We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few feet from the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residencial Goa to your Saves list
Residencial Goa
Zone Calhau, Mindelo, Sao Vicente 71000, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mindelo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A few feet from the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A fantastic place to stay, set in a secluded location away from the main tourist areas offering a 'behind the scenes' insight into life in Cape Verde. Stan and Rafhaële were exceptional hosts and even though, through my own ignorance, I was unable to speak their language they made every effort to make me feel part of the family. The room met my requirements and even had a balcony literally a few feet from the beach. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matosinhos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

First time in Cabo Verde, all booked by the internet with no real idea of what we would find. Raph & Stan were the best hosts I've met and Goa is a beautiful place, very well designed and with a very comfortable ambiance. they really sned you the good vibes and the relaxing mood of the place. We even had the chance of having dinner once cooked by Raph and it was all amazing. Also Praia Grande is really close and Raph prepared us a small packed luck so we could have a picnic at the beach, couldn't be better. They received us as friends and the treatment was impeccable. I certainly advice it !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully designed, beautiful atmosphere, beautiful hosts! A great stay with people who could not do enough for us, the atmosphere is relaxed in a superbly designed guest house which was build by the owners . Absolute class!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmshorn, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Unforeseen I passed the residencia Goa visiting the area of Calhau. Just been invited for a coffee in the bar by a friend, I was totally surprised of the peace and tranquility of this small family owned hotel.
The earthy architecture of the hotel, the wind protected garden with loungers and hammock, direct views from the rooms and restaurant to the beach, surrounded by vulcanos and the Atlantic - one can tell that Stan and Raphaele build their dream into this puristic but dramatic nature.
Low profile with a perfect sense for food and hospitality both are providing an atmosphere of "being at home". So I decided on the spot to stay for four days and after visiting the neighbouring island of Santo Antao I stayed another three days in March 2012. Already the breakfast (home made fruitsalad, fresh brewed coffee, special bread and jam, etc) was already a great start in the morning.

I enjoyed every minute. If you are staying there too, don´t miss to walk up the vulcano. Maybe also visit the nearyby turtle sanctuary which is privately financed and run by Jorge, who really cares for the nature and the people of Calhau.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

we have been traveling quite a lot but staying with Stan and Raphaele is really something special: a really warm, calm and relaxed atmosphere, all time an open ear for questions, and a help whenever you need it. although calhau is a little bit remote on sao vicente, Stan helps you to get to the next restaurant (and back), and a dinner cooked by Raphaele is special. if you look for a relaxed chill-out place with a modern architecture and tasteful decoration, go for residencial goa and if you do not want to stay only in a hotel but having vacation with friends, you will feel yourself more than comfortable with Stan and Raphaele

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent 4 weeks traveling around Cape Verde and this was our favorite hotel. Very stylish decor with large airy rooms. the food was excellent and thoughtfully prepared and presented. The owners went out of their way to be helpful on several fronts, although there were a few minor charges for things that really should be complimentary. The location is okay, although not great. The beach out front has a little rip tide and there are some rocks to watch out for. There is a new development being planned for the area that might have a detrimental effect on it. We would go back for sure just for the relaxation value of the hotel itself. Its not cheap, but not overpriced either given how stylish it is.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The residential goa is really great weekend gateway, nice service, well maintained and nicely decorated rooms, the cleanliness of the hotel is great, the staff is very co-operative and friendly, the hotel has all modern amenities, best hotel to spend the good time with the family and loved ones.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Goa

Address: Zone Calhau, Mindelo, Sao Vicente 71000, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Sao Vicente > Mindelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mindelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The résidencial Goa, front the sea, dialogues with the broad one and is integrated in the authentic landscape of Calhau, the Ocean, the Volcanos.10 comfortables rooms (single, doble, suite) with bathrooms:- 4 rooms with the ground floor (3 with direct sight on the sea),- 6 rooms on the floor (5 with direct sight on the sea).Patio allowing the relaxation, peace, convivial living room with sight on sea, bibliotec and games, bar with terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residencial Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Goa Mindelo, Cape Verde - Sao Vicente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.