We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most lovely bay on Santiago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarrafal Beach

Tarrafal Beach
Strand von Tarrafal, Tarrafal, Santiago, Cape Verde
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Tarrafal
Attraction details
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The most lovely bay on Santiago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were here in off-season and enjoyed to have this beautiful beach almost entirely to ourselves! The beach and water was very cleand. Snorkeling is possible right off the beach, sometimes there are whole schools of small fish passing by. A lovely place!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dreamy beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I enjoyed the calm of this little village and the splendid beach. We were very few people and the sea was perfect. In the village, people are friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the delicious fish and pizza at the Pizzeria Grill Alto Mira, which has a very pleasant Mediterranean courtyard and the market, where you can buy local specialities and loads of delicious vegetables and fruits.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and safe bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you travel to Cape Verde during the windy season, the sea can be dangerous. Tarrafal beach is a safe place to be with children

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful beach, bad management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed in the only hotel on the beach of Tarrafal: Baia Verde. The location is beautiful, a beach with little bungalows, restaurant, palms, local fishing boats....what more do you want? The only downside is the lack of management of this establishment. Probably no maintenance was done the last 10 years. The owner could not care less, questions of other guests were not even answered. One guest had his mobile phone stolen from his bungulow and he was sure it was done by the niece of the owner, he even had a witness. He was ignored by the owner.... like it was his own fault. A very strange and disturbing situation.

Anyway: high points for setting and surroundings, no points for the location itself. Be careful, it is no as safe as it looks in Tarrafal.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Picture postcard beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My two grandsons and I spent a week in a stone bungalow under palm trees several steps from Tarrafal Beach. Each morning we were awaken by local green monkeys playing on our roof, snorkeled and sunbathed through the day, and fell asleep each night to the sound of the waves.

The beach is African authentic with a group of fishing boats going in and out all day, and women in colorful fabrics carrying fish in containers balanced on their heads.

We happened to stay during the week of Lent and much to our amazement discovered that Taffafal had its own Carnivale celebration with dancing and music throughout the night.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarrafal Beach also viewed

Praia, Santiago
Cidade Velha, Santiago
 

Been to Tarrafal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarrafal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.