We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with very good cuisine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Paletuviers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Les Paletuviers to your Saves list
Les Paletuviers
BP1, Toubakouta, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with very good cuisine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel with great view, an excellent place to rest and do some sightseeing. It is in the middle of nowhere in an authentic Senegalese village about 3 hours from the airport of Banjul in Gambia. The transfer (organized by hotel and with guide) is an adventure. The hotel has nice rooms located in seperate huts. There are many excursions you can do but the best was the one in Fathalah where you could go for a walk with 5 small lions. The food is excellent even above Belgian standard. People working there are very friendly. October was maybe a little bit too hot resulting in a low occupancy but this made it more fun as all people where from Belgium.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    39
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
30
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

In many ways a very nice place, but given the excellent website we were expecting slightly more special and elegant surroundings. The staff are very nice and helpful but there is a lack of attention to detail (we were not warned that the sign to the hotel from the main road had been stolen and consequently it took us quite a time to find the place). The food is not bad but nor is it good. The basic rate is very reasonable but the extras are disproportionately expensive as are the drinks, which are at European plus prices. The village itself is a fairly typical and not very exciting African village. You tend to be hassled the minute you step outside the compound and the line of shops are to be avoided at all cost. The two day one night excursion to the beach is not cheap but is certainly worth it. The enthusiastic Belgium manager was nice, helpful and did her best. In general it is in danger of having African standards at European prices but still worth a visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Absolutely incredible but through !
All info on this group of hotels is not advised in the official Sénégalese language : FRENCH.
Say same as info on a London-based hotel would not be in English.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmallWorldMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Les Paletuviers, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Eric,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for Les Paletuviers. All the information at Les Paletuviers is written in French as this is the local language that all the staff speak. However the French side of our website has been down temporarily so perhaps that is what you mean? Whenever we have English speaking guests we also put an English directory in their room so that they can read about the hotel, area and excursions on offer in their own time.

We always encourage all guests to raise any points or queries they may have with the management team during their stay so that they can be rectified on site. I am sure that the management would have been very happy to help you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at Les Paletuviers for a week in November, our first experience of West Africa having travelled extensively in East & Southern Africa. During our visit we found the staff most helpful and eager to please. Although all are fluent in French the staff, particularly the waiters are very eager to learn and practise their English. One guide in particular is fluent in French, English and Spanish and his enthusiasm for the birds of the area is bound to win over even the least interested bird-watcher. Bird life in the area is amazing and we found that all staff taking guests on excursions were eager to point out the birds; most carrying well-illustrated guide books to reinforce their descriptions. The rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable. The food was of a high standard and there was a set menu for lunch and dinner but guests could choose a la carte; we didn’t see any guests choosing a la carte as the set meals were so attractive. There are a large number of excursions to choose from and it might be advantageous to give some thought to these before you arrive at Les Paletuviers. As the staff become more proficient in speaking English there is bound to be an increase in English-speaking visitors to Les Paletuviers. The owners are developing and improving the hotel and grounds and the pool area is attractive to laze around. Their team of friendly and helpful staff provided us with a relaxing and fascinating stay. We recommend a stay in this unspoilt area with its superb climate throughout the year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our first time this far in Africa was a wonderful and colourful experience! The friendly guide from Les Paletuviers picked us up in the airport and arranged the shuttle to the hotel. A young and dynamic Belgian couple is refurbishing this magnificent place in to a real 'feel and taste' African hotel. Outside on the terrace we enjoyed the very good kitchen of the local chef who is cooking to a higher level. Nipping of our mojito and watching the sunset is something that could last for ever... ;-). We booked each day one of the nice excursions: visiting the village of Toubacouta, a fishing village, a market without other tourists, bird island,... and last but not least, we took a romantic trip to Plage d'Or! This paradisebeach on the outskirts of the delta and into the Atlantic is a must stay and enjoy! Your personal chef and waiter give you the time/night of your life... Oysters, gambas on the BBQ, hmmmm ! We will come definitely back before the rest of the world will discover.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Came here for the night whilst on a trip to Senegal from Gambia. The rooms are basically little huts and i had to change mine because the first one i was put into was dark and shabby but when i changed i got a much nicer, brighter, more spacious one. The pool was nice but cold, the location very good for exploring the nearby village, and you could not beat the wonderful feeling of relaxation sitting on the porch and having an ice cold beer overlooking the mangrove swamps.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWORTH, YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel on a two day trip to Senegal from Gambia. We found it lovely. Simple elegance and a lovely tranquil feeling. We wished we could have had longer. The rooms were simple but beatifully clean and nicely furnished and the restaurant and food just superb. The pool area was lovely. Everything beautifully clean and well presented and the service friendly and really pleasant. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toubakouta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keur Saloum
Hotel Keur Saloum
#2 of 3 in Toubakouta
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
#1 of 1 in Mar Lodj
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coeur Senegal
Hotel Coeur Senegal
#2 of 5 in Somone
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cordons Bleus
Hotel Les Cordons Bleus
#2 of 7 in Ndangane
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adjana Kaolack Hotel
Adjana Kaolack Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kaolack
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
24.5 mi away
Le Pelican du Saloum
Le Pelican du Saloum
#3 of 7 in Ndangane
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Paletuviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Paletuviers

Address: BP1, Toubakouta, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Fatick Region > Toubakouta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect mix between the comfort of a luxury lodge and out of your comfort zone excursions, cultural encounters and adventure, run by the Belgian Karolien. Located in the most beautiful bay of the Saloum delta, protected by UNESCO and in the authentic village of Toubakouta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Paletuviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Les Paletuviers Toubakouta
Les Paletuviers Senegal/Toubakouta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Paletuviers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.