We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay during easter break in april 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo, Tsavo National Park West P.O. Box 72493, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“stay during easter break in april 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

the lodge is in an excellent location with a great view of the hills from the room. the welcome drink and the cold towel at the time of the arrival is great. the staff is very courteous. going out of the way to take care of guests. the food menu is excellent.vegetarians can enjoy the spread. the fruits section was great. we had the tasteiest water melon in the recent times at the lodge.
the spa facility is good.
the night safari by the lodge vehicle is excellent. we saw a lionees and 3 cubs eating an ostrich.

Room Tip: all the rooms ahve a great view with a balcony. do not miss out on the terrace of the lodge for taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    36
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
63
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

stayed here whilst on safari beautiful views across the game reserve and a waterhole where elephant visited. The pool area and hotel is quiet and peaceful and will definatley be going back for a longer stay next time and would recommend it. you can stay here in the day and use the pool, the hotel provide a bus to Saltlick where you can see other aniimals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie M, General Manager at Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for finding time to give us feedback,i am glad we met your expectation and you left with fond memories of sarova taita hills game lodge.Guest feedback is very imperative to us at the sarova taita hills game lodge.
We are looking forward to hosting you again.
Yours sincerely
Willie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This lodge was the last lodge we stayed in on our 3 night safari, they saved the best till last!!! this lodge is beautiful! the food, staff and service were fantastic. The rooms are large and spacious, very comfortable and very clean.
On our game drive here we didnt see as many animals but we did see a lion!! We also did a night drive from here that was an experience I will never forget!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie M, General Manager at Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us at sarova taita hills game lodge and per your feed back ,your stay was comfortable and we met your expectation
I do want to assure you of our commitment to continuously uphold the standards.
we look forward to hosting you again in the near future,
Kind regards
Willie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely service. A great place to be based while on safari. We went in November so no elephants at the watering hole but there were plenty of birds. In the morning there were gazelles grazing outside our bedroom window. Food was good with plenty of choice. Lovely swimming pool. Will go back at a different time of year to see the elephants outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

stayed here on 17 oct .my wife and my daughter myself enjoyed staying here food good .after my tea i came out to look at the watering hole to see over 200 buffalo trying to get to the water there was a stand off between elephants and the buffalo .the staff were good the room were clean and nice .i liked the swimming pool next to watering hole so you can see animals.overall enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had lunch here before we could check in in Sarove Salt Lick. I really do not know why we had the check in here and had luch before we went to our other lodge. The personal was friendly and what i really liked was the view next to the swimming pool. There is a waterpool and elephants, zebra's are standing a few meters away from you. That was such a beautifull sight. I didn't like the total atmosphere from this lodge. It had no feeling like the other lodges where we stayed in. It was very modern instead of a little african feeling.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 1 night during a 3 night safari, the rooms here are lovely and the lodge its self is really very nice. There is a water hole very close to the pool area and we were able to see a lot of elephants there which was great. The food here was really nice and there was plenty of choice. We went on a night safari which was 2,000 shillings pp or $25pp, if you have the chnace to go, do! overall a very nice place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge

Address: Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo, Tsavo National Park West P.O. Box 72493, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West > Tsavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is located at the main entrance to the Taita Hills Sanctuary in South Eastern Kenya, 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. A one hour flight from Nairobi or 30 min from Mombasa by private charter lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The sanctuary is a 3 hour drive from Mombasa and a 6 hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. Located at the main entrance to the Sanctuary, Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is an inviting stone building of 60 spacious rooms and two suites, all with their own private viewing balcony. Clients can command views of the adjacent Taita Hills, or the well maintained gardens surrounding the Sanctuary. At night, floodlights illuminate the swimming pool and gardens and provide an opportunity to see any wildlife in the vicinity. It is not uncommon to see elephants daily at the watering hole next to the swimming pool. In addition to the rooms and suites, the Lodge has a Main Restaurant, Bar & Lounge and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. The Lodge has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. There is a gift shop, fuel station and business center. The climate is very pleasant, with temperatures averaging between 18 Degrees Centigrade and 30 Degrees Centigrade year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. While in Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, you get to view some of the most exotic species of animals in Africa. Find your way to the local villages and learn a thing or two about the local culture. What better way to get the most out of your Kenya Safari holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Taita Hills Game Hotel Tsavo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.