We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Djadsal Holiday Club

Save Saved
You added Hotel Djadsal Holiday Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Djadsal Holiday Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Caixa Postal 29, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Santa Maria
Jicin, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here for our anniversary and we were pleasantly surprised - it was better then we expected.
The hotel itself corresponds to an average 3star. The staff was very friendly and willing. The atmosphere was wonderful.
The beach is directly in front of the hotel. It is big, sandy with aquamarine blue water.
We recommend all-inclusive program because it includes absolutely everything - all spirits, coctails, water, snacks, coffees, beer, wine without limitations and all day long.
The food was excellent with a great variety. We loved the peace and quiet of the hotel. The animation team was also great and unobtrusive.
Around the hotel there are not so many restaurants - the all-inclusive is recomended. The villige Santa Maria is about 10 min walk along the beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    27
    19
    17
See reviews for
22
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Perfect location, maybe not Hilton, but staff are 5 stars with a extra +.
Was there at nov/dec 2009 & liked the location, beaches, food & local people.
Show the local people your genorous side and you will have double back, we was spending 8 days and are now forced by my wife to go back.
We booked Hotel Djadsal, but are closed for refurbishing this oct-dec 2010.
If you looks after Hilton standard, stay home.
If you looks after relax, nice people, good food + good prices, go St Maria.
If you are a openminded person & understand you are flying to Africa. you will have a wonderfull staying.
Will be at sight nov/dec 2010.

With kind regards.

Mats Lindgren.
Sweden.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Having stayed before at one of the Riu hotels and not really liking the experience we decided to stay at this hotel for a change. They offered us an incredible rate for our bungalow which really sealed the deal. The hotel is getting old and needs renovation. But the bungalows are ok and sleep a family of 4 quite comfortably. They cleaned our bungalow every day and changed sheets and towels daily as well which actually surprised me. The meals were good but lacked in variety, there was never a shortage of food when we were there. The hotel has a big salt water pool but it seems to me they are struggling to maintain it. I think this hotels main asset at this point is the staff. They were very friendly and attentive and the entertainment staff were simply wonderful with my kids. And you could see that they really work hard with little resources. The beach in front of the hotel is very nice, with calm turquoise water. We had a relaxing vacation and my kids really had a very good time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

This is supposed to be a 4 starts hotel… Well, I’ll give it 3 hardly.
The food wasn’t good; the kitchen staff didn’t restore the buffet…
The rooms were really ‘basic’; there were no activities during the day.
The hotel structure is good but is clearly getting old.
The hotel has a capacity for maybe 500/600 persons… We stayed between 3 and 10 July 2010 and there weren’t more that 100.
Terrible experience. If you’re thinking Djadsal, please think again. Most people I talked told me that Riu e Crioula are the best in Santa Maria.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

