel is one great place to forget that a hectic world exists out there. The scenery of vast ocean, mountains and islands before you is truly amazing.
I guess all of Seychelles is truly amazing, but going by the poor reviews I had read of other hotels in Bel Ombre I must say this was a gem. Staff were friendly, hotel was in good condition and rooms were clean.
While the hotel has no beach right in front of it, you can still enjoy the pristine beach that is adjacent and that was never too crowded.
The fine dining restaurant had truly amazing food. Seychelles hotels are expensive and it is advisable to get half board where possible, there were not too many options for good dinner even on this side of the island as expected. That said there are a few dinner places within walking distance (beach access) at low tide or taxi ride (R100) when it got dark, I was not too impressed with most.
Lovely location and I would definitely go back for the great views once I manage to beef up my depleted bank account . Had a great time in Seychelles.

The bus ride into town was less than 20 minutes and cost 5 rupees.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Njere,

Seychelles is truly paradise and we at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove ensure that our guest experience total relaxation and comfort whilst staying with us.

I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful journey with us, thank you for your kind comment and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    166
    58
    27
    19
See reviews for
61
341
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was one of the most remarkable hotel stays we had over the last 5 years. Now we did travel quite a bit in that period but have never felt so warm and friendly in a 5 star hotel ever. At times we wonder if that was real. All we had to do was to talk to them and all of them, from the GM to the gardners, took us in with open arm and made our holiday very special. We actually found the team at this hotel very different to the most of the other ones. Please let me elaborate.
1stly I did book through an agent and the hotel actually published a rate substantially low. With the help of the hotel personnel, I somehow managed to get the rates published. In my conversation with the hotel, I also learnt that the airport transfer offered by the agent was 3 times the price charged by the airport!!!. Hilda was our contact from the hotel. Fantastic to work with.
The hotel is not new. But is spotlessly clean. The staff is very professional, courteous and help is only a request away. The room was specious and comfortable. Never had an issue of bugs or insects despite its proximity to vegetation. NO MOSQUITOS either!!!
The breakfast spread is good but limited.
We Asians get bored with a typical English breakfast after a while and on an instance like that, my wife Rehana spoke to the waitress and she actually offered something different for the next day. And she indeed kept her promise. Rehana had a very original creol breakfast the next day. She thoroughly enjoyed it with tears in her eyes. She felt so special. Now we have never had such kind gesture in any other hotel, not even in our own country. We subsequently learnt that the hotel had even consulted a Sri Lankan staff member to figure out a suitable meal for us. Later we learnt from the GM that the hotel would do almost anything within their means and resources to meet client requests. And this came at no extra cost!!. A similar request in South Africa triggered a price that did put us off in an instant.
The dinner is expensive but the spread is great and changes on a daily basis. We also had a few meals from restaurants outside. Meals of such quality and taste hardly came any cheaper. If you have a flare for curries, you would love the dinner spread.
Water is expensive but who would buy water from a hotel. There is a decent shop down the road. We bought all our water from there. Infact the hotel provided transfer took us there even before we got to the hotel. For 200 rupees, we bought 21 bottles which along with the 2 complimentary bottles we get from the hotel daily, was sufficient for the whole trip.
We did not try the restaurant. But we used the pool bar.
The hotel is in a very convenient location. The beach is fantastic. Although it isn’t private, we still enjoyed all the privacy we ever needed. One of the most popular beaches in Bel ombre is just a walk away.
If you ever happen to select this hotel for your next break, talk to the people in the hotel when you get there. You will find the Hotels GM from breakfast to way past dinner. Now he is a wealth of local knowledge. So are the others. Talk to them and see how they respond to you. You will be amazed. WE WERE!
In conclusion, I believe this hotel has done a remarkable turnaround under the present team and its only fair and just to them that you ignore all negative comments prior to 2012.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Lakmin S,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay, your kind comment will be shared with our team.

Our associates pride themselves in ensuring that each guest departs with a remarkable experience during their journey at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove. It was a pleasure to have you in our care and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon for another Le Meridien discovery.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I knew that we had arrived at the perfect vacation spot when we stepped out of the taxi into the open lobby, which looks out directly onto the beach. We were welcomed with a beautiful juice cocktail and smiling faces. Our room was one half of a bungalow duplex with a terrace directly facing that same beautiful view. The room and bath were spacious and tastefully decorated. The property is maintained to the highest standards. The gardeners are hard at work every day, and their dedication shows. The housekeeping staff does an equally beautiful job. The front desk staff were always helpful with our inquiries, and the restaurant and bar staff seemed like old friends after a couple of days. This hotel is in an indescribably wonderful location, but the staff is what makes it a perfect vacation spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Kyhoma,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that our associates attended to your needs thus guaranteeing a memorable and comfortable stay. They work extremely hard to ensure each guest feels special and belonged during their discovery at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you in our care and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We just got back from our vacation in Seychelles and had an amazing time there. We stayed for slightly more then a week in Meridien and was very impressive by the service of the staffs especially Sophia & Nigel. The front desk staffs are really helpful and the hotel manager was also very involved in making our stay an unforgettable one. Thumbs up for the staff!

