We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate relaxation and the best fish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina d'Tarrafal Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santo Antao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina d'Tarrafal Guesthouse
Save
You added Marina d'Tarrafal Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tarrafal de monte trigo, Santo Antao 97, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Santo Antao B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ultimate relaxation and the best fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We started our 2 week trip to Santo Antão with 5 days in Marina d'Tarrafal. It is a great place to relax, with views of sugar cane and banana trees from your hammock. The three rooms each have a small patio with a bench with cushions and a hammock. There is also a nice area where breakfast and dinner is served.
The fish and lobster we had here was the freshest and best we had during our trip. Tomas is very helpful and it was easy that his English was really good too.
The hike along the coast to Monte Trigo is about 4 hours and beautiful. This village is even smaller than Tarrafal and doesn't have restaurants. But Tomas phoned ahead and a nice lunch was waiting for us when we arrived. On the way back by boat (easily arranged through the fishermen at the beach) we saw red-billed tropicbirds.

Room Tip: The room closest to the back of the garden where the tents are has the best views from the patio. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Yes , the rooms are simple, but you are out in the country here. Its set in pleasant gardens, shady and within earshot of the sea, and peaceful too. So no complaints. And furthermore the food is sometimes very good indeed, if at other times interesting, and always fresh. What is more it is served with charm, and originality, by the most delightful waitresses. Tomas, the owner is very helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spanish owner Thomas has affectionately set up this little place directly on the beach in Tarrafal and is currently expanding by setting up three or four comfortable tents in the guesthouse's garden.

The place is very clean and comfortable and is more than just an alternative to the more renowned place Mar Tranquillidade 100 meters down the beach. Worth a particular comment is the food. Thomas has been a ship's cook for years and certainly knows his business well. His three-course dinners of finest seafood in a really good atmosphere remained unmatched throughout our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We went to the remote village of Tarrafal de Montetrigo, in the island of Santo Antao, looking for an authentic and peaceful place. And we found it in Marina d'Tarrafal Guesthosue. Tomás, a former cook from the Canary Islands, offers here a family, easy-going stay in a magnificent place. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are shared with friendly Cape Verde sparrows all around you. At night, he prepares delightful and unforgettable dinners, with grilled fish and lobsters. And everything at a very low price. Contrarily to the other guesthouse in town where they receive you with an 8-page rule list just after arrival, this place is full of charm and good vibrations, exactly what one looks when in holidays. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

It was not a holiday, it was a visit to paradise. Quiet, friendly personnel, and Thomas is a Michellin star cook. And if the schedule allows, you can even go fishing with him. And then eat the fish you catched!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina d'Tarrafal Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina d'Tarrafal Guesthouse

Address: Tarrafal de monte trigo, Santo Antao 97, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Santo Antao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Santo Antao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is close to the beach, 50 meters from the sea. It has rooms for 1 or 2 people, with bathroom, a private terrace with garden and communal areas in the open air, perfect for those who wish to rest. We prepare Cape Verdean and International dishes. We specialise in fresh fish and, on request, we can prepare lobster and vegetarian food. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina d'Tarrafal Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.