We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place - service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keur Saloum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Keur Saloum to your Saves list
Hotel Keur Saloum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toubakouta, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Toubakouta
Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“beautiful place - service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed for a weekend: 3 families & were almost the only ones. Yet service was sometimes difficult (though very fast!): it seemed as we were disturbing the waiters!
no power on Sunday meant the swimming pool was unusable.
View is breath taking.
They had first put us in some awful little rooms next to the parking lot - we quickly changed fo the spacious rooms facing the river (why not put us there in the 1st place?)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
37
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

A large group of my fellow American co-workers had a few weeks of expedition-style work to do in the vicinity of Toubacouta and were looking for a secure place to stay that could also support our needs for food, laundry, and internet. The Hotel Keur Saloum proved to be an absolutely perfect location. With a minimum of two night watchmen observing from both the land and water, friendly villagers surrounding the fenced-in property (which is locked at night), and a very attentive and friendly staff, the location met all of our security needs. The manager,Cristoff, was one of the most accommodating people we have ever dealt with. In fact, we began to realize that he is probably one of the most dependable people in the entire area after he had his boat drivers meet us out in the water and transport us in the middle of the night from an island where our boats had broken down. He coordinated meetings with local officials for us, made arrangements for all of our logistics, and ensured that the staff took care of all of our needs. The staff themselves were very respectful and courteous and as we made an effort to learn French, they all made an effort to speak to us in English. We arranged for full board so that all of our meals came from the hotel, with lunch being mobile. The hotel SURPASSED our expectations in the realm of food. Breakfast is very simple, but we arranged for them to provide the protein we needed. Lunches were usually sandwhiches and salads made to go and packed for us in ice chests. Dinners were unbelievable....served as if we were dining in a high-class restaraunt and consisting of a variety of fresh local food sources and recipes that proved to be OUTSTANDING. We rented a number of the cottages and a few of the suites as well. The views from the suites is absolutely amazing. Overall, the hotel and the staff made our work here in Senegal so much easier to accomplish because they took care of all of our needs and supported us 24/7 - even when our meals needed to take place at 3 or 4 am after a long overnight expedition. We have been so impressed that many of us with families back in America are looking forward to trying to return on a trip that is for pleasure rather than business! There were couples who occupied the hotel at the same time as our expedition party and all of them looked as if they had found the perfect paradise...making us jealous that we couldn't share our experiences here with our loved ones!

Room Tip: Suites A and B are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed at Keur Saloum with a group of friends; two families and two couples on a long weekend from Dakar, May 2012. Great location, wonderful small pool, very friendly owner (dog friendly too!). The location is spectacular, overlooking a branch of the Saloum Delta. We fished a lot and caught several interesting (and tasty) fish from a launch arranged by the hotel. They rent rods, provide shrimp for bait, and even give you cushions for the boat! You can charter trips out to the ocean, and we saw other guests bringing in several barracuda! Spectacular bird life is a highlight, too, and birding trips can also be arranged. Food is top shelf. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The suites are more expensive, obviously, but down near the water and spacious. Great bocci court ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We can only speak in superlatives about our stay in Keur Saloum. From the warm welcome in the airport of Dakar to the relaxing stay at the waterside and the bird-watching trip at sunrise: Alain,Simonne and the guides have always devoted themselves with their full heart. The service was warm and caring, the food was more than up to standards, and most of all: the surrounding villages – and the people we met there – have provided us with unforgettable memories.
Anne & Christ Marichal

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Little bit difficult to review this hotel as it seems to suffer from a conflict of identity. It is in a truly 5 star setting, with wonderful views and gardens, Pool & restuarant setting all very good. The rooms are 2-3 star as expected, the room is nice, and bathroom big, but a bit tired looking. Breakfast is disappointing and I have had much better in hostels and then dinner is like a family guesthouse or pension. And all this at a 4 star price...

Towel card used to get towels which is a bit out of sorts with the guesthouse aspects of this hotel.

Past guests have complained about lack of English speaking. Bare in mind this is Senegal! That said, the receptionist spoke English, as did the general manager, who is a Swiss guy who greeted us personally and also gave personal farewell. The service was very good in this respect. One of the two shopkeepers could speak English. The rest of the staff are being taught English, and most can speak a bit, but a little French may be useful. All good fun though.