We had the suite facing the sea and the beach are just steps away. Despite that, we still enjoy the tranquility and waking up to the sound of the wave every morning :) There's tea session every day from 4-5 and you can enjoy complimentary tea, coffee and cakes while watching the sunset next to the Le Bourgeois restaurant. It was simply heavenly to sit back, enjoy the sun set as you sip your tea/coffee. Totally enjoyed ourselves and will definitely recommend this hotel to those who are going to Seychelles

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Cactemp,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

Thank you for reminding us of the comfort and tranquility that our suites offers and i am delighted to read that it met your expectations to ensure a relaxing holiday. It was a pleasure to have you in our care, it is our aim to ensure that each guest feels special and belonged during their journey with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for yet another discovery.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had the pleasure of recently staying at the Le Meridien and our expectations were exceeded. The staff consistantly went beyond the standard call of duty to ensure our stay was one that we will never forget. This extends from the staff at reception, to the waiter/waitresses at all restaraunts onsite and the spa staff. What a treat!

Room Tip: choose beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Arti J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

Such pleasure to read of your wonderful experience during your journey with us and I can assure you that it was indeed an absolute pleasure to have you in our care thus ensuring a memorable holiday.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for three weeks, it is total bliss. The service makes you feel like royalty and the entire place is LUXURY. We had a two bedroom cottage/shack that was Devine, the bathroom is open air and you can stay in the tub for hours looking at the sky.
We had our wedding vows renewed while here and the staff made it the nicest day of our lives. They did everything for us and when we left the cottage they turned it into a love nest with rosé petals throughout, champagne and fruit and subtle music playing.
I highly recommend that you meet Mervin the guy who runs the activities like diving, tennis etc, we met him and he became a friend to us, taking us to meet him family and showing us the island, we are still in touch now and he deserves a huge mention.
This hotel leaves nothing to wish for, its wonderful luxury coupled with laid back and fun style is simply amazing.

Room Tip: Meet Mervin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Jane L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

It is lovely to read of your amazing experience during your journey with us, I am delighted to hear that our associates attended to your every needs thus ensuring a memorable celebration and stay. Our associates work extremely hard to ensure each guest feel special and belonged and your kind comment will be shared with the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon for yet another discovery.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fisherman's Cove is in a great location, right at the end of the beach. We stayed at the end of June and it was lovely and quiet - just perfect for us with no children running around - there were a few the second week, but I wouldnt say this is the ideal place for kids or teenagers - as they would probably be a bit bored. We loved the tranquility. Its not the biggest hotel or the most glamourous however it has a great feel about it and the service and people certainly go along way to make sure you have the best time. Bernadette in the restaurant always greeted us with a smile and thank you so much for the lovely fresh passion fruit in the morning! Everything was laid back and chilled the views were fantastic and a walk along the beach at night to a few other restaurants was great. Just watch out for the crabs on the way back - take a torch!
We stayed in a Exec ocean front suite which was lovely and quiet at the end of the resort (the resort isnt very big) so not far to easily get everywhere in a few minutes, we had a lovely room and bathroom and it was always immaculately clean, we had an outside day bed and just in front by the indian ocean another one under a coconut tree - depending on if you want the sun or not. Easy access for snorkelling with lots of fish to see. We very much liked the Le Bourgeois restaurant food was fantastic, the cocktails in the bar are also very good.
The Manager Connor was also on hand and very involved in the hotel and the operations which is a very good sign of impressive customer service.
All in all we had a fantastic relaxed time and would go back if visiting the area again - but then the world is so big so perhaps somewhere else next time.
Thanks to all at the Fisherman's Cove for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Try and go for the ocean front suite if you can it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear JTinUK,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

I am delighted to read of the many discoveries made during your journey with us and it is wonderful to hear that our associates attended to your every needs thus ensuring a memorable stay. It was indeed a pleasure to have you in our care and your kind comment will be shared with the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, if not soon, but during your journey around the world.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove

Address: PO Box 35, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Fisherman`s Cove Hotel Bel Ombre
Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Bel Ombre
Bel Ombre Le Meridien
Le Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.