We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value in Foya Branca” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foya Branca Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Foya Branca Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Foya Branca Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sao Pedro, Mindelo, Sao Vicente, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Mindelo
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad value in Foya Branca”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We are a small family with one boy and a baby. We have stayed in Foya Branca for 17 days from 10/3 - 27/3 -2008.
Hotel has not european standard. First night we had cats peeing in to the ventilation of the villa. Next morning it was ant coloni at the kitchen. We have to move to another villa, with lesser ants, only in the bathroom and the terrace.
Both toilets stopped to work, and they was not able to repair.
We was only eating in the hotel, and even when not eat salad, only use of bottelded water we was all sick with diarrea. (exept the baby)
The solution was to eat in the Hotel port grande in Mindelo.
There were also suage smell in the evning, so we had to close for ventilation.

Service was good with frendly staff. The beach of San Pedro was stunning. I advise at trip to Santo Antao. The best is to buy fresh food in Mindelo and cook yourself. We are very glad we bring babyfood from Norway.

  • Liked — wiew
  • Disliked — Bad condition of villa
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    72
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
30
68
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mappleborough Green
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

Having read and agreed with most of the other reviewers i will not repeat their comments but add some additional remarks which i hope will prove useful:

While you are on Sao Vincente you must arrange a trip to Santo Antao. Speak to the rep (ours was Sonia) and get them to arrange a tour and an overnight stop at the Hotel Pedracin. The views are breathtaking and its a must do. Be aware the hotel does not take credit cards but its only 70 Euros for Bed/Breakfast and evening meal.

The local banks in Mindelo will not change sterling but if you go to one of the International banks (there is one in the square) they will and they only charge 500 Esc (£3.68) per transaction

There is a lovely cafe behind the library (Biblica) in Mindelo called La Pergola. Great for a coffee

The food in the hotel is good but be aware one of the cod dishes in the restaurant is salt cod and unless you are ino that sort of thing it's uneatable. It was titled "Cod with potatoes" but ask if you are in doubt

The Sunday buffet and Saturday Bar B Q are great value and you can eat as much as you want

The restaurants in town that cater for european tastes are not cheap - About £35 for a two course meal which is what you would pay in the hotel

The Cape Verde islands are not ready for tourism and quite a few people that stay in some of the other hotels on some of the other islands are very dissapointed.

There is no doubt that the Foya Branca is the best hotel out of all that are available anywhere on the islands but unless you just want a relaxing holiday with nothing much else to do then go somewhere else

Thats exactly what we wanted and we had a great holiday

  • Liked — Very Clean, Great Views
  • Disliked — Nowhere to walk to
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

Few hotels in Cape Verde can be described as luxurious, but the Foya Branca makes a reasonable stab at providing an above average and comfortable environment. We liked our room (try to get one up on the third floor with a view of the bay) which was simple but adequate with a balcony that was shaded for almost all of the day. The food was reasonable given the difficulties of sourcing fresh materials etc, and the dining room and adjacent bar pleasant and relaxed. We would definitely return.
The regular mini bus into Mindelo was reliable, and runs late into the night for those interested in the local nightlife!

  • Liked — view and pleasant shady balcony
  • Disliked — lack of greenery, but that's the island!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

We have just returned form Foya Branca.
It is a very pretty hotel with high standards of cleanliness everywhere!
The gardens and pool areas are very well maintained.Plenty of sunbeds and towels.
We had a room in the new block with a lovely view of the pool and beach, well worth it. There was also a spacious balcony.
The food was good and the staff very friendly and eager to please. The service in the restuarant can be a little slow as everything is cooked fresh.
The hotel bus ran into Mindelo and back, so it is easy to get into town with the great advantage of the peace when you return.
The pools are chilly to swim in January, but lovely when you are in.
The sea has undercurrents so we were advised to be cautious and always go in twos.It is not guarded.
On Sundays local families come in to use the hotel as a sort of country club. We found it all fine and the buffet lunch was good. You have to pay extra for that as the usual snack bar is closed until three.
It is a quiet and relaxing hotel. A good place to unwind.

  • Liked — The peace quiet and beach location
  • Disliked — Nothing doing at night
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

Have been back four times now - I love this hotel. It is very peaceful and relaxing - the standard rooms with the sea view are great and the restaraunt is superb. I was in two minds as to whether to comment as I do not want it to become well known so that it is fully booked when I next want to stay there !

  • Liked — Tranquility, the Room, the ambience, cleanliness, the beach, the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

we had our first week in Santa Marie, Sal then 2nd week at the Foya Branca Hotel, Sao Vicente, The hotel was excellent, although alittle disappointed on arrival as we requested a suite, as it was late at night was just glad to put our head down, but in the morning the room was very small with two single beds which you could hardly more around, then another small lounge with a balcony overlooking the sea.
we asked if we could upgrade then was shown the new building with lovely double rooms overlooking the pool and the beach with sea, wonderful!!!! was told no further cost so move to the new building straight away. so when you book make sure you are in the new building!
the staff were very helpful and friendly.
the resturant for eveings meals was of very high standard and we had a couple of meals there which were very good.
the resturants in town which the rep mentioned were also very good.
we hired a car for a couple of days and took to the road doing the sights which the rep had suggested, the beaches are wonderful but you need to take your own drink and food with you as no bars or resturants about, very very quite, especially during the week, on one beach we were the only people!!
the beach is wonderdul but the sea is not good if you are not a strong swimmer, lots of under currents.
the swimming pools areas are great with the sun beds, not on top of one another - loads of room to sunbathe especially during the week at the moment - last week maybe only 30 people in the hotel if that, so sun beds galore to pick your space!!!!!
if you want to see green trees etc this is not the place to come , rock and rock with more rock.
if you just want to relaxe., swim, get a good tan, and read lots of books this is the place to come.
one comment i would make about the hotel, is at weekends lots of the local families come for a fun day out, it is not quite at all in fact we did not use the hotel on the sunday we went out in the car.
my view on cape verde, is have one week on one island then change to another island for the second week, otherwise you will get very bored - at the moment not enough to see on the islands.

  • Liked — lovely bright large room with lovely view of the beach and sea
  • Disliked — the flies, although the cleaner did put fly killer in your room, they were every where
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

The location of the hotel on San Pedro bay is quite breath-taking. We spent hours walking up and down the deserted beach, watching the waves crash and floating in the surf. Although the sea is not suitable for children to swim, the hotel has three pools and a big fence to keep kids off the beach. The hotel's facilities were generally very good, particularly the restaurant which was of a very high standard. The latter is also willing and able to accommodate the tastes of veggies. When we stayed at the hotel the majority of guests were Cape Verdian, which made the overall experience more authentic. In short, a smashing hotel and a lovely location.

  • Liked — Large spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Layout of the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foya Branca Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foya Branca Resort Hotel

Address: Sao Pedro, Mindelo, Sao Vicente, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Sao Vicente > Mindelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Mindelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Foya Branca Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Foya Branca Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foya Branca Hotel Mindelo
Foya Branca Resort Hotel Mindelo, Cape Verde - Sao Vicente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foya Branca Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.