We went half board, which I would recommend. . No need for a guide in the village, everyone friendly enough, and 'prettier' than the coastal Gambian villages/towns.As for food in the hotel... breakfast was breads and fruits, which was fine, but seemed out of place with what the place is trying to be, and desperately lacking compared to the much cheaper hotels in Gambia. We noticed Belgian/French tourists brought their own yoghurt! To match a decent hostel breakfast they need to provide a boiled egg and some cereal; to become cheap European hotel standard they need to add cold meats/cheese on top of this. The more I think about that breakfast, the more rubbish i think it was!! There was no local foodstuffs except a soft drink. Gambian hotel breakfasts are brilliant!

Dinner was a bit weird. It was like a guesthouse, where you get what you are given! The day's food is shown on a board (you couldn't call it a menu, as there is no choice!) so you know what the food is in advance, but it is in French.. we used a translater which came up with steak, which we thought would be ok, however it was fish steak, which was not so good as I don't eat fish (and did inform the manager of this at check-in). On a positive note, they were happy to change it, and cooked up a decent steak pretty quickly. Would be good to get a choice in advance though, even if it was just one or two options. I've just remembered that on the first night, they tried to fob me off with an omlette instead of the fish for dinner; I was pretty shocked by that - would have been the most expensive omlette of my life!!!

This place could be truly great if they sorted out the dining issues, as it stands it is still recommended and a good place for a couple of nights whilst in this part of Senegal.

Banjul to Toubacouta took about 3 hours including ferry and border crossing. We paid 10,000 CFA (about £12) for taxi each way to and from Toubacouta to border. Then paid 200-225 dalasi (about £4.25) to get to Barra by taxi, ferry was 10D (20p) each, and then taxi to Atlantic coast in Gambia about 20 mins and 250D (£5). So total cost less than £11 each - brilliant!

Toileteries were not provided except soap from dispensors, this does not bother us. Mosquitos are about at dusk and can be annoying. Pool a bit cold, but once again, that view is lovely!

Tips - Wander round the village, and talk to the locals. Keur Boum for lunch.Outside the hotel, many of the local tourist shop owners can speak good English, and this is where we spent a lot of time. We had tea with the locals and he translated so we could talk to kids etc. We spent about £2 in his shop and were with him for almost 2 hours...more ». It was nice. However be careful about going on trips in pirogues with locals, some are good, but others are note - we had a leaky boat, with a busted motor! Hotel trips are fairly priced and use good boats; however the boatman could not speak English, hence we were tempted by the locals!as for lunch you can try Keur Boum in the village. They have a limited menu, but the steak I had (£5) was very good and with one of the best sauces I've had in a long time. You can also pick up cheap local stuff in the village, but French will be useful here. Crisps etc about 20p a pack in small shops

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

This is my second visit to Keur Saloum, chosen as it has been the nicest hotel in this region for some time. The staff is friendly and the location is beautiful, but it is very expensive, and as is the case with some foreign owners they run it a bit like their own little kingdom and so it feels stuffy and out of touch with the community and the region. Le Paletuviers next door has been newly purchased and renovated and may be the new best place in the region. Both staff and management there are very welcoming to all.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We felt we must respond to some of the negative comments this hotel has received. We spent a fantastic week there in March 2009(unable to enter the correct date above) and was even disappointed we had to leave to spend our second week in Gambia.
Like in any French speaking country a basic knowledge of the language is appreciated. We were the only English people there at the time, but found everyone to be so friendly and helpful. We are also vegetarian and know in many French speaking countries this can cause problems, however we advised the management and staff and after just a few minor hiccups the food was excellent, especially the French bean salad. We were also looked after by a member of staff who was attentive at all times.
Excellent birding trips were layed on at the Hotel and we would like to thank everyone for making it a memorable holiday.
Can't wait to go back for two weeks as one week is just not enough.

Lynne & Roger

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Keur Saloum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keur Saloum

Address: Toubakouta, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Fatick Region > Toubakouta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Toubakouta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keur Saloum 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Keur Saloum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Keur Saloum Senegal/Toubakouta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keur Saloum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.