I Was worried about what we were going to think of this Hotel after reading comments on here, but rest assured....there was nothing to worry about. We have a 6 and 8 year old boys and had a fantastic 17 day relaxing break...had 3 days extra due to the volcano in Iceland. We stayed in one of the Hotel family bungalows which was basic....ours was very spacious some are smaller, traditional and spotlessly clean. We had no drawers, but lots of surface space and 2 wardrobes. Rooms were cleaned every day, including Sunday and that included clean sheets and towells every day. We also had pool towels that we could change as often as we liked. Our Veranda had bananas and limes growing over it....and often you could smell the fresh limes. After our 1st walk down to the beach and our 1st night in the hotel we knew we had made a good choice.
For a couple of days we were a little concerned about the pool, it is salt water and looked so dirty and the sea seemed cleaner....but after enquiring why, we were told they were changing the colour of the water from green to blue and it took 2-3 day to do......2 days later it was brlliant crystal clear blue....Wow. Due to location the kids happy jumping the waves and walking to the pier most mornings, followed by lunch (which they normally ate with the hotel animation team), then they would have a couple of hours sleep to keep out of the hot hot sun, and so they could stay up to see the evening shows...which they loved.
The Beach outside the Hotel was also amazing and it was in a very good location....just 10-15 min walks to the pier and to Santa Maria town...despite what others write...We found Santa Maria totally safe, and the only people who at first approached us are market sellers (normally over from Senegal), and even if you say 'no means no' to them and carry on walking they accept....
If you went out of the Beach entrance of the Hotel, you could either walk along a promanade or in the sand with the waves on your feet. Along the promanade there are a few local trade stalls, and a couple of beach restuarants...our favourite being the Turtle Shack....which is always full of people on their Laptops (as has free Wifi), but also the cheapest internet Cafe, and the cheapest international phonecalls. On the promanade outside the Turtle Shack is the best Tourist Office...we found out about it from a Swiss lady in our Hotel...kept telling us about Scottish Ellen....so we went to see Scottish Elaine to book a trip. Her trips and excusions around the island not only seemed to be very good value compared with others, but she does have a reputation for the best island tour...., this was very good value and we really saw the true island of Sal, as others said the same who had booked with Elaine, but I did hear some other horror stories that were booked else where...think they were taken to the places and left to there own devices. We also did the Pirate ship snorkling and fishing trip. Elaine kept the boys happy as she had a little puppy asleep in her bag, and expressed an interest in holiday home in Santa Maria. We gave Elaine a wish list of what we wanted and within 24 hours she came up trumps!!! She said I will take you to 3, and came and collected us from our Hotel, but the 1st property hit the spot and in our price range.....she knows the area really well and listened to what we really wanted. She has just recently started to do the property thing. If you are interested in finding out about property in Cape Verde drop her an e-mail -------- and let her know what your interests are. She really is very friendly and loves to just share her love of Cape Verde.
So back to the Hotel....the animation team was a team of very enthusiastic local talant that came from various of the Cape Verde Island. They were always around the hotel between 10-12:30 and 1530-1730, they played golf and danced with the kids, sometimes went in for a swim. They played volleyball, football, tabletennis with all the bigger kids, including the adult kids...they kept us all amused...even on occassions found my husband playing draughts with one of them!! They did about 4-5 shows a week and we never got tired of watching them. Once or twice a week they had other groups in for a show. We especially enjoyed watching a Cape Verdian Martial Arts group! The Bar staff were all from Santa Maria, and very friendly. They spoke many different languages as this Hotel had a mixture of Portugese, Italians, French and Swiss. But it was never very busy....so we all became very friendly with all nationalities. Had a wonderful evening out in Santa Maria with a portugese family. We were all inclusive and there was always a lot of variation to choose from....always a couple of dishes of fresh fish. One thing that did make us happy was they did not have chips every day....maybe just once or twice a week, which meant the kids loved it when they did...but equally enjoyed the different pasta and rice dishes that were very good. Lots of fresh salad and fruit always on offer. And the hotel staff made us up a variation of cocktails on the 1st few nights using local drinks.....I became slightly addicted to Kapirinee (probably not spelt correct...but said like that)....made with a local rum!!!
If you are looking for a lush hotel with kids clubs and variety of entertainment and like to spend most of your time at the hotel then this is not the hotel for you....maybe the Riu... But if you want a hotel in a good location, and to feel the real life of the place you are visiting on your holiday then the Djadsal is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Service was attentive and the rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels every morning. Food and entertainment were great and the pool and gardens were constantly cleaned. Very relaxing and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, RI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I did not have a pleasant experience at this hotel. I had gotten a recommendation from a family friend on this hotel, they stayed here and had a great stay, several years before my trip, I have a feeling that the hotel has changed hands. It was horrible, if you are looking for a place to go on spring break than maybe this is your place, if you are with your family looking for a quiet enjoyable vacation... I would not recommend this location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Djadsal Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djadsal Holiday Club

Address: Caixa Postal 29, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Santa Maria
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Djadsal Holiday Club 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Djadsal Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Djadsal Holiday Club Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Djadsal Holiday Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.