We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ndogo Safari - Night three at Sarova” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo, Tsavo National Park West P.O. Box 72493, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Ndogo Safari - Night three at Sarova”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here on night three of the Pollmans Ndogo Safari. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and the hotel offered a turn down service on an evening so when we returned to the room after safari the mosquito nets had been drawn around the bed and the air conditioning was on low.

We arrived from the safari at lunchtime which gave us the afternoon to enjoy a lovely lunch and then have time to sunbathe/enjoy the pool for several hours and the fantastic views over the savannah with the elephants and zebras who were also sunbathing and enjoying their watering hole to cool down! So much wildlife to see it was amazing and there were some excellent photo opportunities! We then went back out on safari late afternoon and were lucky enough to see some beautiful lion cubs on lion rock and also some cheetah's hunting.

On return to the lodge around 6.30pm, we heard a strange noise from the watering hole so all ventured outside only to see hundreds of buffalo swarming towards it. It was amazing to watch them drink the watering hole dry and also to watch the adult elephants nearby forming a circle around the baby elephants to protect them from the stampeding buffalo... once in a lifetime stuff!

The food was fantastic at this hotel, a great choice with display cooking also. There was an excellent range of desserts and cakes which looked lovely - clearly a lot of talented chefs and bakers work here! The waitressing staff in the restaurant were pleasant and took excellent care of their guests. Prices for drinks were similar to other lodges, 300 shillings for a beer, 450 for a glass of wine and 150 for soft drinks.

Lots of other groups were upgraded to the saltlick whilst we were out on safari however this left only 12 of us in the whole lodge. Some people were complaining that they hadnt been upgraded but to be honest we had the run of the whole lodge, there was plenty of choice for the evening meal and we had excellent waiter service on the evening as the 12 of us remained in the hotel lobby, enjoying the open fire and bar nearby with no queues. I was more than happy to remain at the Taita Hills. We had hoped to go on a night drive but the weather got the better of us with a fearsome thunderstorm which meant we couldnt go - maybe next time instead!!

Room Tip: Get out to the pool straight away and get a good seat with a view of the savannah
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
65
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Whilst this is a lovely hotel (and would be fine if staying in a city), it is unfortunately a really awful safari hotel. No wildlife seems to really come close to the hotel's watering hole and there was absolutely nothing to see from our balcony. Not a patch on the other hotels we stayed at where there were endless plains covered in animals.

Upon checking in, the staff were actually rather rude which left us slightly taken aback considering how lovely staff everywhere else. We were then given the wrong room (a double instead of a twin) and no apology was made for this. Other people on our trip had fresh flowers on their beds on arrival, and somebody came in and closed their mosquito nets/sprayed insect repellent for them during the afternoon; we got neither of those things. However, the room was quite posh and was clean. A couple of power outages but that's to be expected in the middle of nowhere, just learn to shower in the dark!

The food was nice, although evening meals gave only a small choice of food and was served in traditional restaurant-style; I actually prefer a buffet when on holiday so I can try lots of different things.

We didn't really have time to venture to the pool or try out any of the facilities (very reasonably-priced massages) but they all looked to be OK although I hear the pool was very cold.

Unfortunately we didn't have the choice but if you do, definitely go to the Salt Lick instead, much better wildlife viewing and that's what you go on safari for! (Plus how often do you get to stay in a round building on stilts?!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had one night at this hotel whilst on safari. The hotel accommodation overall was very pleasant but the room had not been properly cleaned and the sheets on the bed were very badly stained. Of the three lodges we stayed in this was the worst of the three.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Taita hills and dalt lick game lodges 7km apart from each other and under same Sarova management provided us with a warm reception and excellent service. The food is very delicious with a wide variety to chose from, the dining area overlooks the animal watering hole so you will regularly see at close range elephants buffaloes amongst others, the place is simply 1st class i highly recommend. Tony

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We last visited Taita Hills some 12 years ago. Not sure it has changed much since. Stopped in for lunch whilst on Safari and enjoyed a very good lunch. Everywhere is very clean and it is nice to be able to sit out by the pool and enjoy a cold drink. Taita Hills has a genteel feel about it and is a perfectly good spot to enjoy lunch before you head off for more game drives.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

stayed here for 1 night ,we had evening meal and breakfast here ,very good ,it was our 2nd time here and we can really reccomend it . the rooms are really good nice and comfy great time had by all,thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here on the last leg of our 4 day safari, rooms are a good standardand everywhere is spotlessly clean the lounge area has a large central chimney which is great for sitting around having a drink and a chat, the food was the best of all the lodges we stayed, like other reviewers have said the ginger sponge pudding is to die for, overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo
0.0 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#2 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge

Address: Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo, Tsavo National Park West P.O. Box 72493, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West > Tsavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is located at the main entrance to the Taita Hills Sanctuary in South Eastern Kenya, 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. A one hour flight from Nairobi or 30 min from Mombasa by private charter lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The sanctuary is a 3 hour drive from Mombasa and a 6 hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. Located at the main entrance to the Sanctuary, Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is an inviting stone building of 60 spacious rooms and two suites, all with their own private viewing balcony. Clients can command views of the adjacent Taita Hills, or the well maintained gardens surrounding the Sanctuary. At night, floodlights illuminate the swimming pool and gardens and provide an opportunity to see any wildlife in the vicinity. It is not uncommon to see elephants daily at the watering hole next to the swimming pool. In addition to the rooms and suites, the Lodge has a Main Restaurant, Bar & Lounge and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. The Lodge has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. There is a gift shop, fuel station and business center. The climate is very pleasant, with temperatures averaging between 18 Degrees Centigrade and 30 Degrees Centigrade year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. While in Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, you get to view some of the most exotic species of animals in Africa. Find your way to the local villages and learn a thing or two about the local culture. What better way to get the most out of your Kenya Safari holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Taita Hills Game Hotel Tsavo